We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ever again”
Review of The Swan at Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan at Hay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hay-on-Wye
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never ever again”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Awful. We went for a weekend 3 night break. We took our two pups. We were given a courtyard room and missed our cream tea and were told we couldn't have this the next day. Warning- courtyard =car park. Noisy, and the door to the room opened into the boot of someone's car. Flood lit all night with light curtains it was like trying to sleep with the light on all night. Kitchens and all the noise that comes with it in said 'courtyard'. No room to swing a cat (or dog) in the room which was so outdated. The photos on the website appear not to exist. The bed was big enough for two 5 year olds. Don't take more than a small carrier bag with you as there will be nowhere to put it. We checked in 9pm Friday, left at 11am Saturday and went home as we couldn't find anywhere else to stay at short notice.Thank goodness we only drove 1 1/2 hours to get there. Groupon deal was good, but hotel not.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    141
    75
    54
    27
See reviews for
56
252
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
newport
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Average stay
Breakfast slow and very very average
Service average could easily be so much better,had a few drinks in the bar the glasses we dirty and outdated
This could be easily so much better.

Saying that we paid £30 to upgrade so I suppose it was worth it

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happychappy2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were provisionally booked in to this hotel for 2 nights by a family member, to attend a family celebration nearby. When I rang to book the room I was told we had room 6. On arrival we were given room 1, and told that our room had been rearranged by our family member. The room was very cold - apparently the heating is on a timer and had not come on yet. The bathroom was very small with a bi-fold door that jammed open at one point - luckily we managed to free it. The mattress was very uncomfortable and every spring could be felt, and the duvet stiff. Not a very good night's sleep. Breakfast was served from 8 to 9.30 am - consequently it was extremely busy at 9.30 and there was a long wait for the cooked breakfast. No cut fruit such as melon or pineapple to eat while waiting, but when it finally came it was quite good.
The shower over the bath did not have much water pressure, difficult to wash the shampoo out of my hair.
On our return Saturday afternoon the bed had been made but the bathroom had not been touched, and a dirty rag had been left on the dressing table. We were not given any more coffee for the tea tray.
On visiting the room next to the one we should have had I am convinced we were downgraded - I queried the rate for room 1 and was told it was £110, and that there had been a leak in room 6 which was out of commission - not what I was told the day before!
Breakfast at 9.30 on Sunday was even slower, at one point it descended into chaos.
When we checked out we told the girl our problems, she just said she'd only been there a few weeks. We were charged £120 per night, this was checked by the girl and we were told it was correct. As at least 9 rooms were booked for the family celebration, most for 2 nights, I feel we were overcharged. I did not see one member of senior management in the hotel all weekend, certainly no one to sort out our problems.
I would not consider staying here again when visiting our family nearby.
The only positive was a very nice cream tea in the lounge on Friday afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beardyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hay-on-Wye hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed at the Swan a few times now. We tend to go on the Groupon deals as it isn't worth the full cost based on the rooms we've had.

Whenever we've been there has only been 1 person working front of house and he has also been required to man the bar and the resturant. This makes getting a drink very difficult.

The staff are all very nice and helpful but are simply overworked.

The food however is always great!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALP86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We enjoyed an overnight stop (via a Groupon voucher). Check in was efficient and friendly, but unfortunately the on-site car park was full. However we were directed to an overflow car park which was just over the road and did not cause too much inconvenience.
We visited with the intention of complete relaxation - and following a short walk around the town - checked in to our room.
The public areas were well decorated in a traditional manner. However our room was not in-keeping with the deco elsewhere. Don't get me wrong: it was not bad, but lacked the finesse we saw elsewhere. We also accept this is an old building which brings it's own challenges in terms of up-keep etc. A few minor issues - mould in the corner of the room, unveiled holes, threadbare carpets etc. Overall the room was clean, but small - same applies to the bathroom. A generous supply of teas and coffees etc were available and a comprehensive guest guide was close to hand.
The room was a bit on the cold side (but in fairness the weather was dreadful) and we were able to find a portable heater which helped enormously.
Due to the bad weather we opted to stay in and eat at the hotel restaurant. This is where the confusion starts I guess... This is a 3-star hotel offering high-end dining (a la carte menu - starters ranging from £5-7 and mains from ££15-24). We both enjoyed a fillet steak which cost £26 each with a sauce. Nothing wrong with the meals - very nice. We succumbed to a chocolate fondant each and with drinks (just 2 local ciders). - our bill came to £72.
We would suggest they either go down the pub grub route - which fits in well with the 3-star rating - or go full out with a refurbishment and tackle the high end boutique market.
We enjoyed a good night's sleep - a small, but very comfortable bed - with extra pillows available.
Breakfast was also of a high standard, but the service seemed a bit chaotic.
All in all - a pleasant stay - and taking into consideration our voucher offer - was good value for money. Unfortunately the meal bumped up our intended spend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

What a wonderful experience at The Swan at Hay......superb food....wonderfully friendly staff and our room was soooo comfortable.....I would def recommend a stay at this hotel. The hotel is situated in a beautiful town called Hay on Wye it is a fab little town some great little pubs and restaurants! The hotel has so much charachter and was a real pleasure to say at.... will def return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshirre
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Booked this place.cant call it hotel.cause its far from it. On a group on deal.which we have found to be okay in the past. On arrival we was met with what do you want oh yer here for 3 nights arent ya.told where our room was and what time to expect breakfast. Thats fine maybe he had a bad day.the room was freezing. Was told heating on a timer. and people don't normally arrive till after 6pm it was only 4pm.there was dead flies and wasps on windowsills.dust like you woundnt believe.long black hairs in the bed.cobwebs over the bedside lamp.and the bathroom floor was dirty. I could go on.and on about the bad housekeeping.the door to the room all but opened onto the main road.and was your average interior door.so not very secure.when we raised concern about this was told that they only get 5pounds from the groupon deal so.cant say what the meals are like.after seeing the room didnt want to chance eating there.We lasted 24 hours.then had to get out. Home clean sweet home.never again.
.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
6.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
596 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
147 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
927 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
585 reviews
15.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Hay

Property: The Swan at Hay
Address: Church Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5DQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Hay 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Hay is a glorious Georgian building housing 19 bedrooms. The hotel was relaunched in February 2017 following a million pound refurbishment. All 19 bedrooms and bathrooms were refurbished, as were all the public areas. Set in the heart of the world renowned 'Town of Books,' Hay-on-Wye, it is an ideal base to explore the Brecon Beacons and surrounding countryside. With a choice of 3 dining areas, visitors can choose from our hearty bar menu or more indulgent Garden Room Dinner Menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Swan at Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan At Hay Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Swan At Hay On Wye
Swan At Hay Hotel
The Swan At Hay Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing