We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family weekend in beautiful surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Vickysnow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic family weekend in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at The Little Twmp Barn in October 2016 for a weekend with our children aged 9 and 5 and our two dogs. We wanted a weekend where the children could play, the dogs could come along and we could relax, we were not disappointed! The barn was beautiful, very well equipped and the owners could not have made our family feel any more welcome during our stay. The grounds were well maintained and stunning surrounding scenary, we loved the panoramic view just lovely. The kids loved the hot tub, playing cricket in the garden, watching the horses and all the games/dvds in the barn, we actually did not need to go anywhere! The bedroom scenario was perfect for us, all just very well kept and so clean and tidy so inviting a real home from home.
We visited Hay-on-Wye and enjoyed the book shops and having a general roam around, also Brecon and the near by garden centre was brilliant. So much to do on your doorstep if you want to explore more.
We want to say a huge thank you to Martin and Coleen, we loved our stay and would love to come back for much longer next time!

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goring-on Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and views
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joamdaph
1 review
“It was a wonderful holiday and we would thoroughly recommend this holiday cottage”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is one of our best holidays. The accommodation was wonderful and having a hot tub made our stay extra special. The setting is lovely and location ideal for walking and sightseeing. I would thoroughly recommend this holiday accommodation.

Date of stay: September 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub, log burner & garden
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
linhay201...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location, good facilities”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Excellent location for visiting Hay Festival. Property is well equipped and comfortable. The gardens are lovely and the views from the property are outstanding.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views
Liked least: Slatted bed base not firm enough for my liking.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janev524
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant place with amazing views”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The place ticked all the boxes, what a lovely setting with fantastic views, it's ideal for you ladies out there wanting a relaxing weekend away as having the Hot Tub was a bonus.
Martin& Colleen were lovely hosts would definitely go back again.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeAmand...
Bury, England
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Outstanding holiday home in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just about ticked ALL our boxes - Woodburner? Check! Large covered outdoor sitting area? Check! Dog friendly? Check! Jacuzzi? Check!
On top of that you get large secure gardens with gorgeous views, free firewood and a large comfy bed. (Plus two singles). Perfect for a couple or couple with young kids, as the bedrooms are interlinked, which might not suit two couples just as easily. The glass covered verandah with spa tub means you can enjoy the outdoors in all weathers, although it was mostly glorious the week we went. Superb walking within the immediate area and for miles in all directions. Fabulous. We'll be back.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.