We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old New Inn

The Old New Inn.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old New Inn.
Kitchen (on ground floor) Seating area (on ground floor)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Old New Inn.
Kitchen (on ground floor)
Seating area (on ground floor)
Sitting room (first floor)
Bedroom 1 (second floor)
Bedroom 2 (second floor)
Bathroom (first floor)
Hallway
Stairs
Courtyard garden
Courtyard garden
Megan
Time for tea?
Bear Street, Hay-on-Wye
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BBbirming...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in great location”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a fantastic stay in the Old New Inn - such a gorgeous, homely, comfortable, well equipped cottage right in the centre of Hay. Gill the owner was a pleasure to deal with throughout and even left us a bottle of Prosecco for New Year - thanks! The cottage has lovely views over the rooftops to the hills beyond and a spacious courtyard out the back - unusual for Hay. Despite there being no parking, this isn't really an issue as there's a large car park just a few minutes walk away and you can renew the charge (£2.50 per day) after 6.00pm which will run until 6.00pm the next day so it's really no hassle at all. We definitely look forward to staying again some time in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feel of the cottage and general high standard of the accommodation, location, host a pleasure to deal with
Liked least: No wifi but managed to access bt-fon so not a huge problem;
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2015
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed seeing in the New Year in Hay. You , too, were an absolute delight to deal with ! Thank you for your warm-hearted and generous review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R
Surrey
2 reviews
“We loved the house and loved Hay-On-Wye”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Despite us booking the house quite late, the booking process was nice and simple and Gill was a pleasure to deal with.
The house is just beautiful: wonderfully located, great views of the mountains that surround Hay, thoughtfully equipped with everything that you need, spacious, old and characterful but with modern decoration. It was wonderful to come too after a long walk.
All of the bookshops, coffee shops, pubs, restaurants and the River Wye are literally around the corner. The Old Black Lion is 2 seconds away and is well worth spending some time in! We hope to return soon!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2014
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and , clearly, loved the house and the area as much as we do ! Thank you for your generous comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments . We look forward to seeing you in Hay again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No Wi-fi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
Thank you for your comments . I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the weekend .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jo r
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful little house in the lovely town of books”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I stayed here with family in July, the house is beautiful and very well maintained. The kitchen and outdoor area is perfect for a little alfresco dining. It is perfectly positioned for the shops and eateries of Hay. Gill was a great host.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
Thank you ! I'm realy pleased that you had a good weekend in the lovely town of Hay .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had the most fabulous time staying here, the house itself is stunning, we all loved the decor and really didn't want to leave! We were after a quiet, relaxing weekend and that's exactly what we got. I would recommend staying here to anyone and we will definitely be back ourselves.
Simply wonderful!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. I love it when our guests love Hay and the house as much as we do !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R
2 reviews
“A beautiful house makes for a perfect stay in Hay”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just spent 5 nights at the Old New Inn, and we did not want to leave! The house was well set up, the beds were so comfortable, location ideal. Gill was an excellent host, very contactable. Such a shame we did not meet. We will be coming back again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I'm so pleased that you had a good time in Hay !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing