We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Old Black Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Black Lion
Ranked #2 of 28 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights here in the second week of the Easter holidays. The hotels rooms are situated over the pub and have lots of quirky charm. Ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was delicious and reasonably priced considering the quality of the ingredients. On the second morning I was tired and didn't go down for breakfast, was later told by the landlady I could have had toast in bed (will definitely take this up if we stay again!). The landlady and all her staff were wonderful and happy to help in all matters. Hay is a beautiful place and I am desperate to visit again and would stay at the Old Black Lion.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pollyjean86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

I was taken out for Sunday lunch by my Husband and we visited the Olde Black Lion (Balletine Inn) Hay-on-Wye, Powys. It was an excellent lunch with starters, main meal and sumptuous sweets all perfectly prepared. Presentation was first class and the service also first class. The staff were most obliging premises were very clean. I can highly recommend this Inn if you are looking for somewhere to eat out. With the renowned Hay literature festival from the 22nd May-1st June with a variety of well known stars you may find this Inn well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at this Inn but the food was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butcher_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We went on a Tuesday evening so, as expected, the pub wasn't very full (with us, approximately 6 out of 10 tables were occupied and there were 2 drinkers at the bar). However, a cosy fire was lit and the landlady was welcoming and chatty. We sat at a table by the fire and were promptly given menus which had a good selection of meat (steak, pork, lamb, duck and chicken all featured) dishes and one or two fish and vegetable dishes. The dessert menu was equally as well-stocked. I had pork belly with cider vinegar coleslaw followed by rhubarb cheesecake and my boyfriend had lamb and pearl barley casserole followed by liqueur coffee. Both main courses came with homemade chips which were delicious - fluffy inside and crispy outside. With beers and wine the bill was £46 which we felt was very reasonable considering the standard of the food and the friendliness of the staff. We will definitely return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VJWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had such a special weekend and were made to feel so welcome, a home from home. The room was amazing, so full of character, comfy big bed, beautiful relaxing view from the upper level armchairs; the perfect place to get into a good book. Food was delicious and special and beautifully presented, the service excellent, attentive, personal, courteous and cheerful. Wye valley ales served and comprehensive wine list. Breakfast set you up for the day with plenty of choice cooked fresh to order and again tasty.The bathroom shower was cosy but more than adequate. Short walk into town very accessible. All together a most pleasant stay, we would highly recommend it and would hope to visit again soon. Many thanks to Landlady Dolan, Bob & Shirley for giving us such a fabulously memorable weekend. Would be happy to bring the kids next time!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Cromwell Suite which was charming, comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had a room in the annexe. Warm and cosy if a little tired. Ate in the restaurant, good choice of food and very good quality. Breakfast was cooked to order and tasty. Although I would have appreciated a choice of fresh fruit on the menu. Comprehensive wine list to accompany evening menu.
Staff very friendly. Very central so walking into Hay is easy and travelling around the area makes this a good base.
Thank you all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlorenceMilfordHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a charming pub/restaurant/hotel in Hay-on-Wye in Wales. The staff is very courteous and friendly. The room was very charming and cozy, tons of pillows and nice bed, the bathroom is ok, shower is tiny and the water doesn't get very hot, but this is not a big deal.
The restaurant/pub downstairs is very cozy and there's a feel of the old times with the exposed beams on the ceiling and the nice fireplace in the corner, food was fantastic, very nice portions and well presented.
Will be back one day! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlaviaGois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had a short winter break at the Old Black Lion in Hay recently, room was cosy and the food in the restaurant was lovely. The owners were friendly. All in all a nice place to stay, very relaxing, and would go again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SJV68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
0.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
484 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
159 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
947 reviews
7.1 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars B&B
Seven Stars B&B
#3 of 28 in Hay-on-Wye
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Black Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Black Lion

Address: 26 Lion Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range: £78 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Black Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the market town of Hay-on-Wye, this colourful 17th Century Inn exudes historical charm and atmosphere offering quality home-cooked food, luxury accommodation and free Wi-Fi and parking. With parts of the original building dating as far back as the 1300’s, the Hotel subtly blends the elegance and whimsy of the past with the comfort and convenience of the present. Indeed, it is even reputed that Oliver Cromwell once stayed at the inn whilst the Roundheads besieged Hay Castle, which was then a loyalist stronghold. Sympathetically refurbished, exposed timber beams and roaring log fires help to cultivate a homely environment and a famously warm welcome.The Inn features 10 high quality en-suite bedrooms, all of which are individually and tastefully decorated in a style reminiscent of the buildings historic past. All rooms include free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, hairdryer, direct dial telephone and tea & coffee making facilities. They offer a choice of Single, Double, Twin and Superior room options.The Old Black Lion is renowned for the quality of its food and has received a host of rewards and accolades including a coveted AA Rosette. The menus, which are changed frequently, use only the best of British produce wherever possible including locally reared meat, fresh seafood from Cornwall and seasonal vegetables. The oak timbered bar with its scrubbed pine tables and comfy arm chairs is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the fantastic selection of local ales (including their own namesake ‘The Old Black Lion’).The Hotel is located in the heart of the Welsh market town of Hay-on-Wye just a short drive from the A438, it also offers free on-site parking for guests. The city of Hereford is roughly 35 minutes away and offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. For those flying in, Cardiff International Airport is about a 95 minute journey from the Hotel.The Old Black Lion is situated just a three minute walk from the centre of Hay-on-Wye. Renowned internationally as a Mecca for bibliophiles the town offers over 30 bookshops, many selling specialist and second-hand books. It is also home to the annual Hay Festival, Europe’s premier literature and arts festival. The town lies on the east bank of the River Wye and is within the Brecon Beacons National Park, just north of the Black Mountains. Offering some of the most breathtaking scenery in Wales, the surrounding area is a haven for outdoor enthusiasts with both the Offas Dyke Path and Wye Valley Walk passing through the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Old Black Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Black Lion Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Old Black Lion Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing