We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surroundings...”

The Pavilion Gardens
Ranked #51 of 112 Restaurants in Buxton
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pleasant surroundings...”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The location is excellent, the building beautiful, the dining room impressive...However...I was invited to a function here two years on the trot and found the food to be slow to serve and when it arrived was only lukewarm.
Please do better.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitmonkey96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    60
    44
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“A very nice pleasurable lunch, great value”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The restaurant is run by the local authority. The staff are friendly and attentive. The staff can be better presented as some staff do look a little scruffy and thus require to look more presentable and speak appropriatly infront of customers rather than talking slang to each other. First impressions are very important. The staff mean well but can be patronizing during eating your meal. I was asked 12 times are you enjoying your meal, very nice but alittle too much at times. The food was good value for money. The Buffalo burger was just under ten pounds but was very nice and very filling as it was a very generous portion. The desserts was of a basic standard but was fresh and enjoyable. The Pavillion restaurant supports local breweries and the ale was very enjoyable and I would highly recommend anyone that enjoys a pint to try them. The barman was very pleasant and very knowledgeable in the ale that he was selling. The Pavillion restaurant could do much better business if they open and serve pre Opera dining diners throughout the year. In the summer the restaurant brings out a barbecue and sells burgers and hot dogs which are at a high standard and thus very good value. Overall very good value for money highly recommended. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank retrodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tis restaurant could teach others a thing or two”
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Tis restaurant is a favourite of ours for meeting friends from Manchester. The service is the best ever. Personal without being intrusive, knowledgeable and courteous. And the food is always hot and excellent. Could teach those London high end restaurants a thing or two!

Helpful?
Thank GreedyGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“nice outing”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

was nice to visit a small attraction in buxton and have a walk on a nice day!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Poor service, poor presentation of food and slow.”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We called in to the Pavilion Gardens "Resturant" on Sunday 15/04/12. Lovely surroundings in a Victorian "palm house" setting. We only wished to have light refreshments. The downstairs was quite busy and staff apppeared quite attentive to customers at their tables. We decided to go upstairs where there appeared to be more room. In hindsight that may be where we went wrong. A sign at the top of the stairs asked customers to wait to be seated - it did not say how long for. Staff did not check at tny time to see if anyone was waiting - no eye contace - what staff there were, were all occupied with their own specific tasks - no one appeared to be responsible for meeting and greeting. After several minutes the attention of a waiter was gained and we were seated. Perhaps we should have taken that first impression as a clue as to what to expect.
We waited for about ten minutes to get the attention of a waitress to place our order - a piece of cake and hot drinks. We watched our waitress access our cheesecake order. On arrival at the table, the cake appeared to have been plonked on the plate and was broken into pieces. No offer of anything with it, no decoration, no flair. one slice on a plain plate looking as if was about to slide off on one side. We waited for our drinks having expected these to come at the same time. Twenty minutes later, no eye contact with any waiters, in fact those who had been there appeared to have dissolved. Another couple who arrived just after us on a nearby table had not been attended to at all and had by then walked out.
what annoyed us was two other customers who had arrived after us, had been seated, and their orders taken and delivered (including hot food). At that point we decided to leave.
One observation we made was that all of the waiting staff appeared to be very young and there did not appear to be anyone present over the age of about 20 years. No one appreared to be there in a supervisory capacity either - sorry but this was not good enough (and I would question where the title of "Resturant" came from - more of a park cafe).

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GABJLCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pavilion Gardens also viewed

 

Been to The Pavilion Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing