We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Had a nice stay. It was a trip away with friends to see a play in Tipperary. Hotel had a package on for people attending the play. Room was nice and clean and bed was comfortable enough.

We had the carvery for lunch which was ok, the bar menu looked better. We found it very slow to get served at the bar, granted that the hotel was very busy and also with a wedding on but there were only 2 or 3 bar staff serving at a time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Felicity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegionalMgr, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Flic22,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you had a nice stay with us and I hope you enjoyed the play also.
With regards to your comment on your waiting period to get served, we have recently conducted a review of service time to ensure the response time is sufficient at all times – we are extremely happy with the results and the faster response times by our staff. Thank you however for highlighting this.

Thank you again for your review, we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to us.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

This is the fourth time we've stayed at Ballykisteen over the last two years. We stayed for four nights over the bank holiday weekend as my son's wedding reception was held there on Sunday. The first night we stayed in a two bedroom lodge and the next 3 nights in the hotel itself. We've always found Ballykisteen very comfortable. We don't play golf and rarely take advantage of the pool or spa so I can't review those aspects. The hotel hasn't been updated in a while, so it's not exactly new and shiny, but it is clean and comfortable and there are no glaring defects. One problem this weekend was that there is only wired internet in the rooms and lodges and the hotel was so crowded over the weekend that there apparently weren't enough "nodes" and many of our guests had trouble getting an internet connection. There is wireless in the lobby, restaurants and public areas and some guests were more successful with the wireless. Once the hotel emptied out a little on Tues morning, the internet worked fine. This was the first time we experienced any problem, and I think it was due to the crowding from 3 big parties over the weekend.

Even with all the people and parties the hotel didn't feel overcrowded. We went to the gym and the toddler play areas a number of times with our grandson and we had them all to ourselves. Breakfast is always great there. It's a very generous Irish (English) breakfast that I always look forward to. We've eaten lunch and dinner there often and they are always very good also. And although at lunch time and dinner time the restaurant staff seemed a little overwhelmed due to the weekend crowd, they were always very efficient and very nice and we had no problem getting served. When the restaurant was occupied with a private party, for instance, they were wonderful at offering us and serving us the restuarant menu in the lounge. They were completely adaptable to our wishes as I was able to create a meal with options from the restaurant and lounge menus and my wife ordered from the lounge menu. The desk staff and the room staff have always been equally accomodating. I've always had the best interactions with everyone who works there. They are extremely nice and helpful at all times. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine but half the rooms to the back of the hotel overlook the golf course (even nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merlin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Merlin321,

Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased that you chose to describe the hotel as “very comfortable and easy”. We have initiated an assessment of our internet services with a view to satisfying the varying demands as described. In addition, operations management have been instructed to closely monitor busy situations from a staffing point of view.

We look forward to the pleasure of your company on the occasion of your next visit.
Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Great 4* Hotel And Very Nice and Genuine staff , had a great time , but although service was good , it was slow , all 2 staff that were on in the bar seemed to have 101 things to do , it was quite entertaining really , from the bar to the floor to the kitchen , the young chap mark was excellent and very friendly and a good laugh ha, i think they were maybe understaffed from what i could see but hey we got what we wanted in the end and it was really nice.. Restaurant was lovely , great meal and service , and the girls in the spa were lovely , there was a wedding on and it looked fantastic , !!!! we enjoyed our stay overall but just a few things could be improved , we will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear James,

Many thanks for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind remarks about our staff. In this regard, we have conducted a review of operations management in order to ensure greater vigilance in responding to busy periods so that the staff can cope well on those occasions.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

we are just back from the ballykisteen hotel and golf resort. we had a lovely time away as a family but the hotel is very mixed...
firstly i would say it seems to be great for weddings and that is their speciality.
but i would not class it as a four star hotel. to have a four star rating it should attain the four star requirements on all levels and it just doesnt do this.
i would imagine when built first it may have been 4 star but it is seriously lacking in general up keep and it really lets it down. it wouldnt take much to give responsibility to a staff member each day to do a walk around and note any maintenance or litter issues and have them addressed. alot of cigarette butts left outside doors and left for all 3 days we were there.
in our lodge which was lovely and gave us as a family a great space torelax but there were alot of small maintenance issues which just annoy as simple to address like light shades falling out of ceiling,toilet roll holders falling out of walls, and sofas in lounge area which were absolutely disgustingly dirty... and a smell of stall smoke throughout.
the staff were very friendly. the breakfast was excellent but had disappointing meal in bar on first night but only had one meal there during our stay so may have just been a bad one? a wedding was on and so the kitchen was prob under pressure but food was cold and had to be sent back. not good enough for a 4star hotel.
the leisure centre also is not a 4 star experience the pool is nice but changing rooms are very dismal with 3 showers and only 2 worked.the area is small and very badly lit and tiny amount of storage or space to change. i was very disappointed as we had looked forward to the leisure centre experience. i cannot imagine how they manage when it is busy??? we didnt use the gym just looked but seemed sml but had all you would need.
in conclusion i would say any of the things we noted are EASILY improved and is just down to care and attention and not even a money issue. it should be a 4 star experience but at moment it is not. please please please if you ever read these comments just put a bit more care into your hotel as you have a fabulous opportunity to have an amazing 4 star hotel in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfamily555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear kfamily555,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent family trip.
Weddings are a regular and important part of the business mix in a typical hotel like ours. However, there is an onus on us to ensure that we maintain the environment and the service for all of our guests at all times. We regret that on this occasion we did not satisfy these standards.
We are currently renewing all aspects of the lodges, food service and maintenance; therefore, your timely constructive comments are very welcome.
We hope to fulfil your expectations on your next visit to us and to be given the opportunity to directly express our appreciation for your input.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

stayed here with my husband and two kids we were attending a wedding beautiful hotel with lovley food. Wedding was amazing no wonder it won best wedding venue in munster service was quick and young girl looking after us michele could not have been more helpful . will definetly be back again :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkbubbles30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear pinkbubbles30,

You have said it all!
What can we say, but a big thank you for your excellent report on your stay with us.
We very much look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Spent a week-end here with family and friends. We had a great time but that was down to us
more so than the hotel. Rooms were average, breakfast standard but dinner was really nice.
Men played golf and were not impressed with it. Women had spa treatments which were fine and pool is small but ok. My main gripe with this hotel is the staff. They are so unfriendly and grumpy. You get the impression that they just working there but really could not care less. A simple hi or good morning wont crack your face. They should try it sometimes.
Dont think we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Jean019,

Thank you for your constructive comments on your stay. You have given us an opportunity to focus on those areas of concern so that our mutual expectations are realised.
The golf course was fully playable over the winter with the resultant pressure to ensure that it is at its best at this time of year. It is the classic case of competing needs.
We hope that you would consider a return visit. I am at your disposal to discuss the proposition at any time. I am contactable at 062 33333.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

this was my third visit and was not impressed by the service or food. breakfast was poor and service very slow between courses at dinner.

Room Tip: a view of the golf course is always good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaatethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Kate,

We sincerely regret that your food service experience did not match both your expectations and ours.
We can assure you that it is receiving our full attention at this time.
I am contactable on 062 33333 if you wish to discuss the matter further.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to address all of the issues involved.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tipperary
13.0 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
13.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
622 reviews
21.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Great National South Court Hotel
8.2 mi away
Dundrum House Hotel, Golf and Leisure Resort
1.6 mi away
The Lodge B&B
The Lodge B&B
#5 of 15 in Tipperary
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel

Address: Limerick Junction | Ballykisteen, Tipperary, Ireland (Formerly Ramada)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Tipperary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Price Range: £48 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the shadow of the Galtee Mountains, this Resort in Tipperary is adjacent to the renowned Tipperary Racecourse, Limerick Junction railway station and the Glen of Aherlow making Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort a perfect 4* Tipperary conference hotel and wedding venue. Situated in a picturesque location coupled with a contemporary finish a visit at 'Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel’, is a truly memorable experience and a popular choice of venue for any weddings in Tipperary. This hotel in Tipperary is just a half hour drive or short train journey from Limerick City, the ideal location for meetings and conferences with reputation as one of the finest Tipperary conference hotels, a great Tipperary golf resort with a modern spa Serenity Day Spa or a base for walking and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballykisteen Hotel And Golf Tipperary
Ballykisteen Hotel Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing