We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year Gala Dinner”

The Pavilion Gardens
Ranked #54 of 111 Restaurants in Buxton
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“New Year Gala Dinner”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Having enjoyed the gala dinner in 2012 we returned again in 2013, unfortunately the meal was served at best luke warm with some parts completely cold.

The meat in the main course was full of fat and gristle and portions very small.

With the increase in price this year this was in my opinion poor value for what was received and we shall not be returning next year.

The Gala concert at the opera house however was greatly enjoyed and next year we shall go for a meal at an alternative restaurant and just book tickets for the concert.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nigelp442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    58
    43
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“New Year Gala Dinner”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Second visit to this event. Went with high expectations from previous year experience but was very disappointed with the meal. Meat was like leather and portion sizes were inconsistent. As this is the third year, hope standards are not dropping as we enjoy spending New Year in this way. Gala performance however was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tibshelf
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice lunch”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Yesterday we were treated for lunch by my Mum and had a very nice meal. Opted for mains and desserts and they were delicious - freshly cooked with good local ingredients. The waitresses provided a speedy and friendly service but did not rush us. We had a lovely table by the window and the atmosphere was good. Not the first time we have been here and we have alwaysthoroughly enjoyed it

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janetscsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor quality service.”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Waitress had no prior knowledge of the menu. Service is slow and waitress to busy talking to her colleague.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“disappointing Xmas party”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We booked a few weeks earlier for a lunchtime Xmas party of 10- but when we got there they didn't have a Xmas booking so they scrambled around for crackers etc...we had one oblong and two round tables put together which was difficult for old people. Food was good but staff seemed distracted even tho it wasn't busy- we had to remind them about mince pie and coffee at the end....I go here often and the service is usually good- so very disappointed when taking friends that it was well below normal standards- wouldn't go there again for Xmas

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Icarusaflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pavilion Gardens also viewed

 

Been to The Pavilion Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing