We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great weekend getaway with friendly hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Start

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hay-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Start
Ranked #2 of 29 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great weekend getaway with friendly hosts”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had a great weekend break with Dawn and Steve. Warm and welcoming, the room was comfortable and the food was excellent. Dawn has great local knowledge and it seemed all the food was locally souced/grown/made. Thanks for a great weekend, if we come to Hay again we will definately return to the Start.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harvey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Hi the,Thank you so much for your lovely review, it makes such a difference when we know guests really appreciate what we try to do and pass it on to others,
Thanks again and see you next time,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
116
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

A wonderful welcome to this warm and delightful house. Easy walking distance to the town and close to the start of lovely walks along the river as well as to the Offa's Dyke Path. Breakfast is marvellous - home made bread and jam/marmalade/lemon curd and brilliant Full Welsh including eggs from the hens in the garden. Very strongly recommended particularly if you are walkers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulT566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Many thanks for your great review,we rely so much on word of mouth recommendations and really appreciate it when guests take the time and effort to pass the message on. Hope you all got back safely ,
See you next time,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Just a couple of nights to recharge our old batteries before Christmas frenzy! We always love the Start and Dawn and Steve's valuable local knowledge ensures great meals,drives,gossip etc which helps you relax straightaway!
The cosiest,warmest bedrooms and great breakfasts guarantee the best start to a day and there really is nothing missing so do not bother searching elsewhere-the Start is simply The Best!!

Room Tip: Rooms looking over garden and veg patch across to the river are especially peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnC776615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Hi there and thank you for writing us such a glowing review and coming to see us again!! It really does make a huge difference to our business when others can read reviews, hope you had a great Christmas and new year and see you soon, Dawn and Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

As I have said in my previous review this is the best place we have ever stayed. Our room was amazing, followed by a stunning breakfast. The best toast and mushrooms ever. Dawn and Steve are so friendly and welcoming to their home. Thank you for making my 30th birthday weekend a special one. Will be booking for next year again.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah_334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Hi there, firstly can we thank you for coming back again this year, we are really encouraged by the number of return guests we have. secondly we thank you for taking the time and effort to write us such a lovely review, it makes huge difference to our business when guests share their experiences with others. So have a great year and see you next time for your well deserved dose of rest and relaxation ! Steve and Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Lovely Location. Delicious food (the best scrambled egg I ever tasted!), comfortable, spotlessly clean room,....Lovely, friendly hosts and extremely good value for money.Fairtrade/homemade food and drink... eggs from the 'girls' in the garden.. like another world. Good, safe, parking and a 'stone's throw' from the town centre, (5 mins walk), so no need to use the car for trips into Hay.
We cannot thank Dawn & Steve enough for the 2 days we spent with them this week. Exactly what we needed to have a relaxing break. We will most definitely return and hopefully bring our friends before too long!

Room Tip: I would imagine any room in this lovely house would be quiet and spacious. We were in 'St Mary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Hi there,
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write us such a great review -and the eggs are great but all thanks to 'the girls' and the biggest problem we have is trying to find them all , truly free range!! Thanks again and see you next time,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Perfect location for our anniversary getaway from Texas to Wales. Dawn and Steve were the most gracious hosts of all the B&B's we experienced during our trip. Steve even loaned us their wind jackets and sat with me to map out our tandem cycling excursion through Herefordshire. Service was above and beyond and I don't think "stress" is in their vocaulary! We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Hi there,
What a lovely surprise to see that you had taken the time and effort to write us such a great review, thank you. We absolutely love it when guests enjoy their stay with us. Hope your journey home wasn't too bad and that your boys missed you -but not too much!! Thanks again and see ou next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Quite different than the other places we stayed - in a good way. Dawn was friendly and accommodating. Our room was well furnished, clean and quiet. Lovely view overlooking the Wye and Dawn’s garden in the back. We rather enjoyed watching the ducks and chickens do their thing. Wonderful home-cooked breakfasts. Hay-on-Wye is just across the river with lots of shops and good restaurants. Wouldn’t think of any other place to stay if we get back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMac150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write such a lovely review. Our business depends quite a lot on word of mouth recommendations and your views make such a difference to others looking to stay, so thank you once again and see you next time you are in the area! Steve and Dawn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
0.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
416 reviews
6.9 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
573 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Stars B&B
Seven Stars B&B
#4 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
273 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Start? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Start

Property: The Start
Address: Riverside, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax in our 18th Century family home. Unwind in a comfortable, friendly location on the banks of the River Wye, 300 yards from the centre of town. Large garden in rural surroundings with river access. All rooms have river views and our home retains many of its original features. Cyclists and walkers very welcome, and we can provide cycle lock-up, drying facilities and free flask filiing!. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Start Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing