We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's everything everybody says about it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hay-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bear Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 29 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
205 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“It's everything everybody says about it!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The house, the ambiance, the greeting, the service, the room, the en-suite, the breakfast, the cost - all perfect. We loved it! The only niggles we had were that it is quite difficult to find, parking is tight and the wifi signal strength could be improved. If you are in the area, this is the place to stay though you will probably have to book early.

Room Tip: We were in the twin-bedded room because the double bedded en-suite room was occupied so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
146
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Great place to stay - welcoming host David has an eye for detail, tastefully furnished room at a fraction of the expense of a faceless hotel. You can breakfast like a lord, freshly cooked with care, set us up for a day's book hunting. Overall excellent standard - couldn't suggest any improvement (except a brew and some cake in the lounge on arrival!).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveinthedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband, not known for getting excited about things, said The Bear was easily the best B&B he has stayed in. The warmest welcome, outstanding care and attention to detail and such a beautiful building. David couldn't have been more welcoming or attentive, and his cooking was delicious. We had home baking on our tea tray each day (yum) and a wonderful breakfast. Thick cotton bed linen, squishy pillows and duvets, proper fluffy towels and all the other little things that make a big difference. Convenient parking out the back and its within a minute walking distance to the town. Perfect in every way! We already loved Hay.. now we love it even more :-)

Room Tip: We had the double with separate (private) bathroom which was a little cheaper than ensuite. It was c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themacblacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A truely lovely establishment. Superb rooms and a great host.The breakfast was exellent too. If you are visting Hay we would thouroughly recommend a stay here.In fact, the Bear is a good enough reason in itself to visit Hay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My sister and I stayed at The Bear for two nights on our walk of the Offa Dyke’s Path. The Bear is a beautiful, clean, quiet and comfortable B&B in a great location. The room we shared was much larger then the normal twin room with a large, beautiful bathroom. The décor was really nice with the added touch of Welsh blankets on the beds. The breakfasts were excellent and the hosts David and Andrew were extremely pleasant and helpful. I accidently left an earring and David sent me an email and said that he would be sending it on to me. This is the best place we stayed along the path and can’t recommend it more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here on Offa's Dyke Walk.
A great building with fantastic rooms, superbly furnished and very comfortable. Probably the best place we stayed over the 10 day walk, against some stiff competition.
David was very welcoming despite our very wet and muddy condition.
Great breakfast.
A very relaxing place to stay.
Will definitely go back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I do like a nice B & B and this is one! The Bear is located right in Hay on Wye so once you are there you can walk to pubs, shops, restaurants and the market (on Thursday).

David is a fantastic host, friendly with an excellent eye for details and some great suggestions for what to do where to eat etc.

The place itself is spotless, full of character, beautifully decorated and well looked after. Breakfast is lovely and the communal area is comfortable and cosy. All of this for we thought was good value. What more could you want?!

Spot on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
0.2 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
434 reviews
7.0 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
263 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Bear Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2 Bear Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bear Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear in Hay on Wye, Powys, is a former 16th century Grade II listed coaching inn at the centre of the world famous book town. This historic guest house has three individually decorated bedrooms providing high quality, informal, and relaxed accommodation mixing the best of the original with an interesting mix of antique, vintage, and contemporary design. Breakfast is served in the guest lounge and features a changing menu of delicious homemade food using the finest local ingredients. Prices from £50 per night (as part of. Twin arrangement) up to £100 for an ensuite bedroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bear Bed And Breakfast Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing