We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Seven Stars B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Stars B&B
Ranked #4 of 29 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Wonderful B&B, perfect location with private car park. Having done some research online about where we should stay, I rang Diane direct to book. We were given a really good deal as we were staying for three nights. Our room was at the rear with fantastic views, the room was clean and comfortable. with added touches of toiletries and little chocolates on the tea tray as well as biscuits. Also had a fan in the room which was most welcome with the hot weather. Diane the owner was so welcoming and friendly, she very kindly booked a table for us out at the Riverside Restaurant as well as telling us about other great places to eat. Breakfast was excellent, with so much choice and a very fast service, but still a relaxing atmosphere.
Would highly recommend the Seven stars to anyone looking for a B&B full of character but with modern touches, and a welcoming hostess.
I am sure we will return Gill & Martin, Coventry

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear and had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    74
    26
    11
    2
See reviews for
45
160
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Friendly landlady, good bathroom, comfy bed, yummy breakfast (8:30 onwards), everyone knows it as the one with a pool! I was here doing offas dyke. It was quite busy (unusual on my trip) so I think a few people know itsgood. Could hear the bells, worth mentioning as I don't know when they stop/start.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just back from a fantastic stay at the Seven Stars B & B in Hay on Wye. Run by lovely Diane Sime and her friendly team - wonderful hearty breakfasts (best ever!), spotlessly clean and airy room and the added bonus of the swimming pool to stretch out our aching muscles after our strenuous walks. Superbly placed for all that Hay has to offer. Thank you so much Di - we will be back. Lynn & Chris, Bristol.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter and have fabulous views over the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a wonderful quirky B&B, full of character (oak beams and wonky floors). Di, the owner and her staff were very accommodating (pardon the pun!), all very friendly and helpful. We were given lots of info on places to eat and places to visit during our stay. Breakfast was more than excellent, with more choice than we have had in other B&B's and hotels, it included full Welsh breakfast, choice of smoked salmon, smoked haddock, kippers etc. The fruit compote was top notch (home made recipe). Didn't need any lunch after the marvellous breakfast. Our room was lovely and very clean with very nice toiletries. We also had a fan in our room which was much appreciated as it was quite warm during our stay. What a bonus the swimming pool is, although my husband and I didn't make use of it but our friends (we travelled as 2 couples) used it a couple of times and loved it (just the right temperature apparently). The central location in the town makes it ideal for exploring the rest of the town. We are hoping to return to Hay on Wye later in the year and will definitely stay at the Seven Stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petehiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Thanks to friends who book from year to year, we were lucky enough to get a room at the Seven Stars during the Hay Festival. What a treat! The Seven Stars is situated so centrally that it makes exploring Hay a real pleasure. With mixed weather during our stay, this was a huge advantage as we were able to pop in and out during the day to change footwear or offload heavy outerwear. Di and her team were exceptional in their welcome and friendliness. Our room was bright and fresh and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast menu was amazing....I don't think we have ever stayed anywhere with a greater selection of fish....a choice of smoked salmon, kippers or smoked haddock, alongside the usual English breakfast. Also on the breakfast menu was a home made compote which was very good. There was a downstairs lounge for us to relax in and catch up with our friends at the end of the day. We will definitely revisit the Seven Stars. We would like to experience this brilliant little town outside of festival season.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glynis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Another lovely visit to stay with Di at the Seven Stars! If it sounds as though we went to stay with friends - well that's what it feels like. We had room 6 this time - very comfortable, beautifully furnished and spotless!. Thick, luxurious white towels, lovely toiletries and ample tea and coffee- making facilities. The breakfast is delicious - they take pride in using local produce and it tastes delicious - the home-made compote is a special breakfast feature. Di takes an interest in her guests and makes everyone feel a bit special. The staff are really helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The swimming pool is an added bonus and the Seven Stars is situated in the centre of town with everything on the doorstep. My only complaint is to myself - why don't I get there more often!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prehistoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We got a last minute cancellation at this B&B and struck gold. The quaint character of the building was respected in the decor and the breakfast was really good. The B&B is sited in the centre of the main road through town so it was a three minute walk to the globe for the debates and music in the evening (no expensive cab rides needed) and the shuttle bus to the book festival stops right outside (£1 unlimited use per day). The owner could not do enough for us and was full of useful information and tips for getting the most out of the area. Due to our last minute booking we got the only room without a shower, it had a bath, which was lovely but we will opt for a shower next time. This is worth noting if you have mobility problems as getting in and out of the corner bath was not easy but this was easily remedied by using the indoor pool and sauna instead! They were an added bonus and thoroughly enjoyed. We will definitely look to rebook this place to enjoy the festival next year!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyHatswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
0.2 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
434 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
143 reviews
6.9 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
263 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Stars B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Stars B&B

Property: Seven Stars B&B
Address: 11 Broad Street, Hay-on-Wye OX1 3AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seven Stars B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Stars Hotel Hay-On-Wye
7 Stars b&b
Seven Stars Bed And Breakfast
Seven Stars B&B Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing