We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Our Wedding”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I know your going to think your own wedding was epic but I have to say everything was perfect. if you are thinking of using this hotel for a wedding or anything else i'd highly recommend it. the food is unbelievable. From the day I booked the wedding the hotel had been so helpful especially Emma Walsh, the girl is bril! Coming up to the wedding she was always onto me making sure I was ok nd offering her help. The staff on the day were plentiful, always on hand for whatever your need, even the presentation of the food was jst all very professional. they were so nice. They have beautiful grounds with a lake down in the golf course for photos to which we had a bit of crack going around in the golf buggies, even in my big wedding dress!! I couldn't fault them.
Thank you ballykisteen for the best day ever :)
(Photos to follow)

Room Tip: the rooms are away from the bar so to me there is very little noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayleyosullivan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, Manager at Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. It is always an honor when somebody entrusts their special day to use. We are so glad that you enjoyed it and we are delighted that everything was in place to make the day special for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    127
    78
    46
    25
See reviews for
190
177
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Thursday 5/08/2013. Very modern looking hotel with ample parking except for disabled drivers. Only our disabled spaces and anyone and everyone was using them. When we booked the hotel it stated that if there was a wedding or function on you couldn't stay. We arrived on the Thursday and Guess what? There was a wedding on. Our room was located to the front of the hotel so up all night with the celebrations going on. I have nothing against people enjoying a wedding but the hotel should have told us. They wanted to charge us €20 supplement for the Friday. Food was of a very standard and had a good variety to choose from on the menu. Very reasonably priced. The service in the bar wasn't up to standard from some of the staff. The bedrooms were nicely decorated and everything was supplied in the ensuite. You could have a shower but not a bath as the change over switch was broken, the shower head was leaking and spraying water everywhere. Nice clean room. If your into golf it would be an ideal location to stay. Breakfast was a buffet style. The usual food was on offer but there just wasn't enough of it for the number of guests. Would not be quick to recommend to friends or family.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, Manager at Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear John

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are of course committed to making the hotel as accessible as possible to all guests. We have only recently taken over the management of Ballykisteen and I am sure you will agree we have introduced many changes in the limited time we have been there.

It is indeed a disgrace when people take disabled parking spaces anywhere when they are not needed. There are are disabled parking spaces available for disabled drivers in front of the hotel and as you are aware we have a huge drop off area directly in front of the hotel also for people who have disabled passengers. We welcome and encourage people to pull up here and allow their passengers to embark and dis embark at their leisure directly at the door.

Where we see an able bodied person taking a disabled drivers parking space we always intervene. Unfortunately as I am sure you are aware , it is not possible for us to leave somebody guarding the spaces 24 hours.

however if we come upon a car parking in an allocated spot we do place a notice on their car reminding them of the inconvenience they are causing people.

I am of course always available to discuss these and any issue with you at the hotel should you wish to. The course of your review does suggest that we have discussed this matter in the past on a number of occasions, however I am sure you will agree that the recent meeting we had when you robustly explained your concerns was the first and only time we have ever met and I did not and would never tell a customer there is nothing more we can do. particularly on such an important matter.

Thank you again for your comments as our customers input is central always vital to allowing us to define our services at Ballykisteen


Thank you for taking the time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had our wedding here in August and were delighted that we chose Ballykisteen. We dealt with Emma from the very start and found her to be extremely helpful and professional. She really couldn't do enough for us. On the day the service was fantastic with special mention to Michael and Kirsty who were so nice and nothing was a problem for them. Our drinks reception upstairs was great as it was a large wedding and people were able to relax in the BallyK bar. Lots of our guests stayed in the lodges and all were impressed with them. Ballykisteen is a great place for any event and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, General Manager at Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Gillian

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that your special day lived up to your expectations. To be allowed to host somebody's wedding day is a huge honor and we always try to ensure no effort is spared to make it as unique and wonderful as we can.

Every good wish to you both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a brilliant time with the kids. The summer kids club was very popular with my kids and they found it interesting despite them ranging from 7-11 years. Plenty of land to roam around and we had adventures exploring the 'jungle' which of course was the green area!
The staff were only too happy to help and whipped out papers & pens to keep them busy when we went to the bar.
It met the needs of my family-affordable, cheerful, clean, safe and a family orientated hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KemiTunmbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Myself and my husband and 3 kids stayed in one of the golf lodges and found it very relaxing but fun filled also the kids had great fun in the kiddies club every morning. We all went swimming in the afternoons and back to the kids club for a movie while mom and dad had dinner in the hotel which was reasonable and of a high standard I would certainly go back again. The towels for swimming were supplied by the hotel which took another stress away and they were dog friendly also great spot

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had our wedding here and we could not have been happier with every little detail.

Rooms were spotless and very well equipped
food was fantastic, wating time from top table to last table was only 12 minutes for over 200 guest thats fantastic. food was perfectly cooked same for bar and restaraunt food (we stayed the night before and after too)
facilities are great gym sauna bar and restaraunt are perfect golf course is beautiful
Service. I have never witnessed such service. Emma looked after us so well i mentioned her in my wedding speech she and the rest of the hotel staff could not do enough for us no request was too big or small.I can not say enough good things about this hotel book it for any occassion and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, General Manager at Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Karl

Thank for your kind comments. we are delighted that your big day was to your satisfaction and thank you for entrusting us with your special event.You very kind comments are very heartening for all concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I visited Ballykisteen twice in two months to attend family weddings.

The first time we stayed in the Hotel, the rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Receptions staff were extremely helpful on both visits, On our first visit, the Hotel was undergoing some changes, and despite small hiccups, the wedding itself was amazing the room was beautiful and the food excellent.

The second stay, was in a Lodge, well equipped be furnishings need a little attention but very comfortable all the same.

The Golf Pro Marion Reardon was a delightful and friendly person, and a few lesson would have been taken had there been more time.

This is an ideal location for the attractions in and around the area for the golf and indeed the Tipperary Racecourse opposite the hotel. The Spa and pool, sauna and steam rooms were much enjoyed.

Definately a return visit on the cards.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyholsplashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, General Manager at Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Happyholsplashley

Thank you for your kind comments, We are delighted that you enjoyed your two stays in two months with us, why not make it three in three
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tipperary
13.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
13.0 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
21.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
14.7 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
#2 of 3 in Glen of Aherlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort

Property: Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
Address: Limerick Junction | Ballykisteen, Tipperary, Ireland (Formerly Ramada)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Tipperary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the shadow of the Galtee Mountains, this Resort in Tipperary is adjacent to the renowned Tipperary Racecourse, Limerick Junction railway station and the Glen of Aherlow making Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort a perfect 4* Tipperary conference hotel and wedding venue. Situated in a picturesque location coupled with a contemporary finish a visit at 'Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort’, is a truly memorable experience and a popular choice of venue for any weddings in Tipperary. This hotel in Tipperary is just a half hour drive or short train journey from Limerick City, the ideal location for meetings and conferences with reputation as one of the finest Tipperary conference hotels, a great Tipperary golf resort with a modern spa Serenity Day Spa or a base for walking and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballykisteen Hotel And Golf Tipperary
Ballykisteen Hotel Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing