We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly inn which worked hard to make us feel welcome”
Review of Kilverts Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilverts Inn
Ranked #27 of 29 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Darlington, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly inn which worked hard to make us feel welcome”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We travelled as a group of friends meeting for a weekend away, so our admin was a bit more complicated than usual. Kilverts treated us well. Communications had been a little erratic beforehand, particularly over costs and the exact rooms booked, and we worried there might be problems or misunderstandings, but in the event the owners and all their staff were charming, friendly and welcoming, and they treated us very fairly indeed over the unfortunate last-minute cancellation of one of the five rooms we had booked, owing to illness. The car park is small and can be an adventure to get in and out of if you have a big car, but it's reserved for residents only which is a big bonus in Hay, where parking can be quite tricky otherwise. We enjoyed the breakfast, and also ate in the inn one night; the menu is not extensive but is decent pub food in generous portions. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting in the lovely sunny beer garden when the weather allowed. The inn's own website warns of possible noise from the lively bar in some of the rooms, and a couple of the group did notice a bit of this in their own rooms on one evening, but by and large it was a very peaceful stay and the standard of the accommodation was high. We ourselves occupied room 3, a large room at the back overlooking the garden, which had a seating area, a very nice bathroom with huge bath and separate shower, and a vast and extremely comfortable bed (there was some noise in the morning from the kitchen downstairs as breakfast was being prepared, but it was very quiet at night). The free mineral water in our rooms was a nice touch and the hospitality tray had plenty of tea and coffee rather than the usual meagre supply, plus hot chocolate and cookies. It was pleasant to be in rooms whose windows opened far enough to provide adequate ventilation. The place is a bit of a warren, like all old inns tend to be, and if you can't manage stairs then it's definitely not for you, but overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnemosyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    56
    31
    17
    37
See reviews for
20
80
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haddonfield, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My daughter and I have stayed here every year for the last 5 years during the Hay Festival. Shelia looks after us as if we were her own, the food is good pub food and the location is fantastic. Once we found Kilvert's, I've never looked for another place to stay during the festival.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfb526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the night of Thursday 6th June on our way to a horse riding weekend. The room was very nice with plenty of hot water and fluffy towels. Didn't get to eat dinner in the inn but had a few drinks and the girl on the bar was very chatty. Breakfast the next morning was very tasty with lots of 'homemade' treats.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rfra386401l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I have never been able to stay at this hotel because they are always fully booked. I have eaten there and the food has been lovely. We visited on 2 June which was the last day of the Hay Festival. We fancied a meal before travelling home but when we asked what time meals were being served they told us that the chef had the night off.....um I know he probably had been overworked due to it being the festival but come on ..... anyway next time the chef is off, put a polite notice outside to say so, as many people were asking about meals and were being turned away. Oh yes, brush up on the customer service too as it was a bit frosty!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tess42uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Went for early evening meal whilst at Hay Festival. Lively local pub with wide range of beers and ciders. Service welcoming and friendly, food was nicely cooked and good value, would recommend it highly. Only negative is the British disease of tables not being cleared and properly wiped often enough. I'd go again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank manengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

What a super pub! There was live music of a high quality and a great selection of real ales. It was friendly and the service was very good. I can't comment on the food of the accommodation but as a place to spend a very pleasant two hours it would take a lot of beating.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshsire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I am local to this area and often visit Kilverts for a drink or a lunchtime meal. You always get a great welcome from the landlady or one of her cheerful local staff. The food is fresh and affordable and the selection of real ales and country ciders is the best in town. There is also a fine selection of single malts and the wine list is good for a small town Hotel. It is lovely to sit in the well kept garden or relax with a pint on one of tables at the front of the Hotel during the summer months.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
0.2 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
435 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
144 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
0.1 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilverts Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilverts Inn

Property: Kilverts Inn
Address: | Bull Ring, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5AG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after famous diarist The Reverend Kilvert, this 18th century inn is located in the centre of the town and boasts the largest garden in Hay. Internally the original building is heavily timbered with a superb original wooden floor to the bar area. Our bedrooms are decorated to a high standard complementing the age of the building and all feature en-suite facilities will contemporary bathrooms/shower-rooms. Residents and public are welcome in the comfortable bar, which specialises in local real ales, traditional ciders, craft beers and boutique wines. Our menu of savoury pies is famous around Powys, with all meals prepared from scratch in our kitchens using locally sourced ingredients. Children and dogs on leads welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kilverts Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilverts Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Kilverts Inn Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing