We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Explore our cottage - a beautiful space where you can relax and enjoy your time.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Explore our cottage - a beautiful space where you can relax and enjoy your time.
Sit by the fire in the cosy living room! We are thrilled at the opportunity to welcome you to our cottage, restored and furnished with love.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Explore our cottage - a beautiful space where you can relax and enjoy your time.
Sit by the fire in the cosy living room!
We are thrilled at the opportunity to welcome you to our cottage, restored and furnished with love.
Stretch out and chill on the chaise longue and comfy cushions.
A view to the church from the front living room.
Enjoy cooking dinner in our well equipped kitchen.
We have a brand new Bosch fridge freezer
Relax and read with a coffee at the back by our private and secluded garden!
Indoor dining for two with a view out to the garden.
Double patio doors in the dining room offer that indoor outdoor dining feel whatever the weather.
Enjoy a barbecue on the patio.
The cottage has a beautiful flower garden for you to enjoy.
Roses grow well here!
Our private patio sunspot.
Our luxury Tempur Super-King electric bed - fit for a King and Queen.
In a cottage made for two this is a great dressing room equipped with hairdryer and princess mirror
A beautiful space with decor to delight.
A beautiful jade stone-tiled shower - close the blinds for privacy or open the windows and sing!
The ensuite bathroom and shower.
Our romantic dancers privacy screen in the ensuite bathroom
Hay is in nestled in landscape that is beautiful all times of year - looking across to Weobley.
The Cottage Location - snug in the middle of the row.
Llanthony Priory is a great day trip and picnic spot
We hope your stay is a real dream come true that you can return to as often as you choose!
We think you will love your time at the cottage and we look forward to welcoming you!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Nomad3135...
1 review
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Wonderful location nice river walk across from cottage leading to nice pub and restaurant The Three Tuns. Nice Spanish Tapes Bar very good choices. This cottage was very cosy and full of character.Spotlessy clean and well equiped.We stayed for five nights and we are looking forward to our next visit. I loved the dining room leading on to garden and we had lovely weather during our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thank you SO much for your lovely review! We are always thrilled to hear people enjoying the cottage and Hay, as we love it so much ourselves. Really look forward to hosting you again. Best Wishes, Cathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A lovely, intimate cottage in a terrific little town.”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Set right in the heart of the town, this cottage is perfect for a romantic getaway. It was spotlessly clean and had everything you need. A cottage full of character, it is perfect for two, but you'd better be reasonably fit to manage the stairs, as you'll need your wits about you. Upstairs the bedroom is great, the Tempur bed enabling you to raise yourself up electrically, being a real treat. The shower cubicle is fine, if tight, working best with the window open. The loo has a divider rather than a door as such, so be prepared to whistle while you work in here!
I'd rate this as a 4.5/5 cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2017
Many thanks for choosing to stay! Very best wishes, Cathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect little cottage!”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed for just one night, but immediately fell in love with this lovely little cottage. It was cosy, well equipped, tidy and we felt at home straight away. I had made a booking error, but Cathryn was the perfect host and accommodated with no fuss at all. I would absolutely recommend this cottage for a weekend get-away. In fact, maybe I shouldn't, as it might be booked for when I want to go again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thanks Stuart! It was really a pleasure to have you as a guest. We look forward to welcoming you again! Best Wishes, Cathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dafydd H
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Winter get away”
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We arrived late on friday and had our check out time extended. Beautifully furnished and nice and cosy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2016
Thanks for choosing to stay with us Dafydd! So glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyCric...
Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spotlessly clean, cosy and warm with top quality amenities in a fantastic location!”
Reviewed 23 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived on a cold and wet Saturday afternoon in November and stepped into a lovely and warm, cosy character cottage about a 5 min walk from Hay town centre opposite a lovely church. Parking appears to be a bit of an issue at first glance but there are plenty of spaces on the surrounding roads and the Sports centre just opposite the end of St. Marys Road.

The cottage is equipped with everything that you would need and the attention to detail is excellent.

All of the furnishings and equipment are very good quality, no corners have been cut here! There is a fabulous kingsize Tempur bed with individually controlled mattresses in the bedroom and quaint ensuite and dressing room!

Thanks to the owner whose communication was excellent and who obviously has a great eye for detail and quality!

Will definitely be back for more than one night next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tempur bed
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we really appreciate the feedback and are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Very best wishes, Cathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeniIrons
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning!!”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Absolutely stunning little cottage just off the main street in Hay. Great base for Brecon and the surrounding countryside. Cottage is well kitted out with everything you need and is very quaint and full of character.

Cathryn is a fantastic hostess and very easy to deal with. Arrangements were easy and the condition of the cottage was first class. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Many thanks for your wonderful review Ben. You are a terrific guest to host and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best Wishes, Cathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
food24567...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Happy stay at Hay on Wye”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Nice place to stay near to walks and town centre. Easy parking nearby well equiped cottage. Nice to find bread and vegetables in the freezer that we were free to use.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay. The location is definitely a great plus point - with Hay town centre books, shopping and coffee, river walks and kayaking just out of the door and no need to drive! Thanks for choosing us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing