We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hay-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Fosse Guest House
Ranked #11 of 28 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have stayed here several times and can highly recommend it. A homely unfussy atmosphere, comfortable beds, friendly and welcoming owners and a good breakfast - excellent! Oh, and the prices are still reasonable compared to a lot of places. Just a short stroll from the bookshops, pubs and eateries, a great base for exploring Hay-on-Wye and an ideal overnight if you are doing the Offas' Dyke or Wye Valley walks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soaring_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed in la fosse for one night and for the price it's great. (£35pp)
Rooms are pretty basic but homely but I was pleased with my little flat screen tv and finding a hair dryer in the drawer.
Annabel and her husband were very friendly and did all they could to help.
Breakfast was pretty good and something for everyone. I had a full English and the bacon was lovely and thick although I felt the sausage was a little cheap.
This is a traditional b&b in with exposed Walls and beams, if that's your bag I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank little_tigerlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is a very homely B&B, run by a friendly and helpful couple. Our room was cosy, the breakfasts delicious, and it was pleasant to have the option of sitting downstairs in the evening by an open fire.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kodachrome25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We've just returned from a lovely 3 night stay with our little Westie, having enjoyed the wonderful company of Bob & Annabel who love dogs, keep a warm and welcoming B&B a make a mean breakfast. What more could you ask for. Thanks for making our anniversary special. Tina, Mark & Megan.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank TinamarkShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Very central B&B everything is within a short walk, including a wonderful pub over the road. The rooms were very nice and the hosts were lovely. We really enjoyed the breakfast and their warm, friendly approach. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We were given a rate over the phone which we thought reasonable, what we were not told was that it was per person until we went to pay at the end of the stay! Quite a shock!

We paid more for this B & B than a fantastic Best Western the night before. The shower was inadaquate and cold as was the room and the owners a little too over tenative, we couldn't even nip out for a quick drink without a 30 minute interaction.

One up point was we were able to leave the car in their driveway while we went to explore the town after check out!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lostlineage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed on short notice,excellent room and shower,heating / tea/coffee in room.
Good breakfast, would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevecrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hay-on-Wye hotels
0.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars B&B
Seven Stars B&B
#3 of 28 in Hay-on-Wye
309 reviews
0 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#2 of 28 in Hay-on-Wye
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilverts Inn
Kilverts Inn
#18 of 28 in Hay-on-Wye
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Start
The Start
#1 of 28 in Hay-on-Wye
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fosse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fosse Guest House

Address: La Fosse Oxford Road, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Fosse Guest House Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing