We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My honest opinion!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Certificate of Excellence
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My honest opinion!”
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We are just back from a 2 night break in Ballykisteen. Overall we had a nice time! So to break it down! :

Booking in : Staff at front desk were a mix! Some were lovely others a bit cold!
Room: We stayed in one of their standard rooms. It was very comfortable, good size BUT we had 2 single beds pushed together with 2 seperate quilts! We thought this was very strange and really not great for a couple away on a romantic weekend! In fairness I didnt say anything as we only realised when we got into bed on the first night and had all our clothes etc put away,
Food: We ate in the hotel for our whole stay. The food was really lovely for lunch and dinner. Really really nice! BUT brekkie was so disappointing. There was a great selection and buffet style but the standard of the cooked brekkie was very poor. Eggs , sausages, bacon were dripping with oil, beans were obviously "cheap" ones def not batcheors or heinz!!!
Staff : A real mix too! I booked online with Angeline. An absolute gem. Our friends were celebrating an anniversary and she couldnt do enough for them. She upgraded them FOC and they laid their room out with petals, really first class.
Had dealing with a young manager lad, again very nice. Our lads couldnt get out for a game of golf as course was closed and he gave us an xtra voucher for the spa. Couldnt have asked for more. BUT I had the head taken off me at breakfast for asking where the sugar was and the girl serving in the lounge was very sorly.
Spa : Im afraid this was terrible disappointing, Its not really a "spa" its more like ur local beauty salon. I had a massage and was freezing cold in room, said it to the girl and she told she had asked but her boss told her hotel dont put on heat till later in the year - its November! Said to "manager" too who looked at me as if she was in shock at the thought the room could be cold!

Overall this hotel is def value for money, comfortable with some exceptional staff. I dont think we will go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashaKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    126
    77
    46
    25
See reviews for
189
174
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We had an absolutely fantastic time, when we arrived mid week for the mid term break we were allocated a lodge which was great as it meant the children had a room to themselves sort of a home away from home. The staff were so friendly and helpful, my daughter really enjoyed the kids club, wonderful leisure ammenities, there is a spa which unfortunately I didnt get a chance to use, and the food was top notch, its a great base for touring around tipperary, the rock of cashel, cahir castle, michelstown caves etc, we will definately be returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiddyEarly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

My family and I stayed at Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Club over the midterm holidays. We found the hotel to be excellent value with very high standards. Rooms were spacious, food was beautiful with a varied menu. Staff were very friendly and helpful.Pool, sauna facilities were great. Kiddies were extremely happy with both pool and kids club and husband was also kept happy with great golfcourse on site. I was able to take advantage of the spa while everyone was happily occupied ! Beautiful scenery close by for walks. All in all a most enjoyable holiday was had in Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Club !

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eoc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

I stayed in Ballykisteen for a weekend with my husband. I found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I had some treatments in the Spa while my husband went golfing. In that respect the facilities are very much self contained giving you plenty to do. There is also a restaurant and bar within the hotel, which was great if you just want to relax, you don’t even have to leave the grounds of the hotel! The food in the restaurant was great and the staff very efficient and friendly. It was our wedding anniversary, I had informed the staff of same when booking and we arrived to a room decorated with rose petals and chocolates and champagne on the bed!!! A lovely surprise! Tipperary town is very near and also the hotel is very accessible as Limerick Junction Train Station is nearby.

Lovely rural location, great service, I would highly recommend for a relaxing weekend away, we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EODIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2009

I stayed in the hotel on two occasions this year. First i stayed with my husband and 3 month old daughter after her christening in August. We had our own private function room for the evening and there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere, the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the food was gorgeous and served very promptly..We stayed again in October for a family wedding.. this time we stayed in a 3 bedroom lodge with two other couples..There was 3 spacious double ensuite rooms, a lounge and a kitchen..There was a very comfy bed in each of the bedrooms and plenty of room for a cot.. ..it was very quiet outside at night, which is great when you're on a relaxing night away and there was also a well-lit footpath covering the short distance from lodges to the hotel.. Overall, its a fabulous place to stay and i would highly recommend it...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reiska3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Just back from mid term break at Ballykisteen. Was a little shocked to see some of the comments here as we had nothing but good times during our stay. When we arrived the kids were so excited and we were straight into the pool about a half and hour after arriving. I think the photos on the internet are defiantly a good reflection of what the hotel is about. The pool is small and warm and most of all clean, they had plenty of floats available so at least the kids that were not confident swimmers could still go in. We stayed in the lodges; they were spacious, comfortable and clean and had everything that you could possibly need to be self sufficient for a weeks stay. We very given a letter at reception on check in listing all the opening times of the hotels facilities which was really handy because with so much on offer it may have been easy to forget the small things. The hotels free kids club was amazing, the kids were off our hands twice a day and they were so excited every day to have something to do. This gave the grown ups some “quality” time which we really needed as it was our holiday too. A special thanks to Joanne and Meave in the kids club they can’t stop talking about it and asking when are we going back again. They even got to play golf something that they would never have done before!! We will defiantly be back to stay at Ballykisteen, the staff were very friendly even when they were so busy we still felt we always got a smile. Even Hazel, the rooms division manager needs to be thanked. It was clear she was very busy but always had time to sort out the little requests from the kids and always had an infectious smile on her face. It was a busy week and there were a lot of children at the place but again this shows how child friendly they are and our kids were always spoken asking how their holiday is and what they were dressing up as for Halloween. Big thank you to the reception girls who would always have a little chat with them, we liked the way we were all treated as a family and will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_nolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munster
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2009

I cant believe some of the comments here slating this hotel, I stayed here and had no complaints whatsoever. Very good staff, clean rooms and the pool is very good.. as for a motorway??, what motorway?..who ever thinks this hotel is beside a motorway obviously dosn't know what a motorway is.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexjmaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tipperary
13.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
553 reviews
19.8 mi away
Horse & Jockey Hotel
Horse & Jockey Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thurles
580 reviews
13.0 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
342 reviews
14.7 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
394 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
#2 of 3 in Glen of Aherlow
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort

Property: Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
Address: Limerick Junction | Ballykisteen, Tipperary, Ireland (Formerly Ramada)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Tipperary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the shadow of the Galtee Mountains, this Resort in Tipperary is adjacent to the renowned Tipperary Racecourse, Limerick Junction railway station and the Glen of Aherlow making Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort a perfect 4* Tipperary conference hotel and wedding venue. Situated in a picturesque location coupled with a contemporary finish a visit at 'Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort’, is a truly memorable experience and a popular choice of venue for any weddings in Tipperary. This hotel in Tipperary is just a half hour drive or short train journey from Limerick City, the ideal location for meetings and conferences with reputation as one of the finest Tipperary conference hotels, a great Tipperary golf resort with a modern spa Serenity Day Spa or a base for walking and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballykisteen Hotel And Golf Tipperary
Ballykisteen Hotel Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing