We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swan at Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Swan at Hay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hay-on-Wye
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One night break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Hay-on-Wye is an interesting town to wander around with plenty of independent shops as well as the 30+ bookshops. It is also well placed for exploring. We drove through Llanthony and over the mountain - fabulous views but a one-track road.

We stayed in a courtyard room at The Swan which suited us very well. All the staff we met were charming and efficient. They all seemed to be enjoying their work and to have pride in providing excellent and cheery service.

The evening meal in the bistro was good, though possibly a £ or so overpriced I thought. All in all an excellent break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    128
    71
    51
    27
See reviews for
49
231
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liskeard
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

The Swan Hotel was everything I wanted it to be. It had masses of old world charm and was like staying in a lovely old georgian mansion. Beautiful spacious room with lots of light from huge window. Staff were extremely helpful and added to the whole experience. Food was super and our dinner was a reasonable price. The Hotel had parking which is much appreciated when situated in a town. Hay is a lovely small town and the hotel was so well situated. Just walk outside for the bookshops but also go in the other direction for a lovely walk along the river. Will definately return here again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Fantastic hotel in a wonderful location. The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. My wife and I ate in both nights - the Calves liver on a bed of creamed cabbage was to die for. The menu is well thought out and all of the food beautifully cooked. A good wine list added to the meal as did the excellent service. The courtyard room we had was cosy and comfortable. Hay is a delight as is the surrounding countryside. We will certainly return to the area and hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

An enjoyable weekend break with excellent food & tentative staff especially Chaz & Tom, who couldn't do enough for us.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrsbwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here last weekend for 1 night and it was lovely. The decor in the hotel was lovely and the rooms were clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was lovely too, all cooked to order. The only point I would make is that they stop serving breakfast at 9.30am. We would have appreciated that extra 30 mins just to get up and leisurly get ready. Apart from that it was perfect! I will definately recommend and stay there again. The town was lovely to walk around too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were married at The Swan last August, and have really happy memories of the day in all senses. So relaxed but very efficient... the food and service was excellent, the coach house and room we were married was beautifully prepared, lots of compliments from our guests...so glad we picked here! We would love to come back at some point... maybe an anniversary?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My partner and I stayed here with a Groupon deal but upgraded the room for an extra £30 per night - well worth it as the room was spacious with a canopied bed and very spacious with views up the valley and over the garden. Every member of staff we met were pleasant and helpful and we felt very welcomed. My only criticism would be the 'leisurely pace' at which breakfast was served. We were in no rush as it was intended to be a relaxing weekend, however, the irritation of others was clear and I overheard a number of grumbles and complaints about the order in which people were getting breakfasts! Enjoyed browsing the lovely craft and bookshops in the village and all in all had a wonderful weekend break.

Room Tip: The corner room in the main building (room 3) had plenty of space, lovely views and the most comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
6.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 22 in Hay-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Hay

Property: The Swan at Hay
Address: Church Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5DQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan at Hay 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Hay is a glorious Georgian building housing 19 bedrooms. The hotel was relaunched in February 2017 following a million pound refurbishment. All 19 bedrooms and bathrooms were refurbished, as were all the public areas. Set in the heart of the world renowned 'Town of Books,' Hay-on-Wye, it is an ideal base to explore the Brecon Beacons and surrounding countryside. With a choice of 3 dining areas, visitors can choose from our hearty bar menu or more indulgent Garden Room Dinner Menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Swan at Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan At Hay Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Swan At Hay On Wye
Swan At Hay Hotel
The Swan At Hay Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing