We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Convent(Clogheen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Cove(Lahinch)
View Hotel
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
263
135
86
52
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
135
86
52
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslimerick junctionwedding venuesteakself cateringfrom start to finishshort breakleisure centrefunction roomcouldn't do enoughsecond to nonelast weekendfamily roomsparebeccafootpathbarmanireland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed in this hotel with my husband, children and my mother. We stayed in one of the lodges on the grounds and we were delighted with it. Spotless clean, and really big and spacious, two big double rooms with own ensuite bathrooms. My son was delighted with his room. NIce grounds outside so they were able to cycle on their bikes, hotel a few minutes stroll from the house. Food was delicious both in the bar and the restaurant and the breakfast each morning was lovely, gorgeous scones and little pastrys andplenty of fresh fruit. My son went to the kids club each night and the girls there were lovely,very friendly. Swimming pool was nice, but thought it was strange that there wasnt a lifeguard, instead there was a camera but when we were there there were children jumping in and out of the jacuzzi so not sure who is monitoring this? Seemed a bit dangerous to me. Apart from that every thing was lovely, would go back again in a flash!!

Room Tip: The lodges are great if you have a young family,
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublingirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegionalMgr, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Tracey S,

Many thanks for your lovely feedback and comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and were extremely happy with our lodges – they are very spacious for families and groups. It is great to receive such nice feedback from you for our food, service and facilities. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Excellent staff and service. Very friendly but also very professional, 5 stars. Great food, had salmon for dinner which was the nicest salmon I had in a while. Stayed in a self catering lodge, 2 bedrooms for €179 per night. Very comfortable. Hotel leisure facilities are excellent. Will return. Many thanks to the staff. They made my stay memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublinladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegionalMgr, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Dublin ladybird,

Thank you for your review – I have passed your polite comments to our chef regarding the appetising salmon dinner you had with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Ballykisteen Hotel and hope that you have as good an experience over and over again with us.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on a few different occasions and I have always been delighted with all aspects of the stay. The staff are very friendly,always attentive and courteous, second to none!
Colleen the receptionist went out of her way to make our stay more pleasurable than the last time we stayed she is a ray of sunshine, and so helpful..The rooms are nicely done, bathrooms are roomy and functional.Loved the decor in the room, and there was a plentiful supply of everything, from tea/coffee tray to toiletries in the bathroom. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, and the bed big was very comfortable.Breakfast was such a pleasant experience - staff were exceptional.I felt comfortable and relaxed - great service for a fair price. They seem to really like their customers too. For all this they deserve to do well so taking the time to give them the thumbs up. Everything about the hotel and service was absolutely spot on for a hotel of this type and location.Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bemer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegionalMgr, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Bemer1234,

Colleen, the staff here at Ballykisteen Hotel, and I would like to thank you for your delightful review. We are very proud of our staff; we receive a lot of comments on how friendly and helpful they are which is great as we do try and provide the best service possible.
Thank you again, and we all look forward to you back to Ballykisteen in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed in the 2 bed lodge with 2 children (2.5 & 3.5)
Pull-out bed had 2 broken slats
No curtains in one of the rooms, eventually got some!
No microwave
No washing machine
Light in downstairs toilet not working
No plug for kitchen sink
All fairly straighforward items to be sorted in a 4* hotel
Swimming pool was bizarre - kidney shape, same depth, hardly any room for adults & children
Cinema @ 8pm was ok, however one of the nights the DVD player 'wasn't working'
Childs club was dangerous - one person to mind 25 kids from ages 4 to 12, it was crazy stuff, kids were running off in all directions!
The Hotel is geared for weddings & golf - NOT children
It is not a 4* hotel, it is a 3* hotel
Staff didn't want to know about anything when questioned
General upkeep of the hotel is pretty poor, walls need painting to be touched up,
wallpaper peeling off in places, etc.

Room Tip: Do not stay here with young children!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed in ballykisteen lodges- very spacious and well equipped, two large bedrooms
each with bathrooms. Kitchen well equipped. Kids club ran twice a day - morning and evening free of charge great value.Had our inclusive meal in the restaurant on second night - good choice
of food and great service. Ate in the bar the other two nights also great food and service.
Breakfast each morning was buffet of hot and cold food - plenty to choose from.
Overall had a great time - second time staying there and would go back again.

Room Tip: lodges are ideal for families.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cro123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegionalMgr, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Cro123,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel and the services we offer. I am delighted you had a great time. We held another kids club for the October bank holiday week with a Halloween kid’s party which proved very popular also. If you would like to find out when our future kids clubs are on, please give the hotel a call.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us again.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawlor
General Manager
Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews