We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want character”
Review of The Swan at Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan at Hay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hay-on-Wye
Reviewed 31 July 2007

Just back from a few days in Wales where we stayed 2 nights at the swan at hay. We stayed in a Double 'superior' room. The room was very nice looking onto the gardens. The bed was very comfortable if you like to sink into a very soft matreess!!! With a very clean ensuite.

We had our baby with us and cot was provided. However there was only one baby seat in the restaurant so first up got it. We didnt' have dinner in the hotel but breakfast was ~OK. First morning is was nice; but the next morning there must have been a different chef on!!

Over all our stay was very enjoyable. there is room for improvement in the restaurant.
The town itself is very interesting worth spending a bit of time to explore.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaoisRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2006

We hadn't realised the annual horse fair was on - hence we couldn't book anywhere in the area, so turned up anyway and luckily got a cancellation on a deluxe bedroom (there was also a wedding on!). The bedroom was spacious (those high ceilings are to die for...) and comfortable, and the bathroom looked newly refurbed. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. Although the room was at the front of the hotel, the 'main road' is hardly a major route anywhere and the window is double glazed. Breakfast was faultless - and, no, we didn't eat dinner at the hotel, thanks to your previous reviews, but it was a very busy buzzy Saturday evening full of the farmers/horse dealers, and we had an enjoyable, if hectic, meal elsewhere in town, finishing with a nightcap back at the hotel bar. Hay is such a great little town, and we would not hesitate to book the Swan again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ex-golfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2006

I agree with other comments made here about this hotel: the communal areas are very nicely done and we decided to book a night here based on this. It was however a misleading representation of the rest of the place. We had a 'luxury double' room at £115 - the room was a good size, but dark (outdated) decor made it gloomy. The bathroom was also big but AWFUL! Stained carpet, cheap (1980s?) plastic towel rails and mirror; plastic glasses; tiles missing around shower; wallpaper peeling; weedy shower. The less time spent in here the better! Meal prices are not good value and disappointing; breakfast (included ) was good. Hope they plan to follow the downstairs refurbishment on into the bedrooms as it would then be a good place to stay - would probably choose to eat elsewhere though.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2006

Ideal for walking to all those bookshops or along the river.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast excellent BUT don't eat the main meal! There are better places to eat just down the road.
Lovely garden and nice lounge. Bedrooms must seem small to Americans but OK. Two minute walk in the direction of the river - away from the town - is a church worth a visit. Its Anglo Catholic but part of the Church in Wales. Morning Mass and evening prayer every day, incense etc.
I'll be back next year to buy more books.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JLangrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Brighton, East Sussex
19
Reviewed 10 July 2006

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in Jluy 2006. I couldn't fault the communal areas of the Hotel, which have obviously been refurbished recently. Large, open, airy communal rooms, comfy lounge, 2 bar areas, formal and informal dining areas; all in a modern style, (wallpaper, lighting, carpet etc) but with striped back wooden furniture, door frames, skirting etc. Also a massive, established garden with fruit trees, secluded spots and garden furniture on the terrace perfect for afternoon tea.

Great cooked English breakfast. My only criticism no music anywhere which made breakfast and drinking in the bar a rather quiet experience. No-one spoke a word. Very odd.

The bedroom wasn't up to the standard of the communal areas. It was comfortable but hot in July, (no air con). The bathroom was small and entered via a sliding door which was awkward to use. Very noisy fan in the bathroom. Still it was clean and more than adequate if you were just using it to sleep in and spending your time out & about.

We ate at The Wine Vaults (Great beer garden but basic food, mainly fried stuff) and at The Old Black Lion ( Skip starters and go straight to main course. Forget dessert & have the cheese board minus the chutney).

Obviously the bookshops in Hay are renowned, (recommend the Childrens book shop - Not for kids!). I found all the shops were modern, well decorated, friendly & spacious. Great to browse in, and Hay's streets were really clean. The ice cream parlour does the best ice-cream in massive portions. Try the damson.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2006

I stayed here alone before heading to afriends wedding nearby. The hotel has a lovely main area, the restaurant & bar areas look recently refurbished...I ate in the bar area which was Gastro pub in style, the sweet potato and corguette lasagne was really good, but the portion could have been a little larger. I had breakfast in the main restaurant which was very good and service was quick, friendly and efficient. The couple running the place are very welcoming and went out of their way to help with anything, directions, recommendations, finding out information- very warm and genuine. Sadly my criticism had to be my room, it was rather small and cold in a separate building, with very bright yellow walls and I could here everyone else come in and out of the building right outside my bedroom door & another guest set off a fire alarm in the hallway about 5 times at past 11pm at night, and no one came to explain what was going on- I had to call reception. perhaps the rooms in the main building are better? hay is very small and with the right room, I would prob stay here again for service & general ambience.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2005

This is a very quaint hotel located right in the center of Hay-on-Wye. The staff were friendly as you'd expect from a small place in the country. The room was cramped and the bed just so-so, but that was my expectation for a small country hotel. The breakfast the next morning was good and in-line with what you'd expect for a english breakfast.

One problem with my room was that I was on a lower level and their were several rooms above me. The floor kept creeking at night and in the morning as whoever was upstairs kept walking around. Make sure you ask for a room with no one above you.

The room also didn't have a clock radio (I called the desk and they don't have any) and the TV remote didn't work. Small problems, but annoying.

The price of ₤62.50 (including breakfast) was a good value.

12  Thank RollingStone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
6.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
666 reviews
22.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
161 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#1 of 1 in Talgarth
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#2 of 28 in Hay-on-Wye
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Hay

Address: Church Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5DQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range: £83 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Hay 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan at Hay is a glorious Georgian building housing 19 bedrooms. The hotel was relaunched in February 2017 following a million pound refurbishment. All 19 bedrooms and bathrooms were refurbished, as were all the public areas. Set in the heart of the world renowned 'Town of Books,' Hay-on-Wye, it is an ideal base to explore the Brecon Beacons and surrounding countryside. With a choice of 3 dining areas, visitors can choose from our hearty bar menu or more indulgent Garden Room Dinner Menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Swan at Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan At Hay Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Swan At Hay On Wye
Swan At Hay Hotel
The Swan At Hay Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing