We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly and helpful”

Buxton Hilbre Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buxton Hilbre Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Loved all the home-made dishes for desert, jam, marmelade, compotte. GREAT overall.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

We've just spent a lovely weekend in Buxton and we really would recommend the Buxton Hilbre as a fantastic stay. It's only a fifteen minute walk to the centre of Buxton and yet the Hilbre is on a quiet side street with lovely views. Our room was spacious, very clean with good facilities. The en suite is perfectly compact with a luxurious shower. The delicious breakfast was a good size with fruit, cereal, toast and a full English with oatcakes. The owner Phillipa is helpful, friendly and made us feel at home. If you're looking for a welcoming stay in an stunning house then the Hilbre is for you!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bouncehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed for one night before heading to Chatsworth. Philippa was very welcoming and our rooms (1 double and 1 single) shared a lovely big bathroom. There was also an extra loo.
Our breakfast was ample and suited to each individual preference. Our departure was complicated by my locking the keys in the car, but Philippa couldn't have been more helpful, lending her laptop to locate the car hire company, and her phone to ring them, then allowing us to stay in our rooms until the AA man arrived. She even made coffees for us all when help arrived. We were disappointed that our misadventure prevented us from exploring Buxton, as there are caves and woodland walks close by which sounded very appealing, not to mention the town itself.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This was a nice place to stay, Philippa friendly and obliging. Our ensuite room had the smallest bathroom possible. Breakfast claimed to be 'award winning' was no better than others apart from a 'Derbyshire oatcake' replacing a potato cake or hashbrown.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryl132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Stayed for one night on May 2011 whilst on a cycling weekend in Derbyshire. The B&B is on the right side of Buxton for anyone wanting to cycle on the Tissington / High Peak Trails - yards off NCN Route 66. Warm welcome in comfortable rooms, with informative advice on cycling the next day. The owners have a clear 'eco' interest which is reflected in the house in terms of accoutrements and decor etc. Within easy walking distance of restaurants for supper - we found the Tapas restaurant to be excellent quality and value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 21leahurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We arrived at this place a little stressed as the B and B we had previously booked in for our stay had gone out of business! We knew nothing about this B and B but they were great from the outset. Very welcoming, room was great (lovely shower, toiletries etc), gorgeous breakfast and whole family went out of their way to help us in anyway they could. Would definitely recommend 100%.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat2010Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

i stayed there for 3 nights, while doing a course in buxton town centre. it was a very pleasant stay.
the single room was very cosy, with sink, kettle, tv and even a hot water bottle (not that i would have needed it, the central heating was more than enough). the bed was comfortable, but rather on the soft side. the shared bathroom is massive and newly done up to a high standard. i had the bathroom to myself as there weren't any other guests. there is also a seperate toilet.
the breakfast was good, i could help myself to as much toast and cereal as i wanted (they also do cooked breakfast), and the breakfast room was lovely.
this is a very friendly family-run b&b,philippa was very friendly and welcoming and has lots of information and tips about buxton and the surrounding area. it is surrounded by countryside, and about 15 minutes walk from the town centre.
it is very good value for money, and i would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knallpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,998 reviews
4 mi away
Hargate Hall
Hargate Hall
#1 of 1 in Wormhill
98 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buxton Hilbre Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxton Hilbre Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8 White Knowle Road, Buxton SK17 9NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £40 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are light and airy, spacious and luxurious, with everything you need to make your stay a truly enjoyable ‘home from home’ experience. As a family of outdoor enthusiasts, we are always delighted to share our excellent knowledge of the local area, and our growing collection of local art helps to bring some of the outside beauty into our home. We look forward to welcoming you again and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buxton Hilbre Bed & Breakfast Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing