We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Weekend Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seven Stars B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Stars B&B
Ranked #4 of 22 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed last weekend at the Seven Stars to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. 7 other friends also joined us. We received a warm welcome and we were all very satisfied with our rooms. My husband and I were lucky enough to have the Pool Room, which was amazing. That made our weekend - being able to have an early dip before breakfast! The breakfast was fantastic with a large choice - including kippers, smoked haddock, salmon as well as full Welsh breakfast etc. Absolutely delicious and set us up for the day! The location is fantastic. Thoroughly recommend the Seven Stars!!

Room Tip: Pool room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalamityRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    73
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
44
154
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This characterful 16th century B&B has a fantastic location right in the town center, perfect for cafes, shops, restaurants, everything in fact! Wonderful to have a car park and the fabulous owner was so kind in letting us leave our car there, even after check out. We were made to feel very welcome, and were given excellent local advice re evening entertainment and types of restaurants available. Bedrooms are full of character with original beams and wonky floor (fab!) and also clean and comfortable, with complementary teas, coffees, biscuits and chocolate! Breakfast was delicious, great choice with something for all tastes. My husband is vegetarian and was delighted with his cooked breakfast and extra toast! This is a delightfully quirky B&B that provides an excellent base to enjoy all Hay has to offer. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

A big thank you to the staff of the 7 stars who made us feel very welcome, lovely room and a great nights sleep, with a fantastic breakfast to start the day. Hay is a lovely town with lots of interesting places to visit and a selection of good places to eat, and again the staff at the inn are very helpful in suggesting somewhere to suit you, so if you like great service, rooms with character, may I recommend you stay at the 7 stars we did and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great to be back again! Excellent host, always makes you feel welcome! A brilliant and central position to access all of hay-on-wye! Amazing breakfasts! Great to have a car park and a swimming pool to use. Looking forward to our next stay!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Seven Stars has a really central location in the town of Hay, which is great for exploring the town. Car park on site is located down a very narrow passageway but we managed in a 4x4 as it was empty on arrival, imagine it could be difficult to manoeuvre when busier!

Young girl greeted us in reception was very friendly, gave us info about where to eat in town and showed us to our room.

Room was very cosy with buckets of character (wonky floors and exposed beams!) Bed a little lopsided but not a problem for us. Bathroom was very clean. (Not a massive fan or the carpetted floor though!)

Breakfast was fantastic :)

On-site pool was a nice bonus on a rainy day. Entered across the car park, you step straight into one single communal changing room...this means floor was quite mucky from outdoor shoes and we had the rather unfortunate timing of walking in on a completely naked older couple! (Would advise changing in room beforehand if you're shy!) We thought the pool area could do with more upkeep and more regular deep cleaning.

Overall, great stay in Hay....would recommend and would stay again :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camillatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at the Seven Stars for a couple of nights while touring South Wales. Hostess very nice and friendly, great heated swimming pool, lovelly rooms and plenty of good heating. Its a 16th century building and you get a real historical vibe while there. Great breakfast well worth the
money would definately stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Booked a day before staying. Cracking location with large car park. Everything within walking distance, great book shops, cozy pubs. We were offered use of sauna and pool but didn't have time to use them. Stay for 2 nights not 1 if you have time! Good full Welsh breakfast to cap it all off

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UptonFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
0.2 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
6.9 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 22 in Hay-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Stars B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Stars B&B

Property: Seven Stars B&B
Address: 11 Broad Street, Hay-on-Wye OX1 3AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seven Stars B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Stars Bed And Breakfast
Seven Stars Hotel Hay-On-Wye
7 Stars b&b
Seven Stars B&B Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing