We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Beautiful little house in the lovely town of books”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old New Inn

The Old New Inn.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old New Inn.
Ground floor -kitchen and sitting area. Ground floor -sitting area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
25 reviews
The Old New Inn.
Ground floor -kitchen and sitting area.
Ground floor -sitting area.
Time for tea ?
Ground floor-hallway.
First floor -sitting room.
First floor-bathroom.
Staircase to first and second floor.
Second floor-bedroom 1
The courtyard garden.
Bear Street, Hay-on-Wye.
Eunice !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jo r
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful little house in the lovely town of books”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I stayed here with family in July, the house is beautiful and very well maintained. The kitchen and outdoor area is perfect for a little alfresco dining. It is perfectly positioned for the shops and eateries of Hay. Gill was a great host.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
Thank you ! I'm realy pleased that you had a good weekend in the lovely town of Hay .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had the most fabulous time staying here, the house itself is stunning, we all loved the decor and really didn't want to leave! We were after a quiet, relaxing weekend and that's exactly what we got. I would recommend staying here to anyone and we will definitely be back ourselves.
Simply wonderful!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. I love it when our guests love Hay and the house as much as we do !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R
2 reviews
“A beautiful house makes for a perfect stay in Hay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just spent 5 nights at the Old New Inn, and we did not want to leave! The house was well set up, the beds were so comfortable, location ideal. Gill was an excellent host, very contactable. Such a shame we did not meet. We will be coming back again!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I'm so pleased that you had a good time in Hay !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Overall character, comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: There was nothing that we didn't like!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 May 2014
Thank you for such a generous review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: comfortable
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Luigipops
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

As a family of 5 with children ranging from 5yrs to 13yrs we had a truly wonderful stay in Hay-on-Wye. The cottage was lovely and the surrounding countryside outstanding. From rock climbing to hunting for Waterfalls a great time was had by all

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
Thank you for your kind comments . I'm so pleased that your first visit to Wales was a success !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Nov 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$156
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing