We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on and unpretentious”

Cafe at The Green Pavilion
Ranked #1 of 110 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Spot on and unpretentious”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Looking a snack on a Sunday afternoon, ended up here, following TA recommendations. Well made food, excellent salad to accompany a spicy lamb burger ( watching sheep from the train made me hungry) Unpretentious and all the better for it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardSearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    69
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hippy chic...perfect”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Went for breakfast here after a night camping in Blackwell, Just wanted somewhere warm & comfy to rest our legs & fill our bellies.....couldn't have chosen better....the cafe it's self is lovely, comfy & relaxing, but the food......Excellent home cooked breakfast, with real farm sausage, bacon & black pudding, not your supermarket rubbish..I had the modest breakfast...it was anything thing but modest.....there was more than plenty....my other half had the big breakfast.....and big it was.....

Yes it was a little more pricey than we're used to, but well worth every penny.....

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Restaurant standard food in a coffee shop environment”
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My husaband and I were both very impressed with the standard of the food, drink and service in this pleasant, independent coffee shop. He had a home made burger and I had the vegetarian salad platter. Whilst the cost of the meals may seem higher than most coffee shops, you'll understand why when your food arrives. They certainly don't stint on portions and offer a takeout service if you can't finish your meal in one sitting. My salad platter was enough to see me through a fairly strenous 15 mile hike, without feeling hungry for the rest of the day.

The only reason I didn't give the Cafe @ The Green Pavillion an excelent review was that it was rather cramped. It's obviously a very popular venue and the owners could do with bigger premises.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank violetpsyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Always exceeds your expectations!”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Just been there today. Always look forward going to this cafe every time i visit Buxton. Not a vegetarian, but enjoy veggie food. The counter full of mouth watering choices is there as you enter. They do have a meaty option, but the veggie choice gets me every time. Salads to die for, home made pies in front of you. Used to work as a cook in Chorlton, Mcr, and i am not easily impressed, if not a bit of a food snob. i have enjoyed every meal here over the years, and have never been disappointed, just suitably impressed. Would recommend to everyone who visits Buxton, a little bit pricier than a caff as such, but well worth the extra few quid for a really tasty treat! Well done ladies who work there, it is a treat to visit!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodyclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This cafe is a little pricier than some but this is more than made up for by the quality of the food. Really delicious smoked salmon pate with toast and lots of side salads. Good, thick slices of ham and tasty pickles with the ploughman's lunch.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe at The Green Pavilion also viewed

 

Been to Cafe at The Green Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing