We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outdoors@Hay
Nearby Hotels
The Swan at Hay(Hay-on-Wye)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
US$223
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhydspence Inn(Whitney-on-Wye)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Llangoed Hall(Llyswen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cedars Guest House(Builth Wells)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
44
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgorge walkingoutdoor activitiesfestival weekgreat activitiesthe rivergreat weekendhome from homeb and bshort walkmickfacilitiessitecampinghaywyebarnlogs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This place is everything you would want for a quiet camping trip. I was alone when i visited with my motorbike and solo ridge tent, there were , I think, four other family groups there with plenty of space between the tents - dont you hate it when someone pitches right next to you !!
showers were good and hot, toilets, and the whole site, clean and well maintained. The site is on a quiet road about a mile or so out of Hay on Wye, so the nearest eating is a stride away, but who cares. I didnt stay long enough to sample mikes outdoor activities, but the setup looked good and he was certainly friendly. I would go again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Just back from an excellent stay at outdoors@hay. We hired a bell tent which I feel was very reasonably priced because they provided everything that we needed for an enjoyable stay.. The girls also enjoyed all the activities that they did with Mike; he doesn’t just teach he made it fun and exciting for them. They can’t stop talking about it and for two 11 year olds girls that must be a good thing.
Everything was clean and to a high standard and they were always happy to help if we needed anything.
Thanks to you both and you will be seeing us again 

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank paula231269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here after a disaster at Hollybush Camping down the road. Mick and his wife were very welcoming even though we hadn't booked and there were 12 of us. The showers and toilets were spotless and were kept clean throughout the weekend and there was a washing up area with cloths and detergent to use. They had a fire pit and wood which we hired very reasonably and they supply bricks so you can use disposable BBQ's off the grass.
The area was very quiet and peaceful and I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
Thank katwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here as a group of 12 - the owners are super friendly and the site is clean and tidy. The toilets and showers are kept clean and have music playing in them! We had an area in one of the fields to ourselves and the owners even set us up a fire pit! Great little site - would highly recommend..

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byrd81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Just come back from a fabulous weekend at Outdoors@hay. Mick and Sharon were fantastic hosts and were extremely helpful in organising our group stay. (28 adults 15 kids). Mick cooked a suckling pig for us Polynesian style buried in a fire pit. We also took a party of 21 down the river Wye in canoes. The trip was thoroughly enjoyed by all. Even by the occupants of the canoe that capsized three times!
The campsite facilities are some of the best I have come across in 35 years of camping and Glamping in a Tipi was an enchanting experience. This was our second camp there this year and we will return for more.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews