We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had our wedding here in August and were delighted that we chose Ballykisteen. We dealt with Emma from the very start and found her to be extremely helpful and professional. She really couldn't do enough for us. On the day the service was fantastic with special mention to Michael and Kirsty who were so nice and nothing was a problem for them. Our drinks reception upstairs was great as it was a large wedding and people were able to relax in the BallyK bar. Lots of our guests stayed in the lodges and all were impressed with them. Ballykisteen is a great place for any event and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Gillian

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that your special day lived up to your expectations. To be allowed to host somebody's wedding day is a huge honor and we always try to ensure no effort is spared to make it as unique and wonderful as we can.

Every good wish to you both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a brilliant time with the kids. The summer kids club was very popular with my kids and they found it interesting despite them ranging from 7-11 years. Plenty of land to roam around and we had adventures exploring the 'jungle' which of course was the green area!
The staff were only too happy to help and whipped out papers & pens to keep them busy when we went to the bar.
It met the needs of my family-affordable, cheerful, clean, safe and a family orientated hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KemiTunmbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Myself and my husband and 3 kids stayed in one of the golf lodges and found it very relaxing but fun filled also the kids had great fun in the kiddies club every morning. We all went swimming in the afternoons and back to the kids club for a movie while mom and dad had dinner in the hotel which was reasonable and of a high standard I would certainly go back again. The towels for swimming were supplied by the hotel which took another stress away and they were dog friendly also great spot

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had our wedding here and we could not have been happier with every little detail.

Rooms were spotless and very well equipped
food was fantastic, wating time from top table to last table was only 12 minutes for over 200 guest thats fantastic. food was perfectly cooked same for bar and restaraunt food (we stayed the night before and after too)
facilities are great gym sauna bar and restaraunt are perfect golf course is beautiful
Service. I have never witnessed such service. Emma looked after us so well i mentioned her in my wedding speech she and the rest of the hotel staff could not do enough for us no request was too big or small.I can not say enough good things about this hotel book it for any occassion and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Karl

Thank for your kind comments. we are delighted that your big day was to your satisfaction and thank you for entrusting us with your special event.You very kind comments are very heartening for all concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I visited Ballykisteen twice in two months to attend family weddings.

The first time we stayed in the Hotel, the rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Receptions staff were extremely helpful on both visits, On our first visit, the Hotel was undergoing some changes, and despite small hiccups, the wedding itself was amazing the room was beautiful and the food excellent.

The second stay, was in a Lodge, well equipped be furnishings need a little attention but very comfortable all the same.

The Golf Pro Marion Reardon was a delightful and friendly person, and a few lesson would have been taken had there been more time.

This is an ideal location for the attractions in and around the area for the golf and indeed the Tipperary Racecourse opposite the hotel. The Spa and pool, sauna and steam rooms were much enjoyed.

Definately a return visit on the cards.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyholsplashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Happyholsplashley

Thank you for your kind comments, We are delighted that you enjoyed your two stays in two months with us, why not make it three in three

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Staff = excellent, Food = delicious & reasonably priced, Room = comfy & spacious, loads of storage space, super clean.

This hotel is the most family friendly place we've ever stayed. They have a kids club twice a day & the young lady who runs it is excellent with the children... I find it hard to trust my son with anyone other the close family but with Miriam I felt completely at ease. Not only do they have the kids club but they also have a play room you can bring your children into all day long, as well as a great kiddies menu in the bar & restaurant & a pool that the can splash about in... You needn't even leave the hotel to keep them busy, it's great.

The hotel itself is just gorgeous, it was preparing itself for a wedding when we were visiting so it was just super pretty altogether. We got a tour of everything ourselves by the wedding coordinator as we're getting married in 2016.. And it was amazing.

They should be really proud of their staff.. They're absolutely excellent, from the behind the scene room cleaning staff.. they're like cleaning ninjas.. I need some of those ladies at my house... The lady at reception was lovely, any time we passed she was smiling. The bar staff were brilliant. And I got my first facial in the spa.. & the ladies there were dotes, had a great chin wag while I was getting all sorts of lotions & potions smeared all over me.

Highly recommend this hotel if you just wanna break and relax.. there's so much to do in there you needn't even walk out the front door until you're checking out. :)

Room Tip: Well, we were in a ground floor room, which is handy with a young child because I didn't have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cora O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Cora O

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed in the lodges which were well equipped. Privacy of a home with facilities of hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend it. Food very tasty in the hotel. Location great for visiting other counties. Nice places to eat in the town. (5 mins away). Kids club was a blessing as we had two young children with us.

Room Tip: If staying with young children ask for one of the lodges near 306 as they face onto a green. They d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarletbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Scarletbee

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tipperary
13 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
21.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
405 reviews
14.6 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
13.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
623 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
#2 of 3 in Glen of Aherlow
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel

Address: Limerick Junction | Ballykisteen, Tipperary, Ireland (Formerly Ramada)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Tipperary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Price Range: £49 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the shadow of the Galtee Mountains, this Resort in Tipperary is adjacent to the renowned Tipperary Racecourse, Limerick Junction railway station and the Glen of Aherlow making Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort a perfect 4* Tipperary conference hotel and wedding venue. Situated in a picturesque location coupled with a contemporary finish a visit at 'Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel’, is a truly memorable experience and a popular choice of venue for any weddings in Tipperary. This hotel in Tipperary is just a half hour drive or short train journey from Limerick City, the ideal location for meetings and conferences with reputation as one of the finest Tipperary conference hotels, a great Tipperary golf resort with a modern spa Serenity Day Spa or a base for walking and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballykisteen Hotel And Golf Tipperary
Ballykisteen Hotel Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing