We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it!”
Review of Seven Stars B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Stars B&B
Ranked #5 of 29 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Booked a day before staying. Cracking location with large car park. Everything within walking distance, great book shops, cozy pubs. We were offered use of sauna and pool but didn't have time to use them. Stay for 2 nights not 1 if you have time! Good full Welsh breakfast to cap it all off

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UptonFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    75
    26
    11
    2
See reviews for
45
163
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just returned from one night stay,friendly staff, excellent breakfast sets you up for the rest of the day, Comfortable rooms and you have the use of pool and sauna. really nice place to stay we shall return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive19552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just booked our third visit to this gem of a B&B ! We've enjoyed two super stays at The Seven Stars before , quite simply it cannot be bettered. From the moment you book , until you leave, nothing is too much trouble.
Di the landlady really goes out of her way to ensure her guests are happy.
The rooms are warm and comfortable and are kept spotlessly clean. Bathrooms also are kept to the same high standard. Tea and coffee facilities are provided and of course a TV.
But as Hay on Wye is such a delightful little town you won't want to be watching TV as it is fun to explore the many book shops and surrounding beautiful countryside by the lovely river Wye.
As a bonus, The Seven Stars has it's own swimming pool and sauna which is kept lovely and warm, also parking for guests around the back of the building. This time we have managed to book room 8 which is right by the pool with its own access to the pool.
But one of the most special things are the wonderful breakfasts ! Quite simply they are fabulous !
Either full Welsh or locally smoked fish, plus the usual cereals, fruit etc. it will really set you up for a day exploring this beautiful area !
Thoroughly recommended ! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you enjoy an early swim ,book room 8 as it's right by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petey044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My Partner & I stayed here New Year's Eve after a last minute idea to get away from the usual hustle of cardiff for the evening and do something different!

We phoned the Severn Stars and spoke with Di who luckily had 1 room left (room 8) and we were overwhelmed when we arrived. The room was spotless - had tea & coffee facilities & tv as expected...though we were not expecting a patio door next to the bed leading onto the pool & Sauna...WOW - loved it! Before we booked we were worried that maybe we'd left it to late to book or find somewhere to welcome the new year but Di recommended & booked on our behalf a 5 course meal with entertainment in a local restaurant for our New Year's celebrations! -Again we couldn't fault it! Lovely food & landlady - unfortunately I forget the name of the place!!

Overall Fantastic stay with a helpful & friendly owner - we just wish we could have stayed longer so we could enjoy & explore the location, though we are already planning our next visit!

Almost forgot to mention the full cooked breakfast - Yum!! :-)

*******

Sam & Kevin

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamBarry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely break staying at the Seven Stars, I asked in advance to stay in Room 8 (pool room) which was great. Lovely clean room, nice bathroom and the all important early & direct access to the pool which we used both mornings and again in the afternoon after a hard day of book shopping! Also worth noting that this room was quiet and they had tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
Breakfast was served between 8.30 - 9.30 and there were a number of hot choices, very happy with their service.
Staff are all friendly and make an effort to help. We were delayed by traffic and subsequently an hour later than the stated arrival time but we had a letter in our room suggesting places that served late to eat and a number to call if needed.
Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would highly recommend to others if you are in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8 'the pool room' and loved having early access to the pool, also super qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemelbournefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

At the Seven Stars at the start of the Hay Winter Festival. This is the start of Christmas for me. A cosy room and all sorts of Christmassy things going on. The welcome from Di and Liz as genuine and warm as always. Staying in the newly refurbished Pool Room is a delight. Breakfasts never fail to hit the heights and once again the breadth of choice and quality of the food is outstanding. The Seven Stars could not be a more convenient place to stay. It is right in the centre of Hay making everywhere accessible. Walkers and festival goers in numbers as the Seven Stars provides the perfect accommodation for a whole range of activities. Hard to tear myself away but as always the highlight of my year. I'll be back again next year and am already looking forward to it.

Room Tip: I have stayed in several of the rooms and all are clean, well kept and comfortable. My favourite is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidPrideaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had a most enjoyable 3 night stay to re-charge our batteries. The Seven Stars is situated within easy walking distance of all the amenities in Hay which means you can park the car and not need it until you leave. The breakfasts were excellent and the rooms clean. I enjoyed using the sauna at no extra cost, there is also a pool. Please bear in mind that this is an old building (except for room 8 which is in the building housing the swimming pool) with creaky beams and only secondary glazing so traffic noise and the clock striking every quarter of an hour can be heard in the front rooms - they did not overly disturb us. The owner and staff recommended places for good food and activities that were on and after the market even put food in the freezer for us!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
0.2 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
443 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
147 reviews
6.9 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
265 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Stars B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Stars B&B

Property: Seven Stars B&B
Address: 11 Broad Street, Hay-on-Wye OX1 3AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seven Stars B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Stars Bed And Breakfast
7 Stars b&b
Seven Stars Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Seven Stars B&B Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing