We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and convenience”
Review of Old Black Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Black Lion
Ranked #2 of 28 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at the Old Black Lion for a weekend so that we could spend a day exploring the town of books as well as some other parts of South Wales.

The pub itself is a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Hay-On-Wye and has its own car park tucked around the back, meaning that we didn't need to move the car at all. It's a very old building without a single level floor, ceiling above 6' and not a right angle to be seen anywhere. This gives the place wonderful character. Our room was very clean and well furnished complete with a wardrobe exit to Narnia and the hotel side of out stay was excellent.

The food and drink were likewise excellent- breakfasts were the usual hotel fare, but done to a high standard in a dining room away from the main bar. The drinks and evening meals were creative and very enjoyable with good size portions. Allow about £20-£25 per person including drinks and a little more if you can squeeze in a dessert. The 2 real ales on tap were very well kept.

The staff were friendly and helpful and quickly remembered our faces, making the atmosphere more welcoming but without feeling intrusive.

An excellent place to stay and great value for money too.

Basketball players may need to take protective headware :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjjgilham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Second time we've visited this hotel for lunch and it's just off the town centre.The pub/restaurant is a gem of a place serving excellent food from a wide menu.There's a nice feel to the place with the low ceiling and no nonsense furniture in the restaurant. Will be back soon !!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DaiWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We dropped in, hoping for a table quite late on a Friday night. The manager made us aware of a lengthy wait and quite sensibly suggested we took a comfy seat and enjoy a drink or two. We are so glad that we did....

Simply amazing food enjoyed in such a lovely environment.

Throughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardJCB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I chose this hotel for it's location so I was pleasantly surprised with the level of comfort and the excellent food in the restaurant. The staff are very friendly and I liked the homely touches like the teddy bears and the heavy, decorated quilt covers. Don't skip breakfast as it was a pleasure to have it cooked to order rather than the usual buffet style at large hotel chains. A slight problem with our TV was resolved promptly and just as importantly we weren't made to feel a nuisance for reporting it. A very enjoyable stay and a great location for dropping off your latest book purchases.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HedleyLamarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for one night after a day in the Brecon beacons. Lovely little hotel, very cosy and characterful. We had a room in the annex, which was spotless, comfortable and warm, and had a great bathroom. Very close to the main street in town, about a few minutes walk. Also enjoyed the breakfast, very fresh and plenty of it. The owners and staff were all lovely, very friendly and welcoming. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A very positive experience! Stayed in the annexe. Blissfully quiet at night, comfortable rooms with a welcoming teddy bear in the armchair! Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Bar has a lovely atmosphere and the dinner was best we have had anywhere in the UK! AND the lady chef came to see if we were enjoying it! Very close to all the book shops in Hay and a great place from which to explore the other charming Towns and villages. Prices reasonable too.

Room Tip: Ask for the annexe if you want a quiet room, but beware of narrow stairs up to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Old Black Lion is just outside the town centre of Hay on Wye. Quiet location yet a minute away from the shops. Rooms are tastefully decorated but our shower would have been a challenge for anybody elderly or large to manage ( small cubicle and poor temperature control for the hot water).
The bar serves good food - with some dishes outstanding and others rather less so.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C2Cdoneit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
0.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
473 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
159 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
638 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars B&B
Seven Stars B&B
#4 of 28 in Hay-on-Wye
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Black Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Black Lion

Address: 26 Lion Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range: £87 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Black Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the market town of Hay-on-Wye, this colourful 17th Century Inn exudes historical charm and atmosphere offering quality home-cooked food, luxury accommodation and free Wi-Fi and parking. With parts of the original building dating as far back as the 1300’s, the Hotel subtly blends the elegance and whimsy of the past with the comfort and convenience of the present. Indeed, it is even reputed that Oliver Cromwell once stayed at the inn whilst the Roundheads besieged Hay Castle, which was then a loyalist stronghold. Sympathetically refurbished, exposed timber beams and roaring log fires help to cultivate a homely environment and a famously warm welcome.The Inn features 10 high quality en-suite bedrooms, all of which are individually and tastefully decorated in a style reminiscent of the buildings historic past. All rooms include free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, hairdryer, direct dial telephone and tea & coffee making facilities. They offer a choice of Single, Double, Twin and Superior room options.The Old Black Lion is renowned for the quality of its food and has received a host of rewards and accolades including a coveted AA Rosette. The menus, which are changed frequently, use only the best of British produce wherever possible including locally reared meat, fresh seafood from Cornwall and seasonal vegetables. The oak timbered bar with its scrubbed pine tables and comfy arm chairs is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the fantastic selection of local ales (including their own namesake ‘The Old Black Lion’).The Hotel is located in the heart of the Welsh market town of Hay-on-Wye just a short drive from the A438, it also offers free on-site parking for guests. The city of Hereford is roughly 35 minutes away and offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. For those flying in, Cardiff International Airport is about a 95 minute journey from the Hotel.The Old Black Lion is situated just a three minute walk from the centre of Hay-on-Wye. Renowned internationally as a Mecca for bibliophiles the town offers over 30 bookshops, many selling specialist and second-hand books. It is also home to the annual Hay Festival, Europe’s premier literature and arts festival. The town lies on the east bank of the River Wye and is within the Brecon Beacons National Park, just north of the Black Mountains. Offering some of the most breathtaking scenery in Wales, the surrounding area is a haven for outdoor enthusiasts with both the Offas Dyke Path and Wye Valley Walk passing through the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Old Black Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Black Lion Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Old Black Lion Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing