We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super cottage in great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Apple House

Apple House cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apple House cottage
Garden Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Apple House cottage
Garden
Living room
Kitchen
Main bedroom - king size bed
2nd bedroom - twin beds
Bathroom
View towards Black Mountains
View towards Hill Fort
View from cottage
Dining area - extendable table seats upto 6
From where we fish - 250 yards of single bank private fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jan H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super cottage in great location”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at Apple House, it is a beautifully presented and comfortable holiday home with rural views from every window. There is plenty of space both inside and outside the cottage as it has a fantastic large garden (which our 2 small dogs loved too!). Nearby Hay on Wye is well worth a visit and the Brecon National Park is right on the doorstep which made this a really special place to stay. The owners Richard and Caroline are extremely welcoming and helpful, this was a stress free booking and holiday from start to finish- thankyou!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect. Idyllic.”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A beautiful cosy little country side cottage. The pictures look lovely but it has so much warmth and charm that can't be conveyed in a photo. The garden is delightful and secure if, like us, you have small dogs. The location is great. Hay-on-wye and Brecon are both only a short drive away and well worth a visit. Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay P
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was the second time my family and I have stayed at Apple House. We had a lovely time in this beautiful house in a fantastic spot. Thank you Richard and Caroline, we will be staying again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarfgirl...
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic find!!!!!”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed in Apple House Cottage over new year with two of our friends and our two dogs. The cottage is gorgeous and seriously plush, the bedrooms are to die for and the beds super comfy. It has been refurbished to a very high standard but is still really cozy and a great space. The kitchen is well equipped and we had some lovely treats waiting for us when we arrived, home made apple juice and oat cakes. The wood burner kept us lovely and warm and the sofas were super comfy.
The bonus was the dog friendly garden which was completely dog proof, it was a really good space and very private. The pub down the road was great after a long walk on New Year's Eve which we started right from our front door so no need to take the car, that was a real plus point. Hay on wye is lovely and full of independent shops, a great dog friendly tapas bar and great pubs. Richard and his family were super helpful and made our stay very welcome, we really didn't want to leave and can not wait to return. I would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage to anyone and everyone it truly is beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukebeck1
1 review
“Apple House Cottage”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a perfect stay at apple house cottage. The views were beatiful. The cottage is in a brilliant location with beautiful walks on the doorstep. Richard and Caroline were perfect hosts. We cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pendavie
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fishing on the Wye”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Apple house is as good as it looks on the TripAdvisor . Every detail has been thought about and therefore it is a home from home. With a view too boot!
Richard and Caroline are the perfect hosts, giving you helpful advice when needed leaving you to your own devises the rest of the time.
We booked Apple cottage for the opportunity to fish the Wye. My husband was very happy with Richards private stretch. He said it was almost a bit a cast!
I will look forward to coming back but with our grandsons next time. They will love the horses, sheep, kittens and Molly the dog that are around the house as well as the beautiful surrounding countryside. There will be plenty of room for us all with the Shepard huts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it !
Liked least: Nothing it was all great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing