We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most ignorant person I have ever met in my life”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hay-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollybush Inn & Campsite
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The most ignorant person I have ever met in my life”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our stag weekend away was totally ruined by the shambles of a camp site and the "lady" who runs it.
Babara is the most ignorant & rude person I have ever met.
The tippi we had was smelly, dirty, leaky and cold - I have stayed in some dives in my time but this has reached the number 1 spot.
We had booked 2 nights, when we arrived we all just wanted to home but we persevered. We did go canoeing on the Saturday and this saved the trip. The people at the Boat pub we lovely.
On the Friday night we stayed we were told not to make any noise after 11pm, fair enough, only to find out that on the Saturday night there we a load of prople turning up for a Rave!
We didn't bother with a second night, we didn't get our money back either.
There are other tippi/canoeing trips you can do on the Wye - please book one of these.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohwellnevermind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    138
    51
    70
    219
See reviews for
120
161
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I'm so glad I don't take much notice of reviews - we had an awesome weekend.

The grounds of this campsite were stunning. We had a tent and a campervan between the 4 of us. Toilets were clean, helpful staff, peacocks and hens roaming the grounds, stunning settings. What more could do you want when your camping?

A member of staff brought us a fire pit while we were pitching our tent, we took our own kayaks (although you can hire from the campsite). We had a wonderful time on the river which took us straight into Hay-On-Wye. The owner Barbara picked us up a few hours later which was great for us as we took lodge next to an open fire in the Three Tuns pub. After a few pints of very strong beer and cider, Barbara picked us up and took us straight back to the campsite.

We're planning on coming back here in the summer with our 3 year old son - he'll love it!!!!

Thank you Holly Bush for an inexpensive weekend filled with laughter :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My friend and i arrived at the camp site and no one told us anything. We waited 30minutes before the woman in charged show up and she didn't know who we were. We booked on the hollybush website!
We ordered wood and kindling and she hardly found some. Someone took us by foot to our tepee and didn't say anything about how to light a fire, but told us showers were out of order. When we came inside the tepee it was awfully dirty from the roof to the wet floor! Empty bottles, ashes and cigarettes butts. Add some underterminated dirty on the walls and floor.
So we decided to leave and then things started to getting worst. No one in the office which was supposed to be open until 1am, and no answer on the phone, it was 7pm. We went to the restaurant where we met the man who showed us the tepee, and he told us the owner went to bed and couldn't help us before 9 in the morning. We borrowed the restaurant's phone and the owner finally answered the phone but told us she wouldn't come.
A drunk man in the restaurant talk to us in a rude and laughing way.
We were just expecting half of our money back as it is write on the website in case of cancellation.
After one hour talking no one helped us so we decided to leave because the man was getting angry and we had to foung a other accommodation. The worst expérience ever and we still are waiting for our refund for the night and the wood!
It is a shame that this kind of people still can hold a place like this. What is the Environemental health doing?
My advice? Keep driving, far from this thieves!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jérémy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hay-on-Wye hotels

swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I am use To travel a lot. I usually don t really mind about the standing but this time I was the worst experience ever !!! sooooo dirty place no showers at all. they dont even check them reservations in the website.

We definately get stole. the responsable disapered. no employee To Help. no way To cancel and get the 50% refund as says in the website.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank poca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We booked two nights camping over Easter weekend to take our 2 year old son for his first camping trip. On the website they sounded very accommodating and the pictures showed a beautiful setting.

On arrival we drove e past the site as on approach it looked like a derelict building. When we pulled up we were greeted by a staff member who was absolutely off his face on something. He has no clue what day of the week it was let alone what he was meant to be doing. We had booked a pitch in the upper wood and eventually he told us to park up and come back back to collect the fire wood we had paid for in advance. We drove through to what was the car park to find about a dozen old dirty caravans in situ which judging from the amount of moss and mildew had been there for some years which were occupied by the great unwashed (think creepy trailer trash park from a horror film).

At that point we actually decided to just drive straight back out. If you're on a stag weekend or a big group of lads then go for it. It is a really beautiful setting. But for us, we would not have felt comfortable leaving our belongings in the tent during the day or walking through the site on our own during the night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

9 of us went out for a meal at the Yak y da restaurant near hay on wye. It was easy to find but I'm not sure i would travel 24odd miles from Hereford to go again. The food was very nice. I had the red Thai curry and I particularly liked the poppa doms which were quite different from an Indian restaurant. We didn't camp so cannot comment about that side of it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrumbledee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandovery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

i purchased a groupon voucher for myself and partner and I have to say we both totally enjoyed although very worried reading the reviews on here we went with open mind, the lady was very polite and a lovely character with a sense of humor although looking around the place it did need a lot of tlc. we hired wet suits as it was a lovely day but extremly cold, we had a very good safety talk and how to use the paddle to steer etc and also very good detail of what to avoid on our eight mile trip although thankfully there were two other couples as i am unsure if we would of remembered all of the information. we personaly did not eat the sandwiches of the picnic but to be honest I think it was £20 for us both so what do you expect!once at Whitney on Wye we buzzed the lady and she took us back to our vehicle. we had a lovely afternoon and think it was defianlty value for money :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
2.1 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Foyles of Glasbury
Foyles of Glasbury
#1 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
2.4 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollybush Inn & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollybush Inn & Campsite

Property: Hollybush Inn & Campsite
Address: Old Brecon Road, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5PS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hay-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether Its a pampered break or an action packed weekend. The Hollybush can can cater for all your needs. Located just a short distance from the famous book town "Hay on Wye" and surrounded by some of Wale's finest beauty spots. Treat yourself to a Luxury room in our B+B and experience the fantastic Cuisine! Set up your tent, Then relax around your Campfire! Experience a Day's canoeing along the Wye or take one of our guided Wild life tours! Camp in style and Hire a Tipi! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollybush Inn & Campsite Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Hollybush Inn And Campsite
Hollybush Inn & Campsite Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing