We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect for the centre of Hay on Wye for those...”
other travellers have booked this property
Brocklebank Cottage on Chancery Lane
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brocklebank Cottage on Chancery Lane
Sitting Room Rear bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Brocklebank Cottage on Chancery Lane
Sitting Room
Rear bedroom
Garden Area
Front Bedroom
Wood Burning Stove
Kitchen
Looking onto Brook Street
Fishing on the Wye
Booths Bookshop
Brecon Beacons
The Clock Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JanS6999
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would never go again!”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Arrived on a cold day in October, luckily my husband managed to work out how to put the heating on. The cottage was rather dated, washing machine not too clean, rust on exterior. Very little space to store food in the kitchen. Saucepans had to be washed before we could use them. No matching cutlery. No washing up bowl.No door mat at back door so had to wipe floor every time we came in after taking rubbish out.
Tv in the lounge would have been better placed on the wall over the fireplace rather than on a rickety table.
Bathroom small but adequate. Could do with a facelift.
Bedrooms ok but the twin room at the front was very small and dark, no wardrobe.
The banister only goes half way up the stairs and I found getting down the stairs very tricky. This should be rectified or it should be made clear it's not suitable for people with walking difficulties.
From the back there is a view of a brick wall, and to the front, the beer garden of the tapas bar.
A couple of times we were able to park our car outside, otherwise we used the free car park next to the river but that entailed a walk uphill to the cottage.
One teenager in our party who wasn't keen on the area as a whole.
Lack of wifi wouldn't have been a problem if we could have got a decent phone signal.
The Cottage could be very nice without having a lot of money spent on it.
Definitely the worst we've ever rented. Won't be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central loction
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review Claire, there is some useful feedback to take away and rectify. There are however some things that I cant change- parking etc, but I hope you will agree I was very clear what the situation was in our communication. One persons negative is another persons positive- in particular the cottage location, it is probably the most centrally located cottage in the town and is one of the reasons we get a great number of guests who return year after year. I am sorry you didnt enjoy your stay but I will take away the feedback I can rectify though.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April R
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect for the centre of Hay on Wye for those who don't drive.”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

right in the centre of the town, this cottage is ideal for those who don't drive and anyone who just wants to chill and enjoy the area. Good facilities in the cottage including a wood burner if you want the extra work when on holiday. The only negative is that if you are not good with stairs or wobbly on your feet there is only bannister half way down the stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ease of access to the town
Liked least: the lack of bannister and a slightly wonky toilet seat
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary B
Sennecey-les-Dijon, France
1 review
“Comfy and well located”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Brockleback cottage was ideal for book shopping/browsing and the many beautiful walks in the region. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quiet retreat”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was excellent, with comfortable furniture, a very nice ambience and a perfect position to the town.
The parking can be a slight problem if you intend using your car during the stay, as a parking slot is at a premium, so it could well be taken by the time you return if you manage to park nearby on arrival..!
There is a bar opposite which can be noisy on occasion, but overall it was pretty quiet. The shops and the market in Hay are excellent, the people are very friendly and the nearby walks are first class, with great views.
There are great places to dine out, the food and service is excellent, which far outweighs the slightly inflated prices.
Great place to stay, would gladly recommend the cottage to friends or family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: CD player not working/ lack of parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstyn85
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location could not have been better”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a three night trip with my mother and we had an awesome time. The location of the cottage was absolutely first rate and could not have been better placed for getting to the town amenities and for heading out for countryside walks. With a few very minor tweaks (few new bits of cutlery and crockery could refresh the kitchen) this place could be absolutely incredible; you could not find a better spot to act as a base for your time in Hay; lack of wi-fi a blessing as we read near wood burner. Thanks for stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acantheph...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value for money - lovely location”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a week in this 2 up 2 down terrace with two young boys and our large dog. The house was clean and easy. Parking was a little bit of an issue but there is always somewhere to park within a hundred yards or so and being away from proper roads was good from the point of view of kids. The owner was quite happy that we kept our bikes in the back yard. The cottage is opposite the rear of an open air tapas bar at the rear and quiet music can be heard sometimes but this didn't bother us. The location in "Hay" could not be better for mooching about the myriad 2nd hand bookshops or cafes/bars. We recommend a visit to the stationary and deluxe pen shop nearby - you will learn things you didn't know about fountain pens from the friendly and enthusiastic bloke downstairs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2013
Very useful feedback- especially re the bathroom, which will be given a thorough clean immediately. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing