We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming B&B”
Review of Rest for the Tired

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hay-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rest for the Tired
Ranked #7 of 29 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very welcoming B&B”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Though we didn't plan to stay over a book shop, it came as no real surprise when we discovered that Rest For The Tired was situated over one, in bookish Hay on Wye.

We really liked this place - it was everything we enjoy in a B&B; welcoming, warm, clean and oozing character. We liked the quirkiness of the ancient half timbered building (even though the door to our room was only about 5 feet high). We liked the large communal breakfast table where we could chat to other guests. We liked the central location and free parking. But above all we liked Mary's cheerful, relaxed, helpful hospitality.

Negatives? None for us. But if you don't like climbing quite narrow stairs, or sharing a table with people you don't know for breakfast, or books, it may not be for you. We will certainly choose it again if we find ourselves in this beautiful part of Britain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
44
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed here for two nights as I walked Offa's Dyke national trail. It is right on the trail so there is no need to divert for accommodation, always welcome after a long day walking. My room was in the unfinished annexe at the back. A lovely room which still felt unfinished. It was large and spacious without some of the clutter that you often get in a B&B but it had nothing but the bed and a hard chair to sit on, and no TV or WiFi which it advertises. They did let me go over to the main building to access WiFi but it was in the owners lounge while they were watching TV so I didn't feel comfortable staying very long. The en suite bathroom was beautiful. The room however was quite cold and there was no heating that I could turn on. Breakfast was at a communal table in the main building. I was a little wary as I don't always feel like conversing with strangers at that time of the day, however it worked and the proprietress had a good sense of humour and got everyone talking. I had chosen Hay for a day off so I had two nights here. It would have been perfect if I had felt warm and comfortable and had the advertised TV and WiFi. It was also the most expensive place I stated at in 14 nights on the trail.

Room Tip: Check that you are getting what they advertise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmullanjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Well this was our 3rd stay with Mary and John and we will definitely return again.
Comfortable beds, good breakfast and this time we were in the cottage next door so could relax as a family in the evening but pop next door for our breakfast.
However, what really makes this place above average is Mary. (John too though we didn't see him much this time). Nothing is too much trouble and she makes you feel right at home. See you next time Mary :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Had a great one night's stay here last month. Mary is very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. The building is quirky and our room was large with sloping ceilings and lots of books! A very pleasant stay. Delightful breakfast at a communal table with other guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfredo-Bandedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay with Mary and John at Rest for the Tyred. The rooms are very comfortable, plenty of hot water, welcome after a days walking on the Offa's Dyke. The large lounge with arm chairs and sofa was lovely. It was good to hear about local history and chat.
I would definitely recommend this non pretentious establishment.

Room Tip: All rooms fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venetiastent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay in this aptly named B&B. The service was excellent, friendly and great value. We would certainly stay there again. The accommodation is well-situated for exploring the bookshops of Hay. Our lasting memory is of being made to feel really welcome. Thank you, Mary and John.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale of Glamorgan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for Mary - we had arrived drenched from a day's walking, and she made sure all our clothes were dried before our departure the following day. The accommodation was fine with ensuite room, excellent breakfast, good value. Can't recommend this B&B enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iolo_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
0.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
436 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
144 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Stars B&B
Seven Stars B&B
#4 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
281 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rest for the Tired? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest for the Tired

Property: Rest for the Tired
Address: 6 Broad Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rest For The Tired Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing