We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
“Consistently Average”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Accommodated in a Lodge as the hotel was full. Bedroom spacious, simply furnished, clean with a few stains and pretty average. Food average, service very average. Long delay in clearing table and in taking order. Asked for TURKEY sandwich and was served TUNA! Sandwich replaced by bar manager without a single word of apology or comment. At breakfast, cooked breakfast served at table when we had scarcely begun or cornflakes! Was it average or I am just being charitable?

Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank redhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    127
    78
    46
    25
See reviews for
190
177
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Just back, the accomadation was wonderful a lodge with 2 bedrooms no sharing. Kids club was great and my 2 young boys loved it. Staff were friendly and very helpful. To me it was a perfect break away with kids. I even got a chance to use the spa which was also excellent

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coldars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIMERICK
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We got married last december in Ballykisteen and i have to say that it was one of the best days of our lives. From the moment that we chose the hotel for our wedding, they couldn't do enough for us.Every little detail was given the upmost attention by the hotel. It really made our day perfect. The service was impecable and the food was absolutely beautiful. Every guest that we had at our wedding commented on how good the food, service and accomodation was,and also the staff there are the nicest, friendliest people we have come across in any hotel. We really cant say enough about this hotel. We would also like to give a special thank you to Catherine, who is Wedding Co-ordinator in the hotel as she made everything very personal for us and really made our day fantastic.
Daniel O' Toole & Jane Walsh O' Toole

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANElimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We stayed at the Ballykisteen Hotel last week and really enjoyed our break away. We were traveling with 2 small children and booked one of their self catering lodges. We saw this ad in the paper as they were running as special offer for a week for €499 and we looked them up online and it really looked nice. We are always worried when taking the children on breaks away as sometimes a family room can be very squashed so this is why we said this time we would try self catering with them, at least this way we wouldn’t all be ready to kill each other in one room!!! We tried self catering once before with my parents in Kerry and it was a bit of a disaster so I was a little apprehensive about trying self catering again. We had to pay for linen and electricity extra when we went self catering before but in ballykisteen that was all included in the price. The lodges are right beside the hotel, they have a golf course and our house was looking out on this. The lodge had 2 rooms en suite upstairs with a kitchen, living room and sitting room and even a downstairs toilet which was really handy with the children. We could easily walk over to the hotel building to use the pool which the children loved; we spent hours in it with them!! They also run a children’s club which we booked the children into for free this is as they say “subject to availability” so I would defiantly be pre booking for the summer months, we did this on 2 of the days they played games, had story time, did painting and we finally got some time to have dinner in the hotel by ourselves. The have a little play room in the hotel too which we took the children to ourselves to tire them out on one of the nights!! I guess the only down side to our say was the fact that Tipperary town which was only down the road is not great for places to eat unless of course you like Chinese, Italian or take aways but then again this may suit some people but we thought the hotels bar food and even their restaurant was reasonably priced and we did eat there most of the time. They have children menus so at least we were faced with some good options for them rather that the usual nuggets and chips that places generally offer.



We would defiantly go back here again and were defiantly glad we decided to take the chance on self catering. Everyone was so friendly and made us and our children feel very welcome. We defiantly felt we got value for money and both the hotel and the lodge were extremely clean.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph1988WF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We went to Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf resort for a romantic getaway and overall we did have a nice time but the bleak exterior and busy roadside location gave it a motel like feel despite the somewhat bland but smart, modern and clean interior.

Firstly there was a mix up as we were to be charged for an upgrade to a junior suite which we did not request - but as we got the junior suite in the end and did not have to pay the (approx 25 to 30 euros, I think) extra for the two nights naturally we were delighted!

The junior suite was really lovely and spacious. Big big bed, nice sheets etc, lovely bathroom with great adjustable shower, plenty of water pressure an nice lighting and lovely toiletries including wonderful bathsalts.

Downside a "floating loo" which creaked ominously when sat on which made you worry it might fall off the wall!

Nice seating area, desk with FREE broadband, lovely mini-fridge - so handy!, tea and coffee making area - sofa, armchair - downside view of carpark, though beyond you could see tipperary race course and see riding lessons taking place nearby.

Flatscreen TV was quite small and unfortunately located so it was a little too far away from the bed due to the connecting door's location.

Walls very thin and you could hear every conversation next door incl phone ringing etc, so that was rather intrusive.

Breakfast self service with good selection and tasty but coffee came by the cup, although I was finally offered a pot.

Fruit juice and canned fruit were not very nice but generally was nice, though I would have prefered not to have to had made my own toast.

The staff were a little cool at breakfast and service not good as I was left with dirty dishes on my table for most of my Sunday Breakfast. Would have loved offer of complimentary newspaper as in so many other 4 star hotels.Also was instructed at desk to take a tray help myself then find somewhere to sit which felt a bit like canteen rules being handed out rather than being welcomed to breakfast.

Dinner was plain but good and very fast and friendly service with excellent mashed potatoes!



Overall commend for ...

Free Broadband
Fee Upgrade (though due to mistake really)
Tasty breakfast
Mini Fridge
Lovely Toiletries
NIce Bathroom and Bedroom Lighting
Great Bed
Friendly dinner and reception staff
Very Clean and modern.
Good Value

Did not like...

Bleak exterior
Unimaginative restaurant layout which did not make the mosty of the lovely golfcourse views.
Poor breakfast service and chilly staff attitude
Noisy roadside location
Thin walls
carpark view
Lacking WOW factor
Not recognisable from website exterior photos.

So overall, for a non golf oriented break, although we did have a lovely time the grim exterior and unglamerous location would make me choose differently when selecting a romantic getaway despite the very acceptable food and very nice, clean and modern interior.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonneVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy in Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Booked in with my partner as we have traveled a lot of miles on Sunday and wanted somewhere nice to relax for the evening. I have given this "hotel" a one star grading as i could not give it a lower one. It is listed as a 4 star hotel with Discover Ireland. This is generous and i shall me contacting Discover Ireland or Bord Failte to discuss same. From the moment we arrived it was a nightmare.

1) Unfriendly staff at front desk. Barely even a "Hello". Was like we were putting them out of their way when checking in.

2) Was informed that there was no restaurant. Only bar food.

3) Upgraded to a junior suite. You could not see the TV from the bed or the suite of furniture. Had to call the front desk to have someone to call to room to move the TV cabinet.

4) No hot water. Called to front desk again. Told me they would have someone look at it. Never called back to say if the issue was resolved or not.

5) Heated towel rail in room not working. Water would not drain from sink. When i attempted to have a shower the lever for switching from bath to shower came off in my hand

6) Went to bar for food. The floor was dirty, there were tables that were not cleared away. Sat at bar for few minutes and nobody asked us if we wanted a drink a menu etc. We went to a table and had to ask for it to be cleaned. Waited for up to 10 minutes and finally had to ask someone if we could order food. On a notice in the hotel i seen it written that they "served the finest in Irish and European cuisine" This could not be further from the truth and is a mis representation. Is a burger and fries and Turkey and ham the finest in Irish and european cuisine, I dont think so!!!

7) The food was horrible. The plates were almost shoved in front of us. Were not asked if we needed any condomonts etc etc. Again we had to get our own. No "enjoy your meal". A burger between 2 buns and some fries. And i mean "some" fries. TRhe food was bland and the meat was tough the turkey and ham was luke warm. We were still hungry after eating.

8) The majority of the staff are either not happy working there or morale in the hotel is very low. Nobody was working with a smile. We were told by a manager that they were under staffed

9) And to top it off. No hot water the following morning to have a shower.

10) Plus points. The room was fine. The staff member in the golf club was helpful and friendly and the staff at front desk the following morning were apologetic.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

This is a great hotel. From the moment we checked in, everything was perfect. The check in was quick and easy.
The rooms are spacious and spotless. There is a great playroom for little ones with a well run kids club. My daughter was in 7th heaven. The pool is great for kids with a great view over the country side.
The food was excellant. We had our breakfast every morning and there was plenty of choice and it was always piping hot. At night the restaurant is really good, the service is quick and attentive.
The hotel is outside the town so you would need a car to get around. But there is plenty to see in the South East and Tipperary town is just a short drive away for a change in nightlife or if you fancied trying out a different restaurant.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have booked to go back again for a couple of days in August. Am looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aero10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tipperary
13.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
13.0 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
21.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
14.7 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
#2 of 3 in Glen of Aherlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort

Property: Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
Address: Limerick Junction | Ballykisteen, Tipperary, Ireland (Formerly Ramada)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Tipperary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the shadow of the Galtee Mountains, this Resort in Tipperary is adjacent to the renowned Tipperary Racecourse, Limerick Junction railway station and the Glen of Aherlow making Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort a perfect 4* Tipperary conference hotel and wedding venue. Situated in a picturesque location coupled with a contemporary finish a visit at 'Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort’, is a truly memorable experience and a popular choice of venue for any weddings in Tipperary. This hotel in Tipperary is just a half hour drive or short train journey from Limerick City, the ideal location for meetings and conferences with reputation as one of the finest Tipperary conference hotels, a great Tipperary golf resort with a modern spa Serenity Day Spa or a base for walking and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballykisteen Hotel And Golf Tipperary
Ballykisteen Hotel Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing