We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent flat - don't look further”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hay Town Flat

Somewhere to relax.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Somewhere to relax.
'Welcome'.'Croeso'.'Bienvenue'.'Willkommen'.'Welkom'.'Benvenuti'.'Hoan-geng kong-lim'.Bienvenidos'. Hay Town Flat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Somewhere to relax.
'Welcome'.'Croeso'.'Bienvenue'.'Willkommen'.'Welkom'.'Benvenuti'.'Hoan-geng kong-lim'.Bienvenidos'.
Hay Town Flat
Castle Street
Dining area
Information on Hay and surrounding area
Kitchen area
Bedroom with Kingsize Bed
Dressing table in bedroom
Bedroom arranged as a Family room
Town of Books chair
Few steps from bedroom to shower-room
Towels & shower stool provided
Wash-basin
Shower-room with 'Mira Sports Shower'
Hay-on-Wye from downstream of Hay bridge
The beautiful Black Mountains
The Black Mountains? or perhaps The White Mountains!
Bluebells
An inquisitive family!
The River Wye at Bredwardine
Autumn Leaves
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mskmealor
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent flat - don't look further ”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This could not have been better for us. The location is superb. Pat and Jim (the warm, friendly and helpful owners) have done a brilliant job in terms of layout, decoration and detail in the flat, obviously basing it on their own travelling experience. Everything you need. Good shops in town to but food to prepare in the well equipped kitchen, but good restaurants too if you don't feel like cooking. Pat and Jim have put together a comprehensive local info pack too. Great value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaViewGa...
Aberdyfi, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Book this place ASAP because it's going to sell out FAST!”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (3 friends) travelled to Hay-on-Wye to celebrate a big birthday and Pat & Jim made it really special! Before we arrived, they made us a gift card to give to the birthday girl on her big day and then when we arrived at the flat, there was bubbly, chocolates and a beautiful card!

The flat was spotless with a very high quality of furniture and furnishings. We all said that it's the small touches that make the difference, like the milk, bread etc. that were left for us as well as tea & coffee, the lovely soap & shower gel in the bathroom, the filter water in the tap, the Smart TV and the fluffy towels & big soft blankets were gorgeous!

We opted for the King size bed and single bed in the bedroom rather than the sofa bed in the lounge and there was plenty of room for the 3 of us. The beds were all very comfortable and the duvets lovely and warm. There are also plenty of plug sockets everywhere for all those phone chargers!

The flat is just a few metres from the shops, so it's really easy to pop back and drop off purchases as you buy them and great for eating out - no driving! One night we ate at the tapas bar and it was a great experience with delicious food.

Pat & Jim are a very warm and welcoming couple - they couldn't have done any more to make our stay comfortable. Thank you both once again for everything you did to make this birthday weekend so special!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the little extras, the quality and the location.
Liked least: Nothing - it exceeded my expectations!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieFBB3
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Flat, Perfect Location”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

On arrival Pat and Jim were so friendly and helpful, the welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk, biscuits etc is a nice touch. The flat has been done to a very high standard, with great attention to detail (all done by Jim). The finishing touches make it stand out from other rentals we have stayed in, quality bedding, extra fluffy towels and a better equipped kitchen than I have at home (probably Pat's department). They really have thought of everything. It was spotlessly clean on arrival. The location is perfect, just steps from the shops, cafes and pubs of Hay. No worries with noise though as the bedroom is at the back. There is parking for one car next to the property which is an added bonus.
Hay is bustling little town with plenty keep you busy. Next time we visit the area we won't even bother looking at any other accommodation. I don't think anything else will compare.

Thanks Pat and Jim for a wonderful stay in your beautiful flat.

Julie and Gary

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and attention to detail
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dollfin45
Northampton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magnificent Flat in a perfect location”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The flat was absolutely fantastic, better than I could ever imagine. Marvelous attention to detail, everything top quality. welcome pack extremely generous. Hosts Jim and Pat lovely people. Agree with all that the previous review says. Location brilliant, shops quaint and quirky and loved Hay castle. Went on the walks around Hay. A place well worth visiting is Llanthony Priory approx 12 miles away - lovely drive through Gospel Pass, narrow roads and through beautiful mountains (Hay Bluff) breath taking scenery. Llanthony is an Abbey ruin with lovely walks all around and a Bar/Café (free entry) .

We were sad to leave - How spooky that the previous travellers to stay in the flat were from Higham Ferrers and so are we.

Louise, Dave and Penny

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessast...
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This property was such a delightful surprise to stay in whilst visiting Wales. It is immaculate and the attention to detail is excellent. Everything you could want has been thought of in the most meticulous way. The photos of the flat do not reflect how luxurious it is and we felt so happy to have the opportunity to spend time in such a beautiful place. The wonderful hosts Pam and Jim were so friendly and kind, it felt like our enjoyment was their utmost priority. You couldn't find two nicer people to look after your needs. The extras that they thought of to welcome you were also a nice surprise, biscuits, tea, bread, butter etc to start you off was very considerate. The flat is positioned in a great location, with easy access to the town of Hay-on-Wye right outside the door. It was so nice to be able to venture into the shops, and come back for a cup of tea and a rest before going out again.....book hunting can be rather tiring. The wonderful town of Hay-on-Wye captured our hearts, as well as the people and we were sad to leave. We would definitely love to return and do it all over again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, it was perfect
Liked least: not being able to stay longer
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable
Liked least: Rooflight blind faulty
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bev J
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I cannot believe how beautiful this flat was, pat and Jim have thought of everything to make it a home from home.....it was spotless, comfortable and quite luxurious add to the fact that the hosts pat and Jim were absolutely lovely kind people, I can't recommend it enough. If you are going to hay on Wye STAY HERE. we are going back next year.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing