We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!! Would love to go back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed in this hotel with my husband, children and my mother. We stayed in one of the lodges on the grounds and we were delighted with it. Spotless clean, and really big and spacious, two big double rooms with own ensuite bathrooms. My son was delighted with his room. NIce grounds outside so they were able to cycle on their bikes, hotel a few minutes stroll from the house. Food was delicious both in the bar and the restaurant and the breakfast each morning was lovely, gorgeous scones and little pastrys andplenty of fresh fruit. My son went to the kids club each night and the girls there were lovely,very friendly. Swimming pool was nice, but thought it was strange that there wasnt a lifeguard, instead there was a camera but when we were there there were children jumping in and out of the jacuzzi so not sure who is monitoring this? Seemed a bit dangerous to me. Apart from that every thing was lovely, would go back again in a flash!!

Room Tip: The lodges are great if you have a young family,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublingirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegionalMgr, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Tracey S,

Many thanks for your lovely feedback and comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and were extremely happy with our lodges – they are very spacious for families and groups. It is great to receive such nice feedback from you for our food, service and facilities. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

Excellent staff and service. Very friendly but also very professional, 5 stars. Great food, had salmon for dinner which was the nicest salmon I had in a while. Stayed in a self catering lodge, 2 bedrooms for €179 per night. Very comfortable. Hotel leisure facilities are excellent. Will return. Many thanks to the staff. They made my stay memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublinladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegionalMgr, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Dublin ladybird,

Thank you for your review – I have passed your polite comments to our chef regarding the appetising salmon dinner you had with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Ballykisteen Hotel and hope that you have as good an experience over and over again with us.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on a few different occasions and I have always been delighted with all aspects of the stay. The staff are very friendly,always attentive and courteous, second to none!
Colleen the receptionist went out of her way to make our stay more pleasurable than the last time we stayed she is a ray of sunshine, and so helpful..The rooms are nicely done, bathrooms are roomy and functional.Loved the decor in the room, and there was a plentiful supply of everything, from tea/coffee tray to toiletries in the bathroom. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, and the bed big was very comfortable.Breakfast was such a pleasant experience - staff were exceptional.I felt comfortable and relaxed - great service for a fair price. They seem to really like their customers too. For all this they deserve to do well so taking the time to give them the thumbs up. Everything about the hotel and service was absolutely spot on for a hotel of this type and location.Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bemer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegionalMgr, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Bemer1234,

Colleen, the staff here at Ballykisteen Hotel, and I would like to thank you for your delightful review. We are very proud of our staff; we receive a lot of comments on how friendly and helpful they are which is great as we do try and provide the best service possible.
Thank you again, and we all look forward to you back to Ballykisteen in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed in the 2 bed lodge with 2 children (2.5 & 3.5)
Pull-out bed had 2 broken slats
No curtains in one of the rooms, eventually got some!
No microwave
No washing machine
Light in downstairs toilet not working
No plug for kitchen sink
All fairly straighforward items to be sorted in a 4* hotel
Swimming pool was bizarre - kidney shape, same depth, hardly any room for adults & children
Cinema @ 8pm was ok, however one of the nights the DVD player 'wasn't working'
Childs club was dangerous - one person to mind 25 kids from ages 4 to 12, it was crazy stuff, kids were running off in all directions!
The Hotel is geared for weddings & golf - NOT children
It is not a 4* hotel, it is a 3* hotel
Staff didn't want to know about anything when questioned
General upkeep of the hotel is pretty poor, walls need painting to be touched up,
wallpaper peeling off in places, etc.

Room Tip: Do not stay here with young children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed in ballykisteen lodges- very spacious and well equipped, two large bedrooms
each with bathrooms. Kitchen well equipped. Kids club ran twice a day - morning and evening free of charge great value.Had our inclusive meal in the restaurant on second night - good choice
of food and great service. Ate in the bar the other two nights also great food and service.
Breakfast each morning was buffet of hot and cold food - plenty to choose from.
Overall had a great time - second time staying there and would go back again.

Room Tip: lodges are ideal for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cro123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegionalMgr, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Cro123,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel and the services we offer. I am delighted you had a great time. We held another kids club for the October bank holiday week with a Halloween kid’s party which proved very popular also. If you would like to find out when our future kids clubs are on, please give the hotel a call.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us again.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We booked this hotel based on its rating and pictures. We were looking forward to a 4 star resort with a nice spa. However, our actual experience left us quite disappointed. Upon checking in, we tried to book spa time for my wife and daughter only to have the attendent announce brusquely that no appointments were available. She didn't volunteer any options as she returned to reading her book. This was not a good start.

We then went over to the restaurant for lunch and waited fairly long to be seated. Two waitresses and a bar attendant walked past us many times without offering any assistance. So, within about 15 minutes of checking in we discovered that this "resort" was not only greatly over rated at 4 stars but, also not very client/customer friendly.

Additionally, the pool set up is just odd. They require everyone wear bathing caps (that feels like a through-back to the 70's)....they have a little pan to rinse off your feet beore you can enter the pool and, there is just about no seating available. It was limited to 3 seats.

Lastly, we stayed in the the lodges which very spacious but,were almost completely devoid of character including college dorm type furnishings. One toilet was broken and a shower wall almost collapsed on one of us.

Our overarching impression was that the staff do not want to be in the hospitality business. In case you might be thinking that we just are really hard to please, we also witnessed two other guests being dealt with in the same unfriendly, unhelpful manner.

Therefore, we would not recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Be aware that the lodges do not offer room service. We counted on it for dinner and were left high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed in ballykisteen on the super value family breaks which is great value for money. Lodges were well equipped and very clean and idea for family's. Kids club ran a morning and evening session which gave me an my husband time to relax and go for a swim. We had our inclusive meal in the restaurant on the first night the staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate the second night in the bar which had a great selection on the menu it was very busy but no real delays with food which was good the manager tomas on duty was very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John34832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegionalMgr, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear John34832

Thank you for your review – our kids club proved extremely popular this Summer and was a great success. It is great that you and your wife got some down time too. We started kid’s movie evenings also so the next time you come, the kids will be entertained in the evenings aswell!

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tipperary
13 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
21.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
405 reviews
14.6 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
13.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
623 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
#2 of 3 in Glen of Aherlow
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel

Address: Limerick Junction | Ballykisteen, Tipperary, Ireland (Formerly Ramada)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Tipperary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Price Range: £49 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the shadow of the Galtee Mountains, this Resort in Tipperary is adjacent to the renowned Tipperary Racecourse, Limerick Junction railway station and the Glen of Aherlow making Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort a perfect 4* Tipperary conference hotel and wedding venue. Situated in a picturesque location coupled with a contemporary finish a visit at 'Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel’, is a truly memorable experience and a popular choice of venue for any weddings in Tipperary. This hotel in Tipperary is just a half hour drive or short train journey from Limerick City, the ideal location for meetings and conferences with reputation as one of the finest Tipperary conference hotels, a great Tipperary golf resort with a modern spa Serenity Day Spa or a base for walking and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballykisteen Hotel And Golf Tipperary
Ballykisteen Hotel Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing