We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - warm welcome”
Review of The Swan at Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan at Hay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hay-on-Wye
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good hotel and busy, of course, in festival season. Hot water a plenty. warm welcome. staff held back a cold meal late for me so I could see a late show. Lovely cotton sheets and duvet. Great breakfast. Slight smell of curry in bedroom corridor ?

If possible ask for room at rear to avoid street noise - double glazing installed but still some noise and i prefer fresh air.

Great location for town centre and festival. No need for bus to site. Car park a big benefit.

Room Tip: Try for room at back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cultureoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had a pleasant weekend - hotel a little tired but nice country feel, staff and locals friendly.

Food and service okay - but not outstanding.

I felt that the staff were really trying to give the best service - but there needed t be money spent to get the business up to a better standard.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

At first sight we thought what a beautiful looking hotel. The reception area was quite grand and we had high hopes. When we had checked in, we went to see our room. It was off a corridor through a door, down a few steps into quite a dingy hallway. The room was clean but absolutely tiny. And the corridors reminded me of a 70s bed and breakfast! We didn't have a meal there but were pleasantly surprised by breakfast. It was in a splendid, bright room and both the food and service was excellent. I really love my creature comforts and so the room has ensured that I won't be staying there again. We stayed in room 10 and along with 11 and 12 were down a seedy little corridor.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This 3 star hotel is conveniently located in Hay on Wye and has a free car park which is always a bonus. The check in took seconds and we found our room to be clean and in keeping with the decor of the hotel which was plush when originally done but is now showing some signs of age ie wallpaper marked or ripped in places, carpets frayed etc but this doesnt really detract from the overall feel of the hotel. There is a very pleasant lawned garden with a sun terrace, and a bistro restaurant on the premises. The food in the restaurant was enjoyable if not a little overseasoned, and probably a couple of pounds too expensive for some of the dishes, but the service of the staff was exemplary especially that of the what should be manager who was very attentive and jovial even though they seemed to be there 24/7 - deserves a promotion! A smile and a little personality goes a long way, so well done. The only real down point of the stay was the noise levels of the hotel, the floorboards outside the room were very noisy and we were woken at 3am by a conversation right outside the door of our room, and again shortly after when a television 2 rooms away was put on loudly by I would assume the same people, and the bed was not conducive to the best nights sleep, and being woken again by the same people at 7am on a Saturday morning wasnt really the best though breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked to order and from fresh produce, and served in what should be the evening restaurant - a grand room with chandeliers overlooking the lawns. Overall an enjoyable stay and were it not for the 2 "walkers" staying two doors away in room 16 having no consideration for other guests at the hotel we could draw no real cause for complaint - though this wasnt down to the hotel itself per se.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoilsburytoastboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very large comfortable, executive room with large bed. Spoilt a little by lack of attention to en suite bathroom - light detached from wall, poor, uncontrollable shower, no chain on plug etc. Food excellent quality, a bit short on quantity with some dishes and expensive (cheese board with three "local"? cheeses £9). Meal spoilt by being served in Bar/Bistro when they have the most beautiful dining room, with garden view - which was only use for breakfast. Ill informed waiting staff at dinner -chef's fault?
WIFI didn't work in room 5.

Room Tip: Recommend room 5 if they get the bathroom sorted out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cr69bl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were a family of 5 eating dinner in the bistro , staying locally in the town. The restaurant was almost empty and any ambience was ruined by the awful tacky and cheesy 80s music. It would be vastly improved if the music was updated. The food was ok but nothing special for what was quite high prices. The service was pretty slow as waiters seemed too busy larking about. Two very sweet waitresses tried really hard to please.

We won't be returning or suggesting it to friends unfortunately.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaN20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were very disappointed with the room - shabby and cramped. The furniture and fittings were terrible - no handles on some of the drawers and wardrobe. The light bulbs in the bedside lamps and shaver were not working but were replaced when requested. There was loud and persistent traffic noise from very early in the morning. However, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food in the bistro was excellent. The breakfast was also very good, served in a lovely dining room. All in all we would definitely eat there again but never stay the night!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 140Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
6.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
665 reviews
22.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
188 reviews
13 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,025 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#1 of 1 in Talgarth
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Hay

Address: Church Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5DQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range: £83 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Hay 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Hay is a glorious Georgian building housing 19 bedrooms. The hotel was relaunched in February 2017 following a million pound refurbishment. All 19 bedrooms and bathrooms were refurbished, as were all the public areas. Set in the heart of the world renowned 'Town of Books,' Hay-on-Wye, it is an ideal base to explore the Brecon Beacons and surrounding countryside. With a choice of 3 dining areas, visitors can choose from our hearty bar menu or more indulgent Garden Room Dinner Menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Swan at Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan At Hay Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Swan At Hay On Wye
Swan At Hay Hotel
The Swan At Hay Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing