We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is now my FAVOURITE B&B ever!! So much love in it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mulberry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hay-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mulberry House
Ranked #13 of 22 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
New Malden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“This is now my FAVOURITE B&B ever!! So much love in it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Mulberry House and the lovely Nicki have now become my FAVOURITE B&B in the UK!

It's beautifully decorated and neutral. Spotless. There is a calm and loving atmosphere in the house. The garden is beautiful, I've never heard sooo much birdsong upon waking each day!

To be greeted by home made apple pie with a beautiful hand picked bunch of local flowers was a magic touch.

The bed, and duvet was just the snuggiest and comfiest. I slept REALLY well, despite being in a turmoil over a dear friend I'd inadvertently caused pain.

The home made banana and blueberry muffins, home made muesli and home made granola and award winning Artisan bread were just the best!

And it's the thoughtful touches, books, art pads and art pencils, first aid box etc that give it a really personal touch. And then there's Nicki! A wonderful wonderful woman that I feel great affection for, despite only having known her for 2.5 days! Can't wait to go back!

Haye on Wye is STUNNING too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucindaRandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicki k, Owner at Mulberry House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay ; )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have stay regularly at this bed and breakfast when horse riding in the area. I am generally disappointed when I stay away from homw but this is the major exception to that rule.
The host is perfect, not intrusive but welcoming. Bedrooms are all clean, quiet, warm and decent size. The kitchen is exclusively for guiests to use and fabulous breakfast, fresh fruit salad, award winning breads and home made muffins. Truly outstanding. No cooked breakfast but I promise you won't miss it. walking distance to lovely pubs for dinners and 5 minute drive to Free Rein riding center. I would give 6 stars!

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent, don't worry which one you get. quiet residential neighbouhood, only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicki k, Owner at Mulberry House, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you very much !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Mulberry House is a fantastic place to stay when staying in Hay On Wye. The three of us
( walking Offa's Dyke ) were greeted with strawberries and cream scones. The owner made everyone feel at ease throughout our one night stay. The twin bedroom was very spacious and had very good décor. The bed was very comfortable. The shower, although not in the room, was excellent. We had access of the upstairs dinning area which was very handy..The organic breakfast consisting of numerous kinds of breads / muffins, cereal, fruit, and fruit juice. It made a change from the full English breakfast we had in most of the other B&B's on the route. Nicki is the perfect host. She heard us moving around and started preparing our breakfast nice and early for an quick start.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WiggyofIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicki k, Owner at Mulberry House, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you so much, I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at Mulberry House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed 1 night at Mulberry House while walking Offa's Dyke. I would highly recommend this B&B - Nicki is very welcoming and her lemon cake on arrival was delicious. The breakfast was excellent (lovely fresh fruit salad, home made muesli, marmalade muffins and artisan bread). We had a comfortable twin room and sole use of a bathroom. The kitchen next door was very useful - we could make ourselves tea or coffee whenever we felt like it and if we had felt like it, we could have cooked our own evening meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicki k, Owner at Mulberry House, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

lovely b&b near to the town centre. The owner was very welcoming and we felt at home straight away. We had the family room and bathroom next door. Very clean, nice and quiet, had a great sleep. Great idea to have everything organic and eco friendly. The lemon cake and muffins were amazing. Didn't miss having a cooked breakfast at all. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlosthejackal999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicki k, Owner at Mulberry House, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seongnam, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Mulberryhouse is a perfect place to stay.
single room I stayed was neat and cozy, and hostess, Nicki was ve~~~ry warm and kind.
In addition, Nicki's muffin was really fantastic :) ... I miss healthy and delicious breakfast at mulberryhouse.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank so5da
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicki k, Owner at Mulberry House, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We only stayed one night but this was a very pleasant guest house. Our visit was with our adult son - who loves book browsing. He had a one room to himself with a spare bed. My wife and I shared a family room which also contained spare single bed. Nice understated decoration, breakfast was in an nice kitchen. An organic breakfast with lots of yoghurt, cereals, soya milk if prfererred and best of all locally produced bread and preserves. In the evening we socialised in the evening. Where you could play scrabble or other boardgames and make yourself a cup of tea/coffee (it is for making light snacks though not for cooking meals).

A nice place to stay for couple or a small family group.

You can take a short walk along the river to the town,

Room Tip: They are all fine but I would book early if you are planning to go around festival time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidbailey260365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicki k, Owner at Mulberry House, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hay-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
0.4 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 22 in Hay-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seven Stars B&B
Seven Stars B&B
#4 of 22 in Hay-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilverts Inn
Kilverts Inn
#20 of 22 in Hay-on-Wye
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seven Stars Guest House
Seven Stars Guest House
#19 of 22 in Hay-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulberry House

Property: Mulberry House
Address: Mulbury House Gipsy Castle Estate, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mulberry House is a comfortable Bed and Breakfast just a few minutes walk from beautiful riverside walks and Hay on Wye's wonderful bookshops and cafes.We aim to give our guests a relaxing stay. Bedrooms are warm and bright and there is a sunny breakfast room where delicious continental breakfast is laid out each morning complete with freshly made muffins.Organic, Fair Trade and locally sourced ingredients are used where ever possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mulberry House Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing