We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last time staying their 21/2/14 to 23/2/14”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Killarney, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Last time staying their 21/2/14 to 23/2/14”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Have stayed here a number of times put this will be the last, Stayed fri and sat night , food in the bar was very poor also we were woke up at 7,30am by kids in the room next too our room and kids running up and down outside the room , rooms should be sound proof , also said it too front desk and the said the were checking out sat and no kids would be next to us same happened sun too at 7.30 kids crying and jumping around also their was a door linked to the two rooms that the kids kept trying to open, after saying it to the front desk a second time sat because we could still hear them sat , so the lied to us also we had a late check out on the sunday and the told us we couldn't use it because the hotel was full the next night .nice rooms pity front desk staff don't think putting couples and families in link rooms,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear xxxdylsxxx

I am so sorry to hear that your stay was interrupted by children on your last visit to the hotel. There were an unusually high amount of children on this occasion, I agree, due to the midterm break. I apologise sincerely that this impacted on your enjoyment. I am sure you will agree from you previous visits, that , whilst Children are always welcome, we would rarely have quiet as many staying as on this occasion. Thank you for taking the time also to post a review. I assure you your comments will be taken on board and we will try to ensure that no guest feels disturbed in the future

Noel Mulhaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    131
    81
    47
    25
See reviews for
193
182
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just home from a 2 night stay in this hotel. We booked through a voucher from pigsback.com - €99 for 2 nights b&b with €20 off a spa treatment! We were delighted with the hotel - gorgeous food, beautiful room, comfortable bed, nice view and friendly staff! What more could you want? With access to the pool and golf course, including a driving range, gym and spa - you could go there and not leave as there is so much to do! There are lovely couches to relax on with a couple of drinks too! :) Thanks to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable! :)

Room Tip: There is a kids club and children were running around a bit so if you want a quiet trip - don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Myself and a friend booked this hotel for a girly stay with treatments! The price seemed too good to be true online at just 99bb for two for two nights! On the first night we went down to the bar and the atmosphere was very strange, cold bar, low seating not designed for eating at, no music! It seemed like the on,y reason people were there was because of the price! The food was average and the staff were not very friendly. The following day breakfast again was poor, a very basic offering on a buffet. Dinner on the second night was again average but the atmosphere in the bar was a bit better with some music on. I have to say again I found the staff unfriendly and uninterested in their guests! The spa treatments were lovely but the treatment rooms need attention, roof tiles in bad condition when your lying looking up at them! The room was fine and while on the outside the hotel looks grand, you can see inside there isn't much investment going on. A four star hotel with plastic cheap flowers in the lobby says it all!! We won't be back I'm afraid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemon1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Lemon 1980

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your spa experience and found your room comfortable on that occasion of your stay. I am sorry that you found the staff unfriendly. I do apologise sincerely. We take great pride in our customer care and I am sorry that for you, this was obviously lacking. I do assure you your comments will be investigated fully to ensure that the service for which we are known is extended to all guests

Noel Mulhaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for valentines weekend and have to say staff were lovely but the food really is a big let down..The valentines dinner was awful i love pate but this was the worst i ever tasted the steak was more fat then meat...the next day we ordered a cheese and ham toasty even this was bland my partner got a pizza which was freezing..great hotel otherwise id definitly go back if the menu got a reshuffle and the cook got a few lessons !!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jennylou16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Jennylou 16

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you so much for your kind comments about our staff and I am delighted to hear that you would be happy to return. I am most disappointed that your meal experience was not to the normal standard on this occasion. I am sure you will note from the comments over the last six months that we ordinarily enjoy a very good reputation for our dining experiences. If you are returning to the hotel, please give me a call and I will ensure that your experience will be much more in keeping on that occasion.

Noel Mulhaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Whenever I book a break away I always consult Trip Advisor for reviews on the hotel I plan on staying in & upon reading the reviews I was really looking forward to my early Valentines break away in the Ballykisteen Hotel but I was left bitterly disappointed.
This is not a four star hotel at all. The bar was a little shabby looking due to storm damage which was totally understandable & they did their best to make it presentable, so I cannot fault them on that.
The food was appalling. We had dinner on the Friday night & it was tasteless. There was plenty of food provided but what's the point when there is no flavour at all.
Breakfast was just as bad. It was Buffett style. Brown bread...hard, Tomatoes were grey they were that dry, the sausages looked like they had been cooked 4 times over & the fried eggs were like rubber. I had to wait 10 mins for tea even though there was only 2 other couples in for breakfast.
The bedroom was clean & spacious & the view over the golf course was lovely but I would've preferred to have slept in the bath then in the beds. We had twin beds & both mattresses were awful, no matter where you lay there were springs digging into your back/sides. There was no support what so ever. Myself & my husband are still in agony from them. The noise from the vent in the bedroom was terrible. Between the beds & vent no sleep was had.
We ended up spending the majority of our weekend in The Bit & Bridle pub just down the road where the food, drink & owner Pat were wonderful. 10 out of 10 to them. If it had not been for him our weekend would have been completely ruined.
I've stayed in dozens of hotels & I'm not a fussy person but this was the worst by far. If you have no choice to stay, avoid room 216 unless you enjoy pain & lack of sleep.
A very low 3 star at best.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyKResortManager, General Manager at Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Barbara


I was extremely disappointed to hear of your experience at Ballykisteen Hotel and golf resort. I sincerely apologise for the shortcomings that you encountered during your stay. I assure you that what you experienced is most certainly not the normal standards at our hotel as I am sure you will see from the other reviews. I will be in touch personally with you to discuss the problems that you encountered. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is only through such constructive comments that we can endeavour to eliminate any shortcomings in our offering.

Yours Sincerely
Noel Mulhaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Me and my Partner booked a short break for the Ballykisteen hotel for our anniversary. We had gotten a great deal from the Lidlbreaks.ie website. We were not familiar with Tipperary but we printed off the directions from Dublin to the Hotel (provided on the hotel website). They were exact and we arrived in exactly 2 hours to the hotel. On arrival the hotel receptionist was extremely welcoming and assisted our needs to providing a wine bucket, ice and glasses to be delivered to our room. When we arrived to our room, it was a nice size, clean and had a view looking out onto the golf course. On our second night we enjoyed our two course meal. Not much options on the set menu but I enjoyed a sirloin steak, plenty of mash potatoes and vegetables. For dessert I had a chocolate brownie with Ice cream and we also had coffee to finish. Not much in Tipperary town but we did go to a local bar and nightclub (The Library & Kiely's nightclub). On our last day we arranged a late check out but as we were leaving we expressed how much we enjoyed our stay and they did not charge us for the late check out. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our trip and we will most definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Request a room facing out to the golf course as other rooms are facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

While I have never stayed at this Hotel I often stop at Ballykisteen for lunch while travelling for work/business. The food is always very good quality and the menu has an adequate selection. The most impressive part of the experience at this hotel is how helpful all the staff are and the bar area is a really comfortable place to relax and have lunch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carriganure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tipperary
13.0 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
13.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
596 reviews
21.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
413 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
22.0 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel

Property: Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
Address: Limerick Junction | Ballykisteen, Tipperary, Ireland (Formerly Ramada)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Tipperary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the shadow of the Galtee Mountains, this Resort in Tipperary is adjacent to the renowned Tipperary Racecourse, Limerick Junction railway station and the Glen of Aherlow making Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort a perfect 4* Tipperary conference hotel and wedding venue. Situated in a picturesque location coupled with a contemporary finish a visit at 'Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel’, is a truly memorable experience and a popular choice of venue for any weddings in Tipperary. This hotel in Tipperary is just a half hour drive or short train journey from Limerick City, the ideal location for meetings and conferences with reputation as one of the finest Tipperary conference hotels, a great Tipperary golf resort with a modern spa Serenity Day Spa or a base for walking and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballykisteen Hotel And Golf Tipperary
Ballykisteen Hotel Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing