We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Its all in the detail”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax in the hot tub and enjoy the wonderful views of the Black Mountains.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the hot tub and enjoy the wonderful views of the Black Mountains.
A gorgeous barn positioned perfectly for a holiday in the country, lots of lovely walks near by. Lovely wooden terrace with a glass roof to sit under, property has its own garden area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Relax in the hot tub and enjoy the wonderful views of the Black Mountains.
A gorgeous barn positioned perfectly for a holiday in the country, lots of lovely walks near by.
Lovely wooden terrace with a glass roof to sit under, property has its own garden area.
2 acres of well tendered garden to enjoy.
Property is nice and safe for children and animals, it is positioned well off the main road.
Ample parking by the property.
Spacious dining room with seating area, leading to down stairs bathroom room.
Lovely Shabby Chic style double bedroom with en-suite, enjoys a lovely view of the mountains.
Ensuit bathroom complementary soap, hand wash and hand cream in both bathrooms.
Lovely Shabby Chic adjoining twin bedroom with lots of luxorious finishing touches.
Down stairs bathroom/shower,(ample towels provided).
Large lounge area with log burner, plasma TV, DVD & CD player, board games, books  & small t
Very well equiped kitchen with complementary tea, coffee, sugar and milk.
The Little Twmp Barn is on a small hill with beautiful panaramic views of the Black Mountains
Wooden and glass covered  terrace on both sides of the property, very colonial.
All year round alfresco dining under the terrace, very sheltered, (bbq provided).
Lots of seating areas under the terrace, to sit and relax so you can take in the breathtaking views
Hot tub is very well located on the terrace which looks onto guests own private garden.
Alfie our friendly dog, he is great with kids.
Very mature and well maintained gardens.
We're all in bloom, we have very pretty gardens for guests to enjoy
Come and see the neighburing horses.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
andysc201...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its all in the detail”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have travelled extensively for a number of years and have used Tripadvisor website to help select hotels/motels and self catering accomadations. I have never submitted a review but after staying at The Little Twmp Barn I felt that I had to. On arrival we were immediately welcomed by Alfie (The worlds friendliest and most laid back dog). Upon entering the property it felt like home due to all the lovely touches. The dining room table was laid and everything you could want was to hand. In addition to all mod cons expected were all the CDs DVDs books magazines and local tourist information.We didn't meet Coleen during our stay as she was away but after we had settled in we met Martin who was very friendly and informative. The photos on the website are good but its even better in real life. The gardens and lawns are immaculately kept and we ate breakfast every morning outside under the covered area overlooking the Black Mountains. Its simply the best self catering property we have stayed at and Martin was the perfect host. I would recommend this property to anybody and will certainly visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review glad you enjoyed your stay, sorry I wasn't there to meet you. Hopefully you will revisit us.
Kind regard's Colleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imogen C
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage only ten minutes from Hay, excellent hosts, gorgeous views from the covered verandah.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic place to stay. Wonderful countryside and walks with our dog, great local pubs and all so close to the great Hay-on-Wye.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonDott...
Devon England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous barn conversion”
Reviewed 19 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful few days here with friends to celebrate my husbands birthday. The barn conversion is very comfortable, and has everything you need to make you feel at home. It is set in a good location, ideal for walking, and relaxing. We recommend the honey cafe for morning coffee, as well as evening meal, when the cafe turns into a tex mex restaurant!

Wide would definitely stay here again, hopefully for longer next time, and hopefully when the weather is better

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the accommodation
Liked least: The window between the two bedrooms would benefit from a curtain. I'm sure this is not a problem for families,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Col1823
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely place”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What a find this gem of Little Twymp Barn. It is set in lovely surroundings with views you can lose yourself in. The Barn is beautifully renovated and furnished with loads of quirky accessories that makes you feel at home instantly. It was very difficult to leave but then you know you want to come back for more. Ideally located to explore the nearby Brecon Beacons and the Wye valley and within easy reach of the Gower Peninsular. A lovey place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor & comfortable furnishings
Liked least: No much!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2013
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twymp
1 review
“What a fantastic place”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I would say that this is probably the best accommodation that we have stayed in, there was so much attention to detail and everything that you could possibly want was there. Our dog dougal loved playing in the garden with Alfie, they got on great. The views from the terrace were lovely, I can definitely say that we will be returning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a review we very much appreciate it. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope your family and Doughal come back again.
Regards Colleen Johnson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob J
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best holiday cottages I have ever been too”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

They say location, location, location, and boy what a fantastic setting! The approach up the long drive sets the scene and The Little Twmp Barn doesn't disappoint. The view of the Black Mountains as you get out of the car and look back over your shoulder tells you that you have arrived and will be taken completely by the landscape of this part of Wales.
The way The Little Twmp Barn is set ensures that you can make the most of the "Great Outdoors" as on two sides of the property there is a large glass covered veranda -(very colonial) giving shelter even if you are unlucky enough to have a passing shower. Inside the property Colleen and Martin have ensured that the external experience is carried on inside with everything laid out in a wow factor and everything matches with a really good quality.
Kitchen is clean and well furnished, the dining room is spacious and the dining furniture makes it a joy to sit down together as a family. Moving into the living room again this is very spacious with thought been given to using a nice scrapped wooden floor( No laminates here)- The room is well equipped with audio visual products and a supply of CD's of various easy listening.
Upstairs the makes the most of apex and the children's beds were comfortable, our room had a good size double bed which was very comfortable with a toilet and sink cubicle.
Overall I would say this was a fantastic Cottage and the owners were so very helpful and made this a very relaxing holiday. I have recommended to friends already and would to anyone who has yet to discover this part of Wales as the location, setting and aspect are 5*

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accomodation quality and comfort
Liked least: Had to go home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2013
Thank you for your lovely review it is nice to see people enjoying our holiday home and we appreciate all your possitive remarks. Really hope to see you your family and the dogs again.

Kind regards Martin and Colleen Johnson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maenclochog
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Aug 2013
Thankyou for a lovely review, as your family were our very first guest's to come and stay at The Little Twmp Barn it was very reassuring to receive such a positive response, hope you will come and stay again.

Colleen Johnson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$130
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing