We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop over driving to West Wales”
Review of The Swan at Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan at Hay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hay-on-Wye
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very large comfortable, executive room with large bed. Spoilt a little by lack of attention to en suite bathroom - light detached from wall, poor, uncontrollable shower, no chain on plug etc. Food excellent quality, a bit short on quantity with some dishes and expensive (cheese board with three "local"? cheeses £9). Meal spoilt by being served in Bar/Bistro when they have the most beautiful dining room, with garden view - which was only use for breakfast. Ill informed waiting staff at dinner -chef's fault?
WIFI didn't work in room 5.

Room Tip: Recommend room 5 if they get the bathroom sorted out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cr69bl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were a family of 5 eating dinner in the bistro , staying locally in the town. The restaurant was almost empty and any ambience was ruined by the awful tacky and cheesy 80s music. It would be vastly improved if the music was updated. The food was ok but nothing special for what was quite high prices. The service was pretty slow as waiters seemed too busy larking about. Two very sweet waitresses tried really hard to please.

We won't be returning or suggesting it to friends unfortunately.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaN20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were very disappointed with the room - shabby and cramped. The furniture and fittings were terrible - no handles on some of the drawers and wardrobe. The light bulbs in the bedside lamps and shaver were not working but were replaced when requested. There was loud and persistent traffic noise from very early in the morning. However, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food in the bistro was excellent. The breakfast was also very good, served in a lovely dining room. All in all we would definitely eat there again but never stay the night!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 140Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Awful! Hasn't been updated for years, everything is chipped and worn and really dated and old fashioned. Service was terrible - our toast was stone cold so we asked for fresh but it came when we'd finished breakfast. Then we had to wait 10 mins to check out as manager had gone to buy eggs! Food however was outstanding, a saving grace. I would definitely recommend the restaurant but not the hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aimeeok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I took advantage of a Groupon deal for a wonderful night here at the end of February. I'm pleased to say that we weren't treated any differently for visiting on a deal. It's a small friendly hotel - peaceful, excellent location with a very tasty full welsh breakfast. Our room was clean and comfortable. The car park is small, but we were guided to the market car park, just across the road, which they use as an overflow car park - this was fine. We found the staff to be helpful and charming. We hope to come back to this lovely welsh town ...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate_French
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We went for our second stay at the Swan courtesy of group on deal. We had such a beautiful room overlooking garden, all spotlessly clean. Meal that evening was superb especially the risotto, which was the best we've ever had outside of Italy. Starch free diet request was handled without any problems at all too. Breakfast also very good, and all the staff were lovely. Will definitely visit again.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have stayed in many beautiful hotels, and we were hopeful that The Swan would be nothing less when we came across it. How wrong we could we be!!! Shabby and tired decor, dreadful food, filthy room and disgusting bathroom. Some of the staff were polite and helpful and seemed slightly over stretched. There didn't seem to be enough staff and I can quite understand why given the attitude of the owner/manager. When we approached her about our concerns, she was impolite, completely condescending, dismissive of our issues and unwilling to accept anything was wrong and bullying in her manner. If this is the way she speaks to customers, then goodness knows how she treats her staff. We will never set foot in the place again, we have told all our friends and relatives who visit Hay-on-Wye to give this ancient heap a wide birth, and would advise anyone reading this not to bother looking any further. Outrageous and disgusting attitude.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
6.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
651 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
159 reviews
13 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
15.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
4.3 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Hay

Address: Church Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5DQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range: £84 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Hay 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Hay is a glorious Georgian building housing 19 bedrooms. The hotel was relaunched in February 2017 following a million pound refurbishment. All 19 bedrooms and bathrooms were refurbished, as were all the public areas. Set in the heart of the world renowned 'Town of Books,' Hay-on-Wye, it is an ideal base to explore the Brecon Beacons and surrounding countryside. With a choice of 3 dining areas, visitors can choose from our hearty bar menu or more indulgent Garden Room Dinner Menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Swan at Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan At Hay Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Swan At Hay On Wye
Swan At Hay Hotel
The Swan At Hay Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing