We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I defy anyone not to fall in love”
Review of Tinto House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hay-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tinto House B&B
Ranked #23 of 29 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“I defy anyone not to fall in love”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Tinto House is quite the best B&B we have stayed in. Our hosts – John and Karen – couldn’t have given us a warmer welcome. The whole house is tastefully and thoughtfully decorated with period and contemporary art (John’s own); the bedrooms are extremely comfortable and the dining room, with its open fire, inviting. Karen’s breakfast was delicious and substantial, fortifying us for a day’s stomp on the Black Mountains. But above all do make sure you enjoy John’s paintings – I defy anyone not to fall in love with them.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneN16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

wonderful and welcoming hosts, lovely house set in the most beautiful garden, very clean and comfortable room and to finish a delicious breakfast, would strongly recommend a visit to Hay and book a stay at Tinto House

Room Tip: the garden room over looks the stunning back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard1679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This B & B is centrally located in Hay and, as such, very convenient. We were using trains and taxis so I cannot comment on car parking facilities. Karen and John were very welcoming and made our stay extremely comfortable. We had a twin room which was generously sized, well presented and appointed, very clean and with comfortable beds. The bathroom was modern and well appointed with a good and powerful shower. The breakfast was of a high standard cooked to perfection. If I have one minor criticism, the flat screen TV in the room was a little small. A slightly larger screen size would be beneficial. As a long distance walker, i have experienced many B & Bs with a huge range of differing standards. Tinto House is among the best.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My cousin and I stayed at Tinto House in May 2011 and we both wish we were going back this year! From Hereford station, we took a forty-five minute cab ride (there was a bus but we didn't want to wait!) to Hay-on-Wye. Tinto House is located smack dab on the main square. Our sunny twin bedroom looked out on the Clock Tower but it was not noisy at all. It was designed in the French style with lavender boughs to freshen up the room. I absolutely LOVED how the room was filled with books, and that we were allowed to take some out into the garden to read.

The garden itself was beautiful, with sculptures half hidden between hedges and the flowers. There was even a viewing platform among the blackberries (?) where I could see the river Wye glimmering below. Enid Blyton and Frances Hodgson Burnett, eat your hearts out.

Breakfast was superb. There was the obligatory continental buffet (toast, jams, cereal, yoghurt, orange juice) and a full English, but what I am never going to forget is Karen's homemade rhubarb. I think I must have had two or three bowls of yoghurt and rhubarb. So good.

Karen and John were very nice. They helped us arrange a taxi back to town and pointed us out to several good places to eat for dinner (we were a bit shocked how the entire town goes "dark" at about 5 PM everyday).

Hmmm, maybe it's time to arrange another side trip to Tinto House.

Pros: tastefully styled rooms, location, garden, brekker, and atmosphere
Cons: smallish bathrooms and no new towels everyday

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We love this B&B. The house is full of character and charm, the room is really comfortable, the hosts are lovely, the location (right in the middle of Hay by the clock tower) is great. A good breakfast and lovely garden, too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The welcome from Karen and John was warm and friendly. The Garden Room, double bedded was beautifully presented and very calm with its aspect over the garden. Breakfast was delicious and attentive. Immaculately clean. We'll stay again and would recommend it to anyone else.

Ruth and Pat

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank beaminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Tinto House is a pleasant place to stay in an extremely convenient location if you want to walk around Hay on Wye. The hostess, Karen, is very accommodating and prepares a good breakfast. The ambiance of the house is charming; the room clean and nicely decorated. We had a huge bathroom (Blue Room). The Blue Room is located at the front of the house with a nice view of the village. In back of the house is a lovely, large garden.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avignon_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hay-on-Wye hotels
0.2 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
265 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rosedale Retreat B&B
Rosedale Retreat B&B
#6 of 7 in Cusop
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Stars B&B
Seven Stars B&B
#4 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilverts Inn
Kilverts Inn
#22 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinto House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinto House B&B

Property: Tinto House B&B
Address: 13 Broad Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tinto Hotel
Tinto House B&B Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing