We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My fiance and I recently visited the Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resorts wedding fair and WOW.... what a beautiful venue. The wedding room was laid out to a very high standard and was very tastefully decorated. The big bay window in the wedding room is a real head turner and was covered in lights it looked stunning. The table setting and chair covers also were beautiful and in my opinion it is one of the nicest venues ive ever been in. Its an absolutely gorgeous venue for any wedding. The wedding fair itself was thouroughly enjoyalble with a large range of different stands from bridal, to invitations, bands, flowers etc. The staff there were very helpful with showing us around the hotel and telling us about the services they provided. I would most definitly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to have my wedding here. It is our absolute dream location and I am positive we will have the most amazing day ever.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatwaytothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had our wedding here last month. From start the finish the day was amazing, Kirsty Fitzgerald did an amazing job at coordinating the whole thing. It was a big wedding and I'm sure was major work for the hotel however nothing phased them. The room and hotel in the whole looked magical all fairy lights and candles and the backdrop behind the top table was stunning. The amount of people that commented on how fabulous the food was, was unreal. All of the staff were so professional and really took pride in their work you could see that. We had Footloose there and they were fantastic everyone was out dancing all night. So many people have told us it was a brilliant wedding and the food was given so much praise. Thanks Kirsty and all of the staff for a fantastic day that we will never forget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

just had our little girls christening here yesterday a total of thirty of us and i must say the food was top class everyone left raving bout it which in itself speaks volumes and the staff have to be the nicest i have met anywhere from the decorating of the hall to the service provided they could not have being nicer or more helpful we could not recommend this hotel and staff highly enough thanks for everything and looking forward to the next time we have a reason to visit

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear David,

We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful day. Thank you so much for your very kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

To Kirsty and all her staff in Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort. I thoroughly enjoyed my wedding day in Ballykisteen, I was overwhelmed by how stunning the function room looked. You could see the awe on peoples faces when they walked in. The tables were laid out beautifully with candleabras, tea lights, crystals and petals. The fairylight backdrop on the tall windows behind the top table really set the room off perfectly. The food was divine, everyone commented on how lovely the food was and how stuffed they were! Kirsty ran the whole evening like clockwork, we never felt pressured or rushed, she was so reassuring and always with a smile on her face. We are just back from honeymoon and my relations and friends keep talking about how great a wedding it was from the function room to the food to the music (Silver Dollar). I am so thrilled we chose Ballykisteen Hotel as our wedding venue and we will be highly recommending it to any couple looking for a venue. Thanks again x

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nieveb2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear nieveb2005

Thank you for entrusting your special day to us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your day so much. and thank you also for taking the time to post your very kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed for my fathers 70th birthday last weekend

Please extend our thanks to all the staff on over the weekend, we had a fabulous time!

The rooms were great, spotless and warm.

Food in the bar and restaurant was delicious and plentiful, the creamy garlic potatoes especially!



We were accommodated in every way and the whole group had a fantastic time, could not rate this hotel highly enough!

Will be back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dubmum81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Dubmum81

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My Friends and I celebrated our friends Birthday on Saturday 10thNovember at Ballykisteen , We arrived at about 7 in the evening and the receptionist was so friendly and very helpful! We continued our way to the Bar Area and we decided to have a couple of drinks before we headed into the dining room , the place was very busy but again the staff were ever so nice , we were attended to by one of the Barmen , I think his Name was Laco, we got served some delicious cocktails & at a good price too! Afterwards we headed into the dining room feeling a little jolly ! The food was delicious and the staff were fantastic but the dining room could do with a bit of a facelift , all in all we really celebrated the night in full swing with music in the bar afterwards , we will soon return & Thank you for your hospitality !!!! Joan.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed overnight for a wedding, Great venue.The staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem even with kids running around they entertained them.The breakfast was served up till 11 AM which was great, food was excellent, staff again great.A great place to go and chill out for a night. Sauna needs to be a bit hotter.

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs because the golfers will wake you in the morning if your are down stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BounceMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tipperary
13.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
633 reviews
13 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
21.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
16.8 mi away
Deebert House Hotel
Deebert House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmallock
166 reviews
21 mi away
The Boutique Hotel
The Boutique Hotel
#18 of 20 in Limerick
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel

Address: Limerick Junction | Ballykisteen, Tipperary, Ireland (Formerly Ramada)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Tipperary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Price Range: £44 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the shadow of the Galtee Mountains, this Resort in Tipperary is adjacent to the renowned Tipperary Racecourse, Limerick Junction railway station and the Glen of Aherlow making Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort a perfect 4* Tipperary conference hotel and wedding venue. Situated in a picturesque location coupled with a contemporary finish a visit at 'Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel’, is a truly memorable experience and a popular choice of venue for any weddings in Tipperary. This hotel in Tipperary is just a half hour drive or short train journey from Limerick City, the ideal location for meetings and conferences with reputation as one of the finest Tipperary conference hotels, a great Tipperary golf resort with a modern spa Serenity Day Spa or a base for walking and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballykisteen Hotel And Golf Tipperary
Ballykisteen Hotel Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing