We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good value, central location”
other travellers have booked this property
Hay Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hay Castle
The lounge with wood burning stove for cosy winter nights. The river is only 150 yards from the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Hay Castle
The lounge with wood burning stove for cosy winter nights.
The river is only 150 yards from the cottage
The Cottage, converted pre 1840, was originally the coach house of number 23
Kitchen/diner leading to back garden
Hay Bluff
The town is surrounded by beautiful countryside
The Granary Restaurant 100 yards away
Shepherd's ice cream parlour
The Blue Boar, one of 5 great pubs. There is a tapas bar and an Indian Restaurant.
Shower room with heated towel rail.
Garden, table with four chairs and parasol. Two bikes in the garden shed. Ideal for exploring.
Kilverts
The main bedroom with duck down quilts and pillows and an electric under blanket if required.
Quirky second bedroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minimum20
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Central Location”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The Cottage is in a perfect central location for visiting Hay.
Our big concern was lack of parking availability but in his "Welcome Pack" Roy, very kindly, suggested alternative parking places.
We really liked the spacious corner shower.
Heating wasn't a problem, it was easily turned up when needed but I did find it difficult to return it to 5° as Roy had suggested, but that could just have been me, not being used to that system.
We really enjoyed our stay in Hay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MFPNLincs
North Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value, central location”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I and two young adult children used The Cottage for a weekend visit to Hay. We thought the property offered good value - communication with the owner was straightforward and friendly. The house itself is cosy, clean and well equipped. The weather was fine during our stay - so we really didn't spend that much time in the house - had we done, we'd have probably found it a bit on the small side for the four of us. Although there wasn't the obligatory "welcome pack', we found everything we needed (although a roll of loo-paper would have been good). We didn't experience any problems with the heating - it worked fine for us. Also nice to find fuel for the old burner in the cupboard under the stairs.

The house itself is slap bang in the middle of Hay - close to good places to eat/drink and buy books. I suspect parking could be a bit of a nuisance at the height of the season as outside there is a 2-hour restriction between 9am and 6pm (from memory). Although the property doesn't have wifi we got download speeds of 7+ mbps from the BT Wifi (comes part of our home broadband package). Also, mobile signals in the area are a bit hit and miss.

Although the period charm of the cottage has been lost through the installation of nasty white UPVC doors and windows, we were happy enough to spend a weekend here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location, original artwork and curios
Liked least: That white UPVC makeover!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jude451
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay marred by no central heating for 1/3 of our stay and owner's refusal to compensate adequately”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A friend and I stayed at the cottage for 3 nights in Feb 2014 as we were on a course nearby. The first evening was ruined by the central heating not working, we checked we were correctly adjusting the thermostat - the instructions were in a kitchen drawer, rather than in a loose leaf folder left out as in every other rented cottage we've let. As 02 network coverage is poor in Hay and non existent in the cottage I either had to stand outside on the pavement or go to the pub opposite to ring or text the owner. The wood burning stove took the chill off the living room but the rest of the cottage remained cold. The owner arranged for a plumber to fix the heating the next morning, but as we had to leave at 8.45 we had to get up in the cold.
I requested what I considered to be a reasonable amount (just under a third of the total payment) as compensation for the inconvenience and discomfort for one third of our stay. The owner paid just under one sixth in compensation - his logic was spurious, that we left early so cold was not a problem (it is irrelevant if we rose at 5 or 6 am, we'd still have liked heating), he doesn't find the cottage cold (again irrelevant as preferred temperature is subjective), we left refuse in kitchen bin despite his requests for us not to (I didn't receive emails from him about this, so assumed a cleaner would be in soon after our stay but we did take the recycling with us - instructions in a file in cottage would have avoided this), he charged a discount rate (we didn't barter, simply paid the requisite amount on time). The heating issue aside the cottage is clean, well equipped and tastefully and neutrally decorated in a central location (although parking would be an issue in busy times) - it would be most suitable for a couple rather than friends, as the double bed is very comfortable, (but my friend who occupied the very small bedroom said the bed was saggy). The cottage would be a tight squeeze for 4 adults.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: central position in Hay
Liked least: the central heating wasn't working for the first 1/3 of the rental
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2014
I feel that this review is unfair. The guests arrived in the evening and apparently at some point in the evening the boiler had tripped out. I apologised to the guest when she phoned and explained that she was more than welcome to stoke up the fire with additional logs and it would burn overnight. This keeps the house warm. A plumber arrived early the next morning and started the boiler which had tripped out. I would undoubtedly have refunded a full one day's stay other than the fact that rotting food had been left in the house despite very clear requests in the instructions to take it away and the sheer unpleasantness of the guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murd_S_18...
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect base for a few days in Book town”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent three days at this rental. It was exactly as presented. It would be a tight fit with four adults, but worked for us. The restaurant/bar across the street was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice location in the heart of town.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseAma...
Barry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We felt priveleged to be able to stay in this stunning little cottage.”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was surprisingly easy to find and perfectly placed for exploring Hay on foot. It was sparklingly clean and incredibly comfortable, with everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. It warmed up quickly (we were there over an extremely cold and wet weekend), and remained warm and cosy throughout. We all slept well from the first night! Across the road was a welcoming pub/restaurant which served tasty and reasonably priced meals. We loved everything about the property, and the village. Even the weather didn't affect out enjoyment. We look forward to staying at the cottage again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: absolutely everything was flawless
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“idyllic and practical”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay at the cottage. It was clean , cosy and well equipped for a range of needs from different visitors. Central location in town was very handy. Particularly enjoyed the ease of getting log burner lit after a very wet and cold days hiking. Would recommend this place to anyone and look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna E
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a special place”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is an absolutely lovely place to stay. It's tranquil, peaceful and beautiful, right in the heart of Hay, and it simply couldn't be better. The cottage is very-well equipped with everything you could want or need, and Roy, the owner, couldn't have been more attentive prior to and during our stay. There are many fabulous shops to explore in Hay, and I'd highly recommend The Blue Boar and the tapas bar. I hope I'll be returning very very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedrooms were really cosy, and I also loved the location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$95
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing