We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic two night stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Centrally located, spacious luxury Georgian property built in 1885. Conservatory not available.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Centrally located, spacious luxury Georgian property built in 1885. Conservatory not available.
Lounge with comfortable seating for 9.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Centrally located, spacious luxury Georgian property built in 1885. Conservatory not available.
Lounge with comfortable seating for 9.
Kitchen/Dining Room with dishwasher, cooker, fridge and freezer. No washing machine provided.
First floor landing with a quiet seating area leads to 4 ensuite rooms.
Double room with shower en-suite
Off-road parking for 5 cars, picnic table and gazebo in non-enclosed garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Liz S
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic two night stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Booked a two night stay with my sister and we shared the twin room. The location is superb and a pathway through the church yard takes you to the Buxton Opera House in a few minutes. We received a very warm welcome from Claire upon arrival, who even carried our bags to the room. The house is tastefully decorated in a contemporary style and our room was lovely. The room was very well appointed with everything we needed, the courtesy tray with refreshments, biscuits, chocolates and Buxton water - and in the bathroom with shower gels, shampoo, body lotions, cotton buds etc. Everything was spotlessly clean and the shower excellent. The beds too where comfortable with lovely bedding. The breakfast was just amazing - there is so much choice with cereals, fresh fruits, smoothie drinks, yogurts and fine quality jams. The cooked breakfast is not for the feint hearted!...lovely quality produce, expertly cooked and plenty of it. - the best breakfast I've ever eaten - my sister had a mushroom omelette which was amazing. From the quality of breakfast I can imagine the evening meal would meet the same high standard. Upon returning to the house after a day out we were even greeted by Hamish the Westie. Claire was so hospitable and couldn't have been more helpful, and knowledgeable. We felt like we were staying with a friend for the weekend. I so look forward to visiting and staying again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roversfc7...
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous bed and breakfast - lovely hosts.”
Reviewed 7 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

My wife and I were planning a weekend in Buxton to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and after reading lots of excellent reviews, we decided on Stoneridge Guest House. We arrived a little later than planned and were met warmly by Andrew who provided us with some useful local info and a map of the town (very useful to us first time visitors to the Peak District!!). Our room was beautiful and spotless, not to mention very modern in its appearance. Plenty of storage space including a large double wardrobe with, wait for it, lots of proper wooden hangers to choose from....what a refreshing change to the plastic mish mash of hangers some establishments provide!!! A vast array of tea bags, coffee, hot chocolate and even Horlicks was available, alongside some lovely biscuits and mints - the owners have clearly put a lot of thought into this. The bathroom is compact but, again, nice and modern. Complimentary shower gel, soap etc is included. Comfy bed with plenty of pillows aided a good night's sleep. Plenty of towels and even bathrobes were also provided....proper fluffy ones....none of those horrible scratchy things here!!! The guest house received an award for its breakfast in 2009 so we were hopeful of something tasty to start our first proper day and my word, we weren't disappointed!! There is plenty of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juice etc to choose from....and that's before we start on the cooked breakfast. Again, plenty of choice but I chose the full breakfast and my wife chose a smaller version...we both agreed it was delicious. We were served by Andrew's wife Claire who was a lovely host, she even had time for a little chat about what we had planned for the day. We wanted to dine at a local Thai restaurant on our first night and Claire recommended that we booked.....so glad we did as the place was really busy!! The house is Victorian in a really quiet area of Buxton, yet only a 5 minute stroll to the shops, restaurants etc.

Overall, our stay was a really enjoyable one and we can't recommend the Stoneridge enough. Claire and Andrew are some of the most amiable and friendly hosts we've come across and we will certainly have no hesitation staying with them again in the future. Keep up the excellent work!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseC24
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A lovely Easter break”
Reviewed 21 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Even though there are many guest houses in Buxton the Stoneridge guest house was very centrally place without being right in the centre of Buxton. The standard of the accommodation was great, very contempary but warm and welcoming at the same time. Breakfast was one of the best buffets that I have sampled.
The guide in the bedroom was excellent especially Clare's recommendations for eating places. We went to one of the establishments that was recommended and it didn't disappoint, in fact it was one of the best curry's eaten.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londoner2...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant welcome and base for a walking weekend in the Peak District”
Reviewed 16 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We were recommended to Stoneridge by the owners of another B&B which was unavailable this weekend. Stoneridge is only 5-10 minutes walk from the railway station in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The owners were most welcoming and helpful with their local knowledge and restaurant recommendations.

Our room was clean, modern and had plenty of tea and coffee provided. The shower room was small but functional and gave a refreshing shower after our long walks. Breakfast was of decent quality - not outstanding - but we were well stoked up each morning. All in all a pleasant welcome and good value for money for a weekend stay in the Peak Distrtict.

Travelling group: 11
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FussyNort...
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An excellent overnight stay”
Reviewed 20 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We stayed overnight at Stoneridge, so that we could go to the Buxton Opera House, an outing funded by our children as a belated Christmas present. This is a delightful guest house; clean, well equipped, roomy and attractively furnished in a modern style. Claire was very welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable. The breakfast was superb, with a very wide range of fresh fruit and cereal, plus the full English option. The house is ideally situated: in a quiet part of Buxton but near to the centre. We were able to leave our bags there while exploring the town. Following Claire's recommendation, we had our evening meal at the Old Hall Hotel. It was one of the best hotel meals we have ever had - and not too expensive!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteSheff...
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Confirmation of all everyone says it is!”
Reviewed 3 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Without going into too much detail, may I say Stoneridge more than lived up to all the superb reviews on here. We stayed for just one night but that was enough to confirm that this is one the best B&B's we have stayed in and we will return.
Claire is the perfect host and her food is excellent. You won't be disappointed!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooster56
Adelaide, South Australia
2 reviews
“Too many superlatives to mention!”
Reviewed 17 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

5-star accommodation, superb food, amazing hosts in Claire & Andrew (Claire you are a star!), and Hamish the Westie is adorable. Fantastic value! Don't be fooled as this is definitely a 5-star property. We stayed in one of the four rooms over the Xmas/New Year period and while the weather was typical for this time of the year in Buxton, Stoneridge (i.e. Claire) brought warmth and a smile to each day. While we won't be visiting Buxton again in winter, we will be back and we WILL be staying at Stoneridge.
If you want quality accommodation in Buxton don't bother looking at other properties - this is THE ONE!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing