We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal, would certainly return”
Review of Three Tuns

Three Tuns
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Hay-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Three Tuns dates back to the early 16th Century - although some records make even earlier reference to this, the oldest pub in Hay on Wye.Famous for its unique charm and character, Three Tuns became a popular haunt with local characters and well known personalities such as Jools Holland, Marianne Faithful, Neil Kinnock, Huw Edwards and some as infamous as the Great Train Robbers!Unfortunately the Three Tuns suffered a devastating fire in 2005, but a sympathetic restoration has brought life to the old building once again.Enjoy the huge inglenook fires, 16th century beams and the sympathetic new additions such as the garden room and large beer garden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, would certainly return”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Just wanted to say thanks following our great meal last weekend. We were there as a fairly large group but all the meals were great, compliments from everyone. Nice selection of drinks and really liked being able to sit outside after the meal.

Just a shame we couldn't have for there earlier and had time for starter and pud as well.

Will visit again when in Hay.

Helpful?
Thank blissy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    156
    69
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“popped in for lunch”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We visited the pub for lunch on a coach trip to Hay.Sat outside in the sun & it was lovely. Looked forward to a Ploughmans we had ordered - disappointed when it came ! We had been expecting chunks of nice cheese, pickle salad apple etc. It was a hot cheese ciabatta with salad leaves. No apple, pickle, tomato.
Hope the girl behind the bar has help during busy periods, as she was a bit slow.
Liked the good old fashioned pub though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JILL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great place to eat, delicious food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We ate at the Three Tuns on a Saturday night. The staff greeted us with a happy smile and made us feel most welcome. The food was delicious, we had the slow cooked pork, with scallops and black pudding, tender and well presented, dessert was rum and raisin brulee for me and hubby had cheese platter with 4 very yummy local cheeses followed by coffee.
The price of the meals was very reasonable and the quality excellent.
We would recommend eating at the Three Tuns if staying or visiting Hay On Wye, you will not be disappointed with food and service.
A big thank you to Jo and the male waiter.
Rose & Peter
Melbourne
Australia
July 2014

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoseRRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sunday lunch extrordinaire”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

was there on spec and hadn't been for over a year. such a lovely sunday roast in summer version just couldn't fault it. service 10/10 and the same staff as our last visit. do go if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GDJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent pub with friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this pub twice whilst in Hay recently once for food and secondly for a drink one evening. The menu is certainly a little different, I cannot remember a time when I last saw eels on a menu! That said, I opted for the pulled pork and chorizo pizza which was plentiful and enjoyable whilst my wife went for the pea risotto however, this was disappointing and lacked seasoning.
The list of beers was good and well kept with Wye Valley's Butty Bach and Wye Valley bitter on offer along with Peroni on draught which, was sensibly priced unlike another bar in the town. Other beers were in evidence but I cannot comment as I didn't try. The Pinot Grigio my wife tried was deemed to be good as well.
The pub offers an outside seating area to the rear which was nice for an evening drink on a warm night and there was ample space.
Overall a lovely pub with friendly welcoming staff and good service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Tuns also viewed

 

Been to Three Tuns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing