We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time, LOVE the staff”
Review of The Swan at Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan at Hay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hay-on-Wye
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing time, LOVE the staff”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My wife and I (and two dogs) stayed in one of their courtyard rooms. If I was pushed for any complaint, the room decoration was a little mismatched but it was spotlessly clean despite being the 'dog room'. We ate in the restaurant and the food was gorgeous, the porchetta cooked to perfection, the dauphinois was just beautiful. All in good quantities (the dogs approved too, but then I've seen what they eat so I'm not surprised). We met two staff, both were very friendly and chatty, the young one was a bit cheeky but it made it all the more fun! Both obviously enjoyed working there and were proud of the food, the hotel and ensured service was top class. We were even given an ice bucket and champagne flutes for our room when we mentioned. It was also nice to have a bath and a shower in the room, we didn't use it but I've always loved the choice.

The location is stunning, the village is superb and there are several gorgeous walks for us and the dogs in a small place.

I didn't know they had a garden, but for dog toileting, head out of the car park, turn left, and 30 seconds down on the right (past the farmers market) is a nice little walk. (once you reach the river (not the stream) the walk to the right is short, to the left is long but it does go through a private field with livestock so leashes or control of dogs only. (there is a warning sign before you enter)

Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slickspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    135
    74
    53
    27
See reviews for
53
245
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed at the swan for 2 nights, wonderful town I didn't know existed, full of amazing little shops and cafes without a Starbucks or high street retailer in sight! Would totally recommend this hotel, full of English/welsh country charm, warm, cosy and welcoming, great location direct into the town. Would make a lovely romantic weekend away of eating, drinking, shopping and walking. Surrounded by beautiful countryside. We had 2 great meals at the blue boar pub up the road and the red indigo Indian restaurant, only had breakfast at the hotel but it was busy in the evening and I heard only good things. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marais72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The Swan is ideally situated to explore Hay. The room that we were allocated was very comfortable, if a tad on the small side but, having said that, it had everything you could want and was ideal for the one night!
Where the Swan excels is with its restaurant which is Bistro style and very pleasant. The menu was varied and the food was well presented and perfectly cooked. We cannot recommend them highly enough!
If you want a five star pretentious hotel then do not visit, but if you want a relaxing and pleasant
stop over then I cannot think there can be much better in Hay! A special mention has to be made of the friendly staff who made the whole experience outstanding!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Do yourself a favour and find Hay-on-Wye a great deal of things to do in the area and no better place to stay than The Swan.

A wonderful experience, lovely warm and comfortable rooms, helpful and friendly staff and superb food.

All thats best in a Hotel at a very reasonable price. PERFECT !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEXREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Staff are great, food is fantastic. Hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_dee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Having previously visited the Swan at Hay for a cup of tea one afternoon we were so impressed by the service that we decided to book a weekends stay. The bedroom was spacious, clean, warm and very comfortable with a large bathroom. The food was wonderful and varied even though they were catering for christmas parties at the same time. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were all polite and very friendly, taking time out to chat with us and make us feel welcome. The Swan is deceptively spacious and well furnished with a large walled garden which will tempt us to revisit the hotel in spring and summer. The Swan at Hay is a real gem and we intend to return to it frequently.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Swan at Hay before. We have also had christmas day there before. This time we had the full christmas package. We come back time and time again because the food is wonderful and the staff are so friendly, they will all try to do anything asked to accomadate. Nothing is too much trouble. Christmas was no different. The food was great and so much of it we were never hungry. We will always stay whenever we can.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0lly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
6.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Hay

Property: The Swan at Hay
Address: Church Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5DQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Hay 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Hay is a glorious Georgian building housing 19 bedrooms. The hotel was relaunched in February 2017 following a million pound refurbishment. All 19 bedrooms and bathrooms were refurbished, as were all the public areas. Set in the heart of the world renowned 'Town of Books,' Hay-on-Wye, it is an ideal base to explore the Brecon Beacons and surrounding countryside. With a choice of 3 dining areas, visitors can choose from our hearty bar menu or more indulgent Garden Room Dinner Menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your The Swan at Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan At Hay Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Swan At Hay On Wye
Swan At Hay Hotel
The Swan At Hay Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing