We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal setting for a family meal!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tipperary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballyglass Country House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We went for dinner here on Saturday and I had to take time out to tell you all how fantastic it was. The place was buzzing with people which made the atmosphere amazing. Despite the amount of other people dining, they certainly didn't skimp on service, we were so well looked after and really felt that they couldn't do enough for us. The food was fantastic, expecially the chocolate brownie!!! After dinner we went into the pub part and played pool and could have quote happily stayed there all night. Definitely be back and will be recommending it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel knows how to make the business traveller feel at home. They do it effortlessly and each time I go back I thank goodness there are still hotels like this around. The welcome is always warm and the Guinness cold. One of my favourite hotels and I come back to it month after month.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The setting for Ballyglass is beautiful and very quiet. The family who runs it were really delightful people who were very helpful. The rooms could use updating. Our room did not have a shower, just a hand-held shower attachment in the tub. The food in the Forge Restaurant, part of Ballyglass, was average while the service was very good. Same comment for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxwell327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The sign at reception says it all " you arrive as strangers and leave as friends". This is so true.
The hotel is so homely, loved the old styled lounge. The piece and quiet so relaxing. Ruth's home made scones were to die for. Loved everything about the placed. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Food top class. Had a few drinks in the forge bar, so cool. Ruth and co couldn't do enough for us .

Room Tip: all rooms good, it is such a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had a little party for my dad's 70th birthday in Ballyglass hotel on July 28th. I must say everything was first class, from the moment we arrived Ruth and her staff could not have been more accommodating. The food was simply superb, very tasty & in abundance. Definitely the place to enjoy a beautiful Sunday lunch at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank desbrazil73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We always call to Ballyglass House Hotel, whenever we are able. This family run hotel is just top class the food couldn't be better. They are well deserving of a top award for their food and presentation. A party of 38 of us stopped for breakfast in the morning and we were served a hearty breakfast, the rashers were the tastiest I have ever eaten. On our way home we called again for dinner we had a very good dinner menu choice. Everyone and I mean everyone on our bus couldn't speak highly enough of their dinner. Food is cooked to perfection. Ruth is a most charming host and she has two lovely daughters Hannah and Sarah who in years to come with be a great help with the business. Sarah took my hand (three year old) chatted away to me and showed me to my table. The driveway and the settings all around the hotel make it very private and tranquil. Beautiful spot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiler073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthOConnor, General Manager at Ballyglass Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Smiler073

Thank you so much for your recent review of Ballyglass House. I'm delighted that our staff took such good care of you during your visit here ( including Hannah and Sarah- there were three generations of our family on duty that day!) It was our great pleasure to cater for your coach trip who were as always lovely to deal with!

We hope that you and all of your grandkids are keeping well and look forward to welcoming you back to Ballyglass in the future.

Warm Regards

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed at Ballyglass Country House hotel for 2 nights and couldn't have been more comfortable and relaxed. This hotel is an ideal base for exploring the Glen of Aherlow, the Rock of Cashel, Holy Cross Abbey and the south Tipperary area generally. First impressions, confirmed by experience, were that no reasonable request would be refused the guest on these premises.

Our room was not large but it had an ensuite, TV, tea/coffee, hairdryer etc. Importantly it was spotlessly clean and had lovely views of the garden and surrounds. The WiFi was a bit elusive in our room but easily accessible around the hotel.

There is a very cosy bar which is part of but separate from the hotel itself. This means that you can have a drink in comfort after a days sightseeing without having to have a designated driver or the expense of taxis. We had 2 delicious meals there from an extensive menu in a very friendly atmosphere.

Breakfast was cooked to perfection from a wide menu choice. Portions were as generous as you could ask for and laid down a great foundation for a vigorous days walking in the Glen of Aherlow.

The hotel is family run and it is obvious they know their stuff. Friendly, accommodating yet efficient & professional - not an easy combination to get right in my experience, but the Byrne family do it really well.

The whole package - premises, location, surroundings, accommodation, welcome, ambiance, cleanliness, cuisine, cost etc left us feeling very satisfied with our trip. It was our first visit to this part of Tipperary, but thanks to Ballyglass Country House it will certainly be on our list of places to re-visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthOConnor, General Manager at Ballyglass Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Frank.

Many thanks for your very kind review of Ballyglass. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the time you spent in the Glen of Aherlow- which was recently voted one of the Top Five Places to Holiday in Ireland!.

Hope that the golfing is bowling are going well!

Kind Regards

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tipperary
4.2 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
8.9 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
12.7 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
117 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ach Na Sheen B&B
Ach Na Sheen B&B
#1 of 15 in Tipperary
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aisling Bed and Breakfast
Aisling Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 15 in Tipperary
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyglass Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyglass Country House

Address: Glen of Aherlow Road, Tipperary, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Tipperary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Price Range: £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyglass Country House is a family run country house nestled in a quiet spot halfway between Tipperary Town and the Glen of Aherlow. Whether you are looking for an activity weekend or just want to get away from it all we have it all here within easy reach. Boasting home cooking our dine restaurant has been newly refurbished and offers great value each evening. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing