We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming and homely”

La Fosse Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hay-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Fosse Guest House
Ranked #12 of 29 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“welcoming and homely”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My daughter and I have just spent a lovely week end in Hay, using La Fosse as our base. Annabel and Bob were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and the room was clean and comfy.( Much more comfortable and relaxing than a "Best western"!!) Thank you both.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
40
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

lovely room with on-suite and very cosy feather duvet. Plenty of tea and coffee in our room. Breakfast was very generous and kept us going all day on a 26mile walk up on the hills. The owners were really great, friendly and very helpfull. We had a really nice stay and would recomend la Fosse and the lovely little town of Hay-on-wye.

Room Tip: we stayed in number 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have stayed here several times and can highly recommend it. A homely unfussy atmosphere, comfortable beds, friendly and welcoming owners and a good breakfast - excellent! Oh, and the prices are still reasonable compared to a lot of places. Just a short stroll from the bookshops, pubs and eateries, a great base for exploring Hay-on-Wye and an ideal overnight if you are doing the Offas' Dyke or Wye Valley walks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soaring_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed in la fosse for one night and for the price it's great. (£35pp)
Rooms are pretty basic but homely but I was pleased with my little flat screen tv and finding a hair dryer in the drawer.
Annabel and her husband were very friendly and did all they could to help.
Breakfast was pretty good and something for everyone. I had a full English and the bacon was lovely and thick although I felt the sausage was a little cheap.
This is a traditional b&b in with exposed Walls and beams, if that's your bag I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank little_tigerlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is a very homely B&B, run by a friendly and helpful couple. Our room was cosy, the breakfasts delicious, and it was pleasant to have the option of sitting downstairs in the evening by an open fire.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kodachrome25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We've just returned from a lovely 3 night stay with our little Westie, having enjoyed the wonderful company of Bob & Annabel who love dogs, keep a warm and welcoming B&B a make a mean breakfast. What more could you ask for. Thanks for making our anniversary special. Tina, Mark & Megan.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TinamarkShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Very central B&B everything is within a short walk, including a wonderful pub over the road. The rooms were very nice and the hosts were lovely. We really enjoyed the breakfast and their warm, friendly approach. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
0.2 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
434 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
144 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
263 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
0.1 mi away
Seven Stars B&B
Seven Stars B&B
#4 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fosse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fosse Guest House

Property: La Fosse Guest House
Address: La Fosse Oxford Road, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Fosse Guest House Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing