We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel , Nice Staff but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel , Nice Staff but.....”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Great 4* Hotel And Very Nice and Genuine staff , had a great time , but although service was good , it was slow , all 2 staff that were on in the bar seemed to have 101 things to do , it was quite entertaining really , from the bar to the floor to the kitchen , the young chap mark was excellent and very friendly and a good laugh ha, i think they were maybe understaffed from what i could see but hey we got what we wanted in the end and it was really nice.. Restaurant was lovely , great meal and service , and the girls in the spa were lovely , there was a wedding on and it looked fantastic , !!!! we enjoyed our stay overall but just a few things could be improved , we will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear James,

Many thanks for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind remarks about our staff. In this regard, we have conducted a review of operations management in order to ensure greater vigilance in responding to busy periods so that the staff can cope well on those occasions.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    127
    78
    46
    25
See reviews for
189
177
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

we are just back from the ballykisteen hotel and golf resort. we had a lovely time away as a family but the hotel is very mixed...
firstly i would say it seems to be great for weddings and that is their speciality.
but i would not class it as a four star hotel. to have a four star rating it should attain the four star requirements on all levels and it just doesnt do this.
i would imagine when built first it may have been 4 star but it is seriously lacking in general up keep and it really lets it down. it wouldnt take much to give responsibility to a staff member each day to do a walk around and note any maintenance or litter issues and have them addressed. alot of cigarette butts left outside doors and left for all 3 days we were there.
in our lodge which was lovely and gave us as a family a great space torelax but there were alot of small maintenance issues which just annoy as simple to address like light shades falling out of ceiling,toilet roll holders falling out of walls, and sofas in lounge area which were absolutely disgustingly dirty... and a smell of stall smoke throughout.
the staff were very friendly. the breakfast was excellent but had disappointing meal in bar on first night but only had one meal there during our stay so may have just been a bad one? a wedding was on and so the kitchen was prob under pressure but food was cold and had to be sent back. not good enough for a 4star hotel.
the leisure centre also is not a 4 star experience the pool is nice but changing rooms are very dismal with 3 showers and only 2 worked.the area is small and very badly lit and tiny amount of storage or space to change. i was very disappointed as we had looked forward to the leisure centre experience. i cannot imagine how they manage when it is busy??? we didnt use the gym just looked but seemed sml but had all you would need.
in conclusion i would say any of the things we noted are EASILY improved and is just down to care and attention and not even a money issue. it should be a 4 star experience but at moment it is not. please please please if you ever read these comments just put a bit more care into your hotel as you have a fabulous opportunity to have an amazing 4 star hotel in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfamily555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear kfamily555,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent family trip.
Weddings are a regular and important part of the business mix in a typical hotel like ours. However, there is an onus on us to ensure that we maintain the environment and the service for all of our guests at all times. We regret that on this occasion we did not satisfy these standards.
We are currently renewing all aspects of the lodges, food service and maintenance; therefore, your timely constructive comments are very welcome.
We hope to fulfil your expectations on your next visit to us and to be given the opportunity to directly express our appreciation for your input.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

stayed here with my husband and two kids we were attending a wedding beautiful hotel with lovley food. Wedding was amazing no wonder it won best wedding venue in munster service was quick and young girl looking after us michele could not have been more helpful . will definetly be back again :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkbubbles30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear pinkbubbles30,

You have said it all!
What can we say, but a big thank you for your excellent report on your stay with us.
We very much look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Spent a week-end here with family and friends. We had a great time but that was down to us
more so than the hotel. Rooms were average, breakfast standard but dinner was really nice.
Men played golf and were not impressed with it. Women had spa treatments which were fine and pool is small but ok. My main gripe with this hotel is the staff. They are so unfriendly and grumpy. You get the impression that they just working there but really could not care less. A simple hi or good morning wont crack your face. They should try it sometimes.
Dont think we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Jean019,

Thank you for your constructive comments on your stay. You have given us an opportunity to focus on those areas of concern so that our mutual expectations are realised.
The golf course was fully playable over the winter with the resultant pressure to ensure that it is at its best at this time of year. It is the classic case of competing needs.
We hope that you would consider a return visit. I am at your disposal to discuss the proposition at any time. I am contactable at 062 33333.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

this was my third visit and was not impressed by the service or food. breakfast was poor and service very slow between courses at dinner.

Room Tip: a view of the golf course is always good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaatethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Kate,

We sincerely regret that your food service experience did not match both your expectations and ours.
We can assure you that it is receiving our full attention at this time.
I am contactable on 062 33333 if you wish to discuss the matter further.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to address all of the issues involved.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed easter weekend in on of the houses on the golf course.
The houses were well alid out and well equipt and had plenty of space for 4 adults and a child. The houses were well kept and comfortable..although the sofa's were not comfortable at all.
There was 5 people in total staying in our house but the house was only set up for 4, ie, 4 chairs at the table, only room for 4 on the 2 sofas. The noise the water tank made was also very iritating, any time anyone ran a tap or flushed the toilet or had a shower the tank made a very lous noise. The room that houses the tank could do with being sound proofed or a sound proof flooring put under it. There is also no microwave in it.
But this issues are very minor and did not affect our enjoyment of the facility.
The hotel was very quiet and even when full there still was an atmosphere of calm.
The pool is small, but adequate enough for families to play in.
The best part about our stay was the kids club.
My son is 7 and he didnt want to leave all due to the kids club, which was on in the mornings and evenings, so it didnt affect any plans you may have for day trips. You can even let the kids have lunch together for a very small charge or even dinner, but apart from that cost, the service is free.
The friendliness of the staff was to be comended, from the receptionist to the young man in the bar and the girl who did the kids club, they were all genuinely nice people.
We would return here again.

Room Tip: All the houses are close to both the hotel and golf course, but Im sure the closer you are the less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annehamiltonblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Anne,

We would like to thank you for your feedback on your stay with us during the Easter break and are very pleased that all of you enjoyed your visit.
We are currently reviewing all aspects of the lodges and therefore, welcome your timely constructive comments on the inventory and mechanical installation.

We look forward to you having a return tranquil visit!

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in Ballykisteen during the Easter Holidays and found the hotel to be very good. Our room was quite spacious and well equipped and had a lovely view of the golf course. There was a complimentary kids club which we found fantastic as it allowed my mum and I to go to the Spa without worrying. The Spa itself was lovely, both girls were very professional and friendly.

We had Bar food on one evening which was excellent value, nicely presented and very tasty. The service in the bar was consistently good during our stay. We also had lunch in the bar and also found that very good.

The only drawback for me was the Restaurant. On the first night of our stay we booked to have Dinner in the restaurant as it was included in our package. The menu is quite short but there was still some choice. We found the waiting staff to be very nice and friendly but the service from the kitchen was extremely slow. We were waiting approx half an hour between the starters and the main course and then waited 25 minutes from when the main plates were lifted to receiving our desserts. When the main course arrived, there was steam rising from the plate as they were piping hot but the meat itself was only warm. At that point however we were very hungry so didn't complain but it did diminish our enjoyment of our meal. I appreciate that the hotel was quite busy and appeared to be understaffed for the volume so perhaps there was also a staff shortage in the kitchen but the delays were very long.

My other gripe with the restaurant was at breakfast the tea / coffee was self service from large flasks at the buffet counter. It's just a personal thing but I prefer a pot of tea in the morning rather than 4 trips to a buffet counter. That said, the breakfast was reasonably good with lots of choice and on the second morning when we asked for a pot of tea, the waitress brought it down without any problem.

Another small issue was that the ladies toilets in the lobby were always freezing! I know that a certain level of air-conditioning is required in the public bathrooms but you would almost need a coat to go into these bathrooms as they were so cold.

In spite of the small issues with the restaurant, the staff at this property are all very welcoming and friendly and we did enjoy our stay. If these small issues were ironed out I would have no hesitation in giving a higher mark and I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Nicky,

We are pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us during the Easter holidays.
Thank you for your kind remarks about the kids club and the spa experience and the friendliness of the staff.
Your constructive comments on the dinner service ‘pot of tea’ and the temperature of the ladies restroom have been noted and actioned.
We look forward to your next visit.


Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tipperary
13.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
13.0 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
21.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
14.7 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
#2 of 3 in Glen of Aherlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort

Property: Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
Address: Limerick Junction | Ballykisteen, Tipperary, Ireland (Formerly Ramada)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Tipperary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the shadow of the Galtee Mountains, this Resort in Tipperary is adjacent to the renowned Tipperary Racecourse, Limerick Junction railway station and the Glen of Aherlow making Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort a perfect 4* Tipperary conference hotel and wedding venue. Situated in a picturesque location coupled with a contemporary finish a visit at 'Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort’, is a truly memorable experience and a popular choice of venue for any weddings in Tipperary. This hotel in Tipperary is just a half hour drive or short train journey from Limerick City, the ideal location for meetings and conferences with reputation as one of the finest Tipperary conference hotels, a great Tipperary golf resort with a modern spa Serenity Day Spa or a base for walking and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballykisteen Hotel And Golf Tipperary
Ballykisteen Hotel Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing