We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B & B, great value and lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Davlyn

Davlyn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hay-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Davlyn
Ranked #23 of 29 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B, great value and lovely people”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of August and it is probably the best B & B we have ever stayed in, outstanding value at £60 per night for both of us!

Lyn and Dave were lovely hosts and most welcoming. We had our 3 month old baby with us as they couldn't have been more accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.

The room was spotless and plenty big enough with a lovely comfy bed and spacious en-suite shower room. The power shower was lovely and complimentary toiletries/tea/coffee/milk/water etc were provided along with a fridge, hairdryer and lovely fluffy towels.

Breakfast was perfectly cooked with an excellent selection of cooked or continental options and we were able to come and go as we pleased which was great as we were attending an event at the nearby Baskerviell Hall.

Davlyn is easy to find and ideally loacated a few minutes walk from the centre of Hay. We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed for 2 nights at the Davlyn in November 2011 and were extremely pleased with our stay. We received a warm welcome from Dave, Lyn and their lovely Bichon Frise Bobby and the room was warm, comfortable, clean and tidy with en-suite facilities (the shower being a major positive.) The hosts were both friendly and engaging, with Lyn kindly informing us that the Christmas lights were being switched on in the centre of Hay-On-Wye at 5 p.m which we attended and enjoyed. As guests we both felt that the hosts would warmly cater to any request that we should have and as a couple who enjoy being left to our own devices, we also were pleased that Dave and Lyn afforded us this, thus having a sense of being able to come and go as we pleased without feeling that we were stepping on anyone's toes. Breakfast was delicious, cooked well and filling with a great freedom of choice, eaten whilst enjoying the panoramic rural view from the large conservatory. The B&B, considering how close it is to the town centre, was situated in a lovely and quiet area, with ample parking at the front. Hay on Wye itself was a pleasant, idyllic little place with admittedly just about enough going on to occupy you for a weekend and is ideal for the walkers and bibliophiles amoungst us, with book-shop upon book-shop. I would highly recommend you consider staying at the Davlyn for a stress-free and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrifterSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at Davlyn for 1 night and found it quite an acceptable stay. Owner was friendly, if not overly welcoming. Room was very clean, comfortable but somewhat dated in decor (eg fluffy loo seat cover) . It had lovely hot shower en suite, good TV, fridge and all usual furnishings but nothing outstanding. Some good local books and maps available to borrow plus it's in walking distance of town (2 mins) but still v quiet location with plenty of parking. Owner also happy to let us use the garage to store our bikes. Downsides really just little things like one bedside lamp not working, door to room didn't actually shut properly or seem to lock, winter duvet on bed and cooked breakfast just ok (all cooked to order but just ok produce). Would possibly stay again but would try other places first.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2011

A friend and I stayed here with Dave, Lyn and their little dog for two great nights in lovely Hay-on Wye. It was a modern home on a lovely quiet 'estate' just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and Dave and Lyn were fab hosts. The rooms were warm enough, clean, tidy and with the added bonus of a fridge with bottled water in. The bathroom was a great size, really lovely shower and had a real luxurious 'hotel' feel.
We were lent a pack of walking maps to use for the day and our hosts could not do enough for us.
Breakfast was great in their huge garden room with superb views, and as it was such a hot weekend, we were invited to spend a lazy afternoon lying out on the lawn in their beautiful garden. A great weekend and a perfect B&B.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms22fw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
239 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We spent three comfortable nights staying with Lyn and Dave at their lovely home in Hay on Wye. Their house is located in a quiet cul de sac, a short walk from the town centre and within easy reach of the famous book and antique shops, as well as a good number of restaurants and pubs. Our room was beautifully furnished and was well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, together with the unusual bonus of a bar fridge. Our bathroom was spacious and the bathroom fittings were in pristine condition. The house backed on to an outstanding vista of fields and hills and as we were lucky enough to experience Hay on Wye in glorious weather, this enhanced our visit. It is evident that Lyn and Dave have been looking after guests for a good many years as they have fine tuned their experience into a work of art in hospitality. We consider ourselves fortunate that we were able to stay at their home.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula67Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

the stay at Davlyn was very enjoyable ,very close to the town center , very good bedroom and en-suite

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

I stayed at this B&B for 2 nights last month and had a great stay! It was like staying with people you knew and the rooms were very well appointed and spacious. I don't think I've even been in a hotel or a B&B with a bigger or nicer bathroom!

Breakfast was plentiful and there were lots of choices, all of which were well cooked. Davlyn also has parking and is only a 5 minute walk from the lush book shops of Hay on Wye.

I'll definately be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Books_n_Beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hay-on-Wye hotels
0.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Stars B&B
Seven Stars B&B
#4 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
0.1 mi away
Seven Stars Guest House
Seven Stars Guest House
#27 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
16 reviews
2.1 mi away
Borders Hideway
Borders Hideway
#1 of 1 in Clyro
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davlyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davlyn

Property: Davlyn
Address: 29 Booth Gardens, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5BH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Davlyn Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing