We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfasts, great hosts, lovely and peaceful house”
Review of The Start

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Start
Ranked #1 of 28 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Highly recommended in every way. Very warm hosts who really care about their guests. Terrific
breakfasts included fruit, cereal and Dawn's lovely home-made jams as well as the full Welsh.
Our bedroom was warm and cosy and the house provides a quiet and peaceful rest in a vary
attractive spot by the river. Both Dawn and Steve do everything possible to give you a good time.
Dawn can offer lots of information on activities in and around Hay ranging from walking and
cycling to the great little cinema which shows interesting films. She also has excellent advice
on eating nearby and is always interested in how your day went. You really feel at home and we
certainly plan a return visit. Thanks to you both for a great time !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary-marc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi there,
Thankyou for writing us such a great, in depth review it must have taken you ages and we really do appreciate the time and effort you have made to pass the word to future guests, thanks again and see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

We could not have found a better place to stay. Our room at The Start was warm, clean and comfortable. Breakfast cooked by Dawn was delicious (the eggs from the hens in the garden and the home-made jams were particular highlights). Both Dawn and Steve were very friendly and welcoming and they went the extra mile to make our stay memorable. Highly recommended.
(Lisa & Naomi, London)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisakelly33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Hi there,
Thank you for writing us such a great review and I'm really glad you enjoyed the jam, I do try to come up with intersting flavours. Hope your journey back to London was hassle free and that you recovered from that mammoth days walking, see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My apologies for not posting sooner. My sister, daughter and i had an absolutely wonderful stay at The Start. Dawn was so lovely, the breakfasts were scrumptious and memorable and it was wonderful to look out over the garden and see the "girls." My daughter still talks about our terrific vacation and we fell in love with Hay on Wye and The Start in particular and hope to return. We also send greetings to Dawn and Steve and would love to hear how their bicycle trip to California was.
We long to return and the memories of our stay there kept us going through the cold winter in Washington, DC. cheers to all and definitely make this a place to stay. absolutely wonderful

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi there, firstly thank you very much for writing us such a great review and adding those brilliant photos!! You are very clever with a camera ! And California was fantastic, we went in November and cycled from San Francisco down to the Mexican border, can't begin to tell you all the wonderful things we saw and experienced, most memorable for us was hump back whales off Monterey !!
Anyway, I could talk for hours on that!!! Thanks again and see you some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just had a lovely weekend in Hay on Wye. Lovely stay at The Start - great [and very accommondating for vegetarians, coeliacs, those with allergies to cut flowers etc!] hosts, very nice food, comfortable room and bed, and all very reasonably priced. A real treat.

Room Tip: Both double rooms seen were lovely - one with a slightly nicer view out the back, but slightly small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateWilson86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hi there, thank you for writing us such a glowing review!! And pretty much as soon as you got home. What our guests say has a huge bearing on our business and it's wonderful when we know just what you think so thanks again, see you next time .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

From the very first moment we thought this was going to be a special holiday and we were so right. The property itself is in a great location on the edge of the river Wye with an abundance of chickens, birds and the occasional duck to cheer you day up. The rooms all look over the river and we were particularly lucky to be sited immediately above the bird feeding area. Our own room was well appointed with a particularly comfortable bed which had sheets and blankets instead of the normal duvet, something we were very grateful for. Our hosts, Dawn and Steve were more than helpful especially when we mentioned what we wanted from our holiday. They provided us with many great ideas for our days out and helped us make our plans in detail. The food (much of it home made) could not have been better and the help with our packed lunches was much appreciated. This was without question the best short holiday we have yet had and we look forward to seeing Dawn and Steve again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelgedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hello,
Thankyou for taking the time and effort to write us such a great review, you must have done it the minute you got back!! Hope you had a lovely journey home, and we will see you next time, still plenty more places to send you
Steve and dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just returned from a fantastic stay at The Start. The welcome, accommodation, service, atmosphere, food, location all superb. Couldn't of asked for a better place to stay. A really nice location on the river with hosts who really made you welcome and provided a high standard of accommodation. A big thanks will be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi there,
WOW what a brilliant review,
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write it, it makes a huge difference to our business and we are truly glad you had a lovely time,
See you soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

First my apologies to dawn and steve for not doing this sooner. my wife and I visited last May. we had no reservations but fortunately it was early in season so that was not a problem. Our ensuite room was charming and our hosts were wonderful.... gave us tips about the town, places to eat, things to see. I enjoyed a tour of the garden and really appreciate the contribution made to our breakfast by the hens and a few things from the garden as well. our last day was a "market day" and we were able to leave our car at the Start and just walk in to the village to shop before we continued on our travels. all in all it was a wonderful stay and I would heartily recommend the Start as a top notch B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1115RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn&steve, Owner at The Start, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

hello there,
no problem at all in taking a little while to review us, thank you for taking the time and effort to do it, im very grateful you still remember us ! just to let you know all the girls are fine but the veggie patch is looking a little worse for wear after all this rain, anyhow a lovely day today so lets hope spring has finally come,
see you next time and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
0.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
493 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#2 of 28 in Hay-on-Wye
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kilverts Inn
Kilverts Inn
#17 of 28 in Hay-on-Wye
206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosedale Retreat B&B
Rosedale Retreat B&B
#6 of 7 in Cusop
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Stars B&B
Seven Stars B&B
#3 of 28 in Hay-on-Wye
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Start? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Start

Address: Riverside, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range: £86 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax in our 18th Century family home. Unwind in a comfortable, friendly location on the banks of the River Wye, 300 yards from the centre of town. Large garden in rural surroundings with river access. All rooms have river views and our home retains many of its original features. Cyclists and walkers very welcome, and we can provide cycle lock-up, drying facilities and free flask filiing!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Start reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Start Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing