We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dromore walking club”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Ballykisteen hotel was the destination of our annual weekend away walking. Could not fault this hotel , food , staff everything we needed to make this probably our best weekend away ever. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulabailie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a wedding and it was fantastic. The staff are very friendly the food is delicious. The grounds are beautiful and well kept, the hotel room was immaculate and very comfy bed. Would definately return to this hotel and would highly recommend it to people for a weekend away and especially for a wedding.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stopped in here recently for breakfast, the receptionist Coleen was very welcoming on our arrival to the Hotel, however hats off to Adi in the restaurant for customer service. She is an absolute credit to the Hotel, she was professional, polite and went out of her way to look after us. We had a wonderful breakfast.
They could do with getting rid of a lot of the plastic flowers in the reception/lobby area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dublinblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I did not stay in this hotel as I live quite nearby. However I was involved in a golf event which meant I was based at the hotel from 7.30am to 6pm approx for three days in a row. I could not praise the hotel staff too highly for their competence and willingness to be of assistance in any way they could. Every request was met with a smile and a " can do " attitude. The food in this hotel is very good and the service in the bar and restaurant is also very good. The hotel has a 5 star golf course, a driving range and a teaching pro, Marian Riordan, who is excellent . Thank you , again, to all at the hotel and golf course for making our weekend so memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cailinruadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just back from a stay in Ballykisteen Hotel. We stayed overnight on the Saturday night as we were going to our sons weding in a different venue on the Sunday. I had looked up the reviews on Trip Advisor and as per usual they were mixed. I have to say we would be very fussy, this hotel lived up to our expectations.
From the moment we walked in Niamh,the receptionist, could not have done more for us. She made sure we had a room in a quiet location, we didn't hear a sound even though there was a wedding going on. She was on hand at all times, asking us had we enough towels, was there anything she could help us with and generally friendly. Its so nice when you get that sort of welcome.
The dinner was lovely. Piping hot, great service and again that friendliness, they can be proud of.
Our room was spotless with everything anyone would require on a break. A decent size and a lovely well stocked bathroom.
Breakfast has got a few bad reviews but I have to say there was fresh fruit, juices, little jars of preserves, yogurts, a lovely fry, and as much as you wanted of everything.
We had a late checkout and our son was going to the wedding and can you believe it there was no problem at all about him changing in our room, fresh towels for a shower were even offered.
All in all an excellent hotel, lovely golf facilities, and a spa. We didn't try either but it was nice to walk around the grounds. Not another building in sight.
Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor overlooking the golf course at the end of the corridor. Couldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cinderella059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Originally we booked to have dinner on the 30th May for our sons 17th, the receptionist rang and mentioned that as there was a wedding and another private function we may want to alter the time as it was going to be busy , so we opted for lunch instead.
The food and the staff were fantastic -look forward to returning!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank natstanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Spent two nights in Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort and enjoyed it very much. The staff were lovely and it is great value for money. We played a round of golf and the parkland course with lovely mature trees was in very good condition and and while our scoring was not great we aim to improve on that next time we go there. Breakfast was good and the staff were very attentive and pleasant. Our room 116 which overlooked the golf course was well appointed and the bathroom was modern with loads of hot water available. All in all it was a most enjoyable break away and if we were to be back in that area we would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irisheyesKillarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tipperary
13 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
21.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
405 reviews
14.6 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
13.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
623 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
#2 of 3 in Glen of Aherlow
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel

Address: Limerick Junction | Ballykisteen, Tipperary, Ireland (Formerly Ramada)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Tipperary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Price Range: £49 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the shadow of the Galtee Mountains, this Resort in Tipperary is adjacent to the renowned Tipperary Racecourse, Limerick Junction railway station and the Glen of Aherlow making Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort a perfect 4* Tipperary conference hotel and wedding venue. Situated in a picturesque location coupled with a contemporary finish a visit at 'Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel’, is a truly memorable experience and a popular choice of venue for any weddings in Tipperary. This hotel in Tipperary is just a half hour drive or short train journey from Limerick City, the ideal location for meetings and conferences with reputation as one of the finest Tipperary conference hotels, a great Tipperary golf resort with a modern spa Serenity Day Spa or a base for walking and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballykisteen Hotel And Golf Tipperary
Ballykisteen Hotel Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing